We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“The View! The bathroom....”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
The Mountain Top Inn & Resort
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Chittenden
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 2 August 2014

I recently stayed here for a conference. The location is truly gorgeous. Every single day no matter what the weather; every window framed a work of art. The pool and hot tub are lovely. The outdoor patio for the restaurant at the Inn is just perfect. My room was "rustic"- as a style not as in "the furniture - including the cushions- came from the barn". The bed was comfortable, the room was clean though a better dusting might have been in order (not gross- don't they ever dust, but once in awhile someone should remember the window sills, top of pictures- like that). The bathroom was beyond heavenly! The common rooms are cozy and sprawling. Really a great place overall.
The front desk staff was nice though perhaps put off by the arrival of 40 or so guests all at once and earlier than expected. The restaurant staff was very nice overall- some were fabulous- though it could be spotty. Never was anyone rude though..
Oh and breakfast was a feast! And they sell a S'more plate for the fire pit. Cool!

Room Tip: Get a room on the lake side- though be ready for some outdoor noise, so if you go to bed early esche...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: August 2014, travelled with friends
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank vtles
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (613)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

246 - 252 of 613 reviews

Reviewed 1 August 2014

The Inn at Mountain Top in Chittenden, Vermont is the absolutely finest destination resort in Vermont. Any Season, you can boat, swim, hike, horseback ride, X-C ski, skate, and enjoy the finest dining experience. It is an historic building, but the rooms are wonderfully modern still keeping that historic feel. The staff is exemplary and will make you feel like old friends immediately. I was formerly from this Vermont area and would always go there for any special event, or just "because". Now that we live on the West side of the USA, it's always still a special treat to be sure we go there. it is definitely "Mountain top", but well worth the extra miles to arrive there.

Room Tip: Front of the Inn facing the Chittenden dam are my favorites, but they are all lovely.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: September 2013, travelled with family
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Sheila B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 27 July 2014

Stayed here recently for a wedding. Overall, I would say this place is a bit rustic--- great if you're planning an outdoorsy weekend and want a step above camping, but not nice enough to warrant $200+ hotel rooms. No sense of customer service.

When I made my reservation, we were promised a second floor room to have a better lake view. When we arrived, we were given a room on the bottom floor- nestled next to the ice machine and the tavern kitchen. Diners on the patio could look directly into our windows, so we had to keep the shades drawn for privacy. It felt like we were in the servants' quarters (for $200+) and did not get the nicest lake view since we were on the bottom floor. There were several moths in our room.

The tavern food was very tasty, but service was slow and any substitutions (even just a side of greens as a healthy alternative to the French fries) meant an upcharge.

In terms of the wedding, this place is ideal for the vista and the barn-- it's quite beautiful. Again, service left something to be desired. They ran out of hors d'oeuvres and should have replenished quicker. Our table ran out of basic condiments (salad dressing, butter, bread). Wait staff never came by to refill the wine so we got up and refilled on our own. The main course was served quite later (after 9pm). It just seemed that for the venue, the staff should have been more on the ball, more proactive, and less reactive.

Free Wi-Fi is advertised but it is terrible. I know some people want to disconnect but be prepared to be unable to communicate; it was really hard to get in touch with friends (i.e., we couldn't make phone calls and texts sometimes just barely got through in order to arrange meeting up on the premises).

I'm sure this place is great for an outdoorsy weekend. I would recommend enjoying the amenities but staying in a rental nearby, as the lodge rooms are very dated and a bit musty.

We asked for a later check-out time and they flat-out refused and told us to be out by 11:00 AM. It was a Sunday-- they really have that many people checking in on a Sunday? It seemed more like the cleaning staff wanted to get the job done as soon as possible and not have to stay any later than necessary.

Room Tip: I'd say ask for the second floor lake view, but that was what was promised to us and they put us...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
1  Thank 617Traveler2014
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
mtntopinn195, General Manager at The Mountain Top Inn & Resort, responded to this reviewResponded 14 August 2014

Thank you for writing this detailed review. We appreciate that your time is valuable.

As you were kind to note, with our natural surroundings, we are blessed with a beautiful and unique destination for special events such as weddings - and we strive to have our service and amenities meet those same high standards.

We sincerely apologize that there were elements of your stay with which you were not satisfied. As with many of our weddings, the schedule of events, room assignments, menu and other details are determined by the wedding party - as was the case with your stay. However, that does not mean that we could not do a better job of communicating any changes or non-standard timing to you so that you would have the information necessary to enjoy your stay.

We take pride in going above and beyond when a guest points out an issue and it is frustrating when we are unable to solve a particular problem - such as the level of a first floor window or sometimes spotty wireless or cell phone service. All of which, as you pointed out, can be challenges. Specifically for the wifi, as technologies advance, we are constantly working to ensure uninterrupted access.

We also regret that we could not accommodate a late check-out for you. A separate wedding party was scheduled to arrive that day and unfortunately our housekeeping staff required the standard amount of time to prepare the rooms. Point in case, if we did not communicate this to you, we should have.

Please be assured, your input is important to us and we take it very seriously. Thank you for taking the time to share your feedback, it has already been used to influence our operational procedures.

Sincerely,
Khele T. Sparks
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 21 July 2014

I recently visited for a trail ride and also played some disc golf. The trail ride, led by Marisa, was excellent. Staff seemed very skilled at judging your riding level and acting accordingly. Got a nice look at the property from horseback. Trails were wooded and not just flat roads, which makes for a really nice ride. All equipment was in excellent condition and the service friendly. The disc golf was also enjoyable, course and equipment again in great condition.

  • Stayed: July 2014, travelled solo
    • Location
    • Service
Thank LST2323
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
mtntopinn195, General Manager at The Mountain Top Inn & Resort, responded to this reviewResponded 22 July 2014

Many thanks for your excellent review of our Resort. We are glad you had the chance to enjoy a trail ride and to describe what you experienced to future guests. You comments about our equestrian center staff will be shared with them so they know how much our guests appreciate their passion and knowledge. Hopefully you will find your way back to see us again very soon!
Best regards,
Khele T. Sparks
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 20 July 2014 via mobile

We stayed at the Fox Hollow cottage just up the road from the Inn and it was beautiful. The space was large, clean, comfortable, and felt very much like a log cabin. The view from out front door was stunning--a panorama of the mountains and the reservoir. We visited the equestrian center and also participated in clay pigeon shooting. The food and beer was sourced as much as possible from local vendors and was good as well.

Stayed: July 2014
Thank Jay B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
mtntopinn195, General Manager at The Mountain Top Inn & Resort, responded to this reviewResponded 22 July 2014

Thank you for taking the time to review your stay at The Mountain Top Inn & Resort. We are glad to hear you enjoyed staying in Fox Hollow, one of our select vacation home rentals. Please be sure to request it again the next time you visit.
Many thanks,
Khele T. Sparks
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 19 July 2014

We and our children and grandchildren, making a party of eight, spent five days at Mountain Top. We received unfailingly excellent and cordial service, extremely comfortable lodging with every conceivable amenity, tremendously entertaining activities of every description, etc, etc,etc.

Everyone agreed it was the best ever.

Oh yes, the food was delicious. A great American vacation experience.

Also, beautiful, serene, quiet surroundings.

Room Tip: The rental homes are an excellent value.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2014, travelled with family
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank inglea
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
mtntopinn195, General Manager at The Mountain Top Inn & Resort, responded to this reviewResponded 22 July 2014

Thank you for your excellent review of the Resort based on your recent stay with us. We know how special family vacations are, so we are delighted to have made yours 'the best ever'.
We look forward to welcoming you back real soon!
Sincerely,
Khele T. Sparks
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 11 July 2014

I have always wanted to go to a "riding camp" for adults. I searched and searched and found the Equestrian Center at the Mountain Top Inn and Resort.
Upon arriving at the equestrian center, I was warmly greeted by Arden, my instructor and trainer for 5 days. Arden, a 20 yr. old college sophomore has the maturity of someone much older. Not only is she mature, personable, warm, intelligent, and knows almost everything about horses, her ease of style and great sense of humor made this past week one of the best experiences of my life. I have only been riding for about 19 months and today will be my last lesson with Arden. I really hate to say good-bye to her as she has taught me so much, and has helped my with my own self assurance when riding. The appropriate words are not there to express my gratitude for what Arden has done for my riding. She's wonderful!
I would also like to commend the entire equestrian center staff, a group of young ladies that never ceased to amaze me, Sarah, Abby, Jenny, Katey, and Sophie. They were all warm, and delightful to be around. I was working so hard to get my canter down and when I did they all were there applauding for me.
If you are thinking of going to "camp", taking a lesson, or going on a trail ride I enthusiastically recommend the Equestrian Center at the Mountain Top Inn and Resort.
I will be back next year and won't Arden be surprised when she sees how far I've come along with my riding abilities. I have her to thank for it all.

Room Tip: Ask for a room overlooking the mountains and the lake. Room 117 was a gem.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2014, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank George011958
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
mtntopinn195, General Manager at The Mountain Top Inn & Resort, responded to this reviewResponded 15 July 2014

Thank you so much for your detailed review of our Equestrian Center staff and programs. It is rewarding for our staff to know that they have exceeded the expectations of our guests. Feedback like yours allows us to continue to excel at what we we do.
We look forward to seeing you again next year!
Most sincerely,
Khele T. Sparks
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Chittenden
21.1 mi away
506 On The River Inn
506 On The River Inn
#3 of 6 in Woodstock
454 reviews
6.5 mi away
Best Western Inn & Suites Rutland-Killington
10.2 mi away
Hampton Inn Rutland/Killington
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
6 mi away
Mendon Mountainview Lodge
22.2 mi away
Woodstock Inn and Resort
10.1 mi away
Killington Grand Resort Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Mountain Top Inn & Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Mountain Top Inn & Resort

Address: 195 Mt Top Rd, Chittenden, VT 05737-9826
Phone Number:
Region: United States > Vermont > Chittenden
Amenities:
Beach Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Shuttle Bus service Ski-In / Ski-Out Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Chittenden
Price Range: £182 - £462 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3.5 star — The Mountain Top Inn & Resort 3.5*
Number of rooms: 36
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Located centrally, just 11 miles from Killington, The Mountain Top is the quintessential Vermont Mountain Resort. Set, literally, at the top of a mountain on a private road, the resort rests on 350 acres with sweeping views of the surrounding Green Mountains and a 740 acre lake (with private beach). With a variety of winter, summer and year-round activities, the Mountain Top is the perfect 4-season escape. Accommodation types include rooms and suites in the main lodge, Cabins and guest houses (guest houses are available for short & long term stays). Other amenities include Dining Room & Tavern (outdoor seating in summer), heated pool with a view, hot tub, brand new full service spa and salon, yoga classes, fitness center, tennis court, hiking and mountain biking trails, canoeing, pontoon boat rides, horseback riding, xc-skiing, snow tubing, ice skating, events, conferences and more. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with TravelClick, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Ebookers, Evoline ltd and Cancelon so you can book your The Mountain Top Inn & Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Mountain Top Hotel Chittenden
The Mountain Top Inn And Resort
Mountain Top Hotel
The Mountain Top Inn & Resort Vermont/Chittenden

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing