We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“went for a day and liked the country side environment”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
The Mountain Top Inn & Resort
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Chittenden
Certificate of Excellence
Santo Domingo, Dominican Republic
Level Contributor
55 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 52 helpful votes
“went for a day and liked the country side environment”
Reviewed 10 January 2014

I was in this hotel for a day. i had a reservation to ride their horse sleigh ride. I was able to see allot of their different areas because we came in pretty early prior to our ride. I have two kids and they had a chance to play in the children's sleighs located in the back hill of the hotel, while we looked inside the hotel. The hotel is like a big cabin it has the wooden country smell all over. They were in a middle of a wedding preparation while we were wandering around so we were only able to see a couple of minutes. We went to the cross country skiing area. Unfortunately we were not able to try it out because we did not have enough time to do both. But the staff was very friendly there. A very laid back environment with an antique iron fireplace warmed up the area. Many expert cross country skiers were in that day. The horses that pulled the sleigh ride were just breathtaking... they were huge black persian horses...wow! I have never seen such a beautiful animal before. I enjoyed the day and will definitely go back when we are looking to have a winter country escape in a cabin. Very nice!

Room Tip: Have a walk through the horse stable... gorgeous! Go during winter.
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Vielka M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
mtntopinn195, General Manager at The Mountain Top Inn & Resort, responded to this review, 11 January 2014
Thank you very much for your positive review of The Mountain Top Inn & Resort. Visiting for the day gave you the chance to get the overall ambiance of the Resort in Winter. We hope that your next visit will include an overnight so you can enjoy all of the services that the Resort offers.
Thank you again,
Khele Sparks
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

597 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    337
    163
    57
    24
    16
See reviews for
194
227
12
15
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (155)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Rochester, New York, United States
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 7 January 2014

I never understood those that revisit the same vacation destination until staying at the Mountain Top Inn. My family could not wait to return after our initial visit and was not disappointed. First, we were surprised to see many of the same employees. Clearly they like the place as much as we do. They were once again friendly, helpful and knowledgable about the area. We were impressed by the improvements that had been made in the year since our original visit. Additions included a movie room, yoga studio fitness room, changing rooms and a reception hall. I'm a bit of a germ phobe so I love new. Likewise, I love that maintenance and housekeeping was always visible. Of course, the ambiance of the original inn is irreplaceable.

The food and activities at the inn were enjoyed by everyone ages two to sixty. Holy kids meal...it was enough for lunch too! The breakfast variety pleased everyone and though the dinner menu is not vast, each entree was delicious. The pool and hot tub were we're barely used despite hot temperatures. It was like a private paradise. Alternatively, we enjoyed playing in the sand, swimming, and kayaking at the reservoir. Horse rides were also enjoyed. We opted out of one due to a downpour and were graciously offered the chance to reschedule.

The view is one of postcards, coffee table books and the like. Undeniably, my favorite feature.

  • Stayed June 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Elizabeth C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
mtntopinn195, General Manager at The Mountain Top Inn & Resort, responded to this review, 11 January 2014
We appreciate that you shared your summer experience at The Mountain top Inn & Resort with future travelers. It is always rewarding to know that our guests are so satisfied that they return again. We hope that in 2014 you will once again find your way to see us. Having a staff that has been with us for so long, as you mentioned, gives us the opportunity to say "Welcome Back" to our regular guests. Thank you for your time and positive feedback.
Sincerely,
Khele Sparks
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
New Canaan, CT
Level Contributor
79 reviews
33 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 100 helpful votes
Reviewed 7 January 2014

This is not the first time we've been to the Mountain Top. We've been 4 times over the years and pretty much anyone with bring with us returns as well. We didn't want to stay home for New Year's, but we didn't want to go too far either so we thought of The Mountain Top since there's a lot to do and I know that they've added some amenities and they had a New Year's package. We left our adult children to theiir own devices and drove up on Monday with a check out of Wednesday. We got the package that was $665 with New Year's dinner, both breakfasts and the party in the barn on NYE. We got lucky and got the Mamie's Retreat Suite. It was beautiful! Remember this is a New England Inn: it's supposed to be rustic not sleek and swanky. There are a lot of gathering areas and the tavern was great. This was a very busy time and you could tell the staff was rushed off their feet but never lost their cool and the food was great. The dinner NYE was far better than we expected with very nice choices and super quality. The sledding hill is EPIC. We tried both cross country skiing and snow shoeing....prefer snow shoeing: didn't fall down. Both great work outs. We took advantage of the Yoga in the new barn. That was harder than we expected but felt great. Back to the room...two flat screen TVs; one in the bedroom, one in the living room. Fireplace in both and a huge remodelled bathroom with a massage tub. Bedding was super high quality with extra pillows. There was a kitchenette as well but we didn't use it. They put coffee out very early so we didn't even need to make it in the room. The staff are great and the service outstanding. The only one downside: no wifi in the rooms. There is wifi in the living room and no cell service at all. I care less about the cell service than the wifi. They just need to put routers in like they did in the barn. They have a shuttle to Killington as well. All in all it really is a perfect New England experience and great for children.

Room Tip: The lodge rooms in the main inn are very nice and updated. We had a suite: Maime's Retreat whic...
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank jtperreca
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
mtntopinn195, General Manager at The Mountain Top Inn & Resort, responded to this review, 11 January 2014
Thank you very much for your review of your recent stay with us. We are pleased that you enjoyed each aspect of your visit and recognized the staff as well. As a repeat guest you knew what to expect and it sounds like we exceeded those expectations, which is always our goal. Regarding the in-room WIFI, we are aware that this is unacceptable and are working with our computer company to add the routers in the Lodge as you suggested. We look forward to welcoming you back again, at which time we are certain to have the WIFI throughout the Lodge.
Many thanks,
Khele Sparks
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Miami, Florida
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed 1 January 2014

We booked a trip to Mountain Top based on previous visits that were great. On a recent return, we were disappointed at the lack of overall effort from the resort. The in-house restaurant menu selection was mediocre at best and the food was very bland. The horse drawn sleigh ride was overpriced, much shorter than the advertised 30 minutes and the driver had the personality of a log. There just didn't seem to be any enthusiasm from the staff as a whole. I had expected to recommend this resort to others who had been looking forward to visiting Vermont, but I will not be recommending Mountaintop to them based on this last visit.

  • Stayed December 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
5 Thank TravelerS5071XL
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
mtntopinn195, General Manager at The Mountain Top Inn & Resort, responded to this review, 4 January 2014
We are always appreciative of feedback from our guests, since that is how we can identify issues that we need to correct. Having stayed with us previously, you know it is always our intention to provide a much better experience than you encountered on your last stay. Each of the areas that you mentioned have been addressed with our managers and staff. If you will allow us the opportunity to welcome you back, I am confident your stay will mirror the "great visits" from earlier stays.
Thank you again for taking the time to communicate with us.
Sincerely,
Khele Sparks
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Middlebury, Vermont
Level Contributor
257 reviews
82 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 313 helpful votes
Reviewed 31 December 2013

We visited here the busy week leading up to New Year's. Inn was full. Bar was packed with diners. Wi-Fi is only available in the lobby and lounge area so it was full as well. The room had a sitting area with fireplace, a mini bar with sink and refrigerator, and comfortable king bed. Bathroom had a recent makeover with upgraded Kohler fixtures and included a shower and large, soaking tub. Views from the room were gorgeous.Room downsides were grimy wall paper and large dark pieces of furniture. A reservation was definitely needed for dinner and we were a bit ahead of the crowd at 6:30 PM. Our group ordered salads and French onion soup (all tasty) followed by entrees. The entrees were problematic. The blackfish special was a very small serving, much smaller than the other plates. The salmon on a cedar plank was a generous piece of farmed salmon but the cedar aroma was overpowering and had spread to the meager serving of accompanying vegetables. One guest's clams and linguine dish was the largest plate, but 4 clams had not opened and had to be discarded. One guest had sheperd's pie and it was very tasty but in a crock and unaccompanied. Desserts of peanut butter explosion and a cheesecake were vastly overshadowed by homemade espresso heath bar crunch ice cream. The ice cream was the hit of the meal. If you visit with with kids, bring their plastic sleds for sliding on the great hill behind the Inn and ice skates for the little rink across the road. Great outdoor fun center.

  • Stayed December 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Bikers_Mom
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
mtntopinn195, General Manager at The Mountain Top Inn & Resort, responded to this review, 2 January 2014
It is disappointing to hear of your displeasure with your recent stay. We appreciate that you took the time to share specific areas that we need to reassess, since that helps us to review things like decor and menu items. Thank you for mentioning the positive aspects of your stay as well; that way we learn what we are doing right, in addition to what we need to improve. Since Middlebury is a short drive away, we hope you'll come back and give us a second chance, and perhaps have a dish of our homemade ice cream. Thank you again for your feedback.
Sincerely,
Khele Sparks
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Providence, Rhode Island
1 review
Reviewed 17 December 2013

My boyfriend and I visited the Mountain Top Inn back in October, I had planned to review this beautiful place sooner but it slipped my mind!
Our stay began with a warm greeting by a receptions whose name escapes me for the moment, it started with an M. Regardless, she was wonderful throughout our stay-- our first room had an unfortunate temporary issue with the jacuzzi tub and she moved us quickly to a much nicer lodge room with a fully functional hot tub in the bathroom, we were so pleased!
The next morning we both awoke to watch the sun rise over the beautiful mountains while enjoying hot coffee on the back patio, and then enjoyed a hot breakfast inside while chit chatting with the friendly guests who joined us.
I cannot say a sufficient amount of positive things in regards to this hotel, Im excited to return in January to enjoy a winter retreat.

Room Tip: All rooms are comfortable, clean and beautifully decorated. For a real treat, choose a lodge room!
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Liza B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
mtntopinn195, General Manager at The Mountain Top Inn & Resort, responded to this review, 18 December 2013
Thank you so much for your kind words regarding our front desk staff. It is rewarding to know that the way they greet the guests and handle 'issues' is what keeps guests returning time after time. We appreciate your taking the time to post a review and we look forward to seeing you for your winter retreat.
Warm regards,
Khele Sparks
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Boston, Massachusetts
Level Contributor
113 reviews
21 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 51 helpful votes
Reviewed 6 December 2013

I went here for an event and was a little disappointed. Totally cute location, building and ambiance, but it fell behind in some of its basic functionality. The rooms I looked in were total cabin in the woods, what you should expect from a New England Lodge Resort. I had quail wallcovering with matching window treatments. The bathroom had a nice size jet tub enclosed with a overhead shower.
The problems were discovered upon closer inspection and over time. The room was uncomfortably warm and dry which made it somewhat difficult to sleep. I am usually always cold but this was one of those rare instances where sleeping above the covers still didn't satisfy. I overheard my neighbor at breakfast say they had to open their window to cool off (40 degrees and raining outside). I did not see any controls in the room so that did seem like their only option.
I thought it would be fantastic to take a big bubble bath, but I noticed a good deal of what appeared to be black mold on the tub surround wall tile. I decided to stick with a shower for fear that the bath experience would be disturbing. Not that it was, I just had a fear to find out. The last disappointment was that the fire alarm went off at 6:30am and again at 6:45am in the hallway, for unknown reasons. I knew the sound transmission to the corridor was bad the night before when I mistook house keeping knocking on the door next to me as being my door, but it was even more evident when you are tucked under your pillows hiding from an alarm that the front desk informs you is some sort of false alarm.
I may have just had a bad experience, and like I said the place was really cute and cozy. The breakfast buffet was small but tasty and the service was friendly. If they can tackle the dry heat issue and the black grout at the shower tile it would make guests, at least me and my talkative neighbor's stay much more pleasant.

Room Tip: There isn't an elevator so if you are staying more than a night and have large luggage, pack lig...
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2013, travelled on business
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank Becky S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
mtntopinn195, General Manager at The Mountain Top Inn & Resort, responded to this review, 10 December 2013
We appreciate that you took the time to share feedback regarding your recent stay with us. Specific comments such as yours can help us to implement procedures that will create a more positive experience for future guests. Making changes to how the fire alarm system works is prohibited, due to fire safety regulations; however we can take steps to make the in-room thermostat more obvious as well as including instructions for operation. Additionally we have advised housekeeping about the grout in the room where you stayed.
Thank you for your positive comments as well, and we hope you will find a reason for a return trip soon.
Sincerely,
Khele Sparks
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Chittenden
21.1 mi away
506 On The River Inn
506 On The River Inn
#3 of 6 in Woodstock
4.5 of 5 bubbles 396 reviews
6.5 mi away
Best Western Inn & Suites Rutland-Killington
10.2 mi away
Hampton Inn Rutland/Killington
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
9.9 mi away
Cascades Lodge Killington
Cascades Lodge Killington
#9 of 13 in Killington
3.5 of 5 bubbles 92 reviews
22.2 mi away
Woodstock Inn and Resort
10.1 mi away
Killington Grand Resort Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Mountain Top Inn & Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Mountain Top Inn & Resort

Property: The Mountain Top Inn & Resort
Address: 195 Mt Top Rd, Chittenden, VT 05737-9826
Phone Number:
Region: United States > Vermont > Chittenden
Amenities:
Beach Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Shuttle Bus service Ski-In / Ski-Out Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Chittenden
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££££
Hotel Class:3.5 star — The Mountain Top Inn & Resort 3.5*
Number of rooms: 36
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Located centrally, just 11 miles from Killington, The Mountain Top is the quintessential Vermont Mountain Resort. Set, literally, at the top of a mountain on a private road, the resort rests on 350 acres with sweeping views of the surrounding Green Mountains and a 740 acre lake (with private beach). With a variety of winter, summer and year-round activities, the Mountain Top is the perfect 4-season escape. Accommodation types include rooms and suites in the main lodge, Cabins and guest houses (guest houses are available for short & long term stays). Other amenities include Dining Room & Tavern (outdoor seating in summer), heated pool with a view, hot tub, brand new full service spa and salon, yoga classes, fitness center, tennis court, hiking and mountain biking trails, canoeing, pontoon boat rides, horseback riding, xc-skiing, snow tubing, ice skating, events, conferences and more. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Booking.com, Hotel.de, Odigeo, Priceline, Evoline ltd, Cancelon, getaroom.com and HRS so you can book your The Mountain Top Inn & Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Mountain Top Hotel Chittenden
The Mountain Top Inn And Resort
Mountain Top Hotel
The Mountain Top Inn & Resort Vermont/Chittenden

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing