We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Will return next summer for the third year in a row!”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
The Mountain Top Inn & Resort
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Chittenden
Certificate of Excellence
Ottawa, Canada
Level Contributor
16 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Will return next summer for the third year in a row!”
Reviewed 11 August 2014

This is my first review on trip advisor. We just got back after spending a Sunday - Thursday at Mountain Top Inn and were not disappointed at all! Travelled with my husband and 2 children aged 5 years. We all had a great time! Were very satisfied with our room on the second floor (room 228) overlooked the parking lot but we were only in the room to sleep with blinds closed or for an afternoon nap. Cleaning staff were quick and efficient straightening up while were were at breakfast. Good selection on the buffet breakfast table; had the choice of eating indoors with A/C or on their absolutely lovely terrace. As was the case last year, tavern food was very good and very reasonably priced (under $15 for salads, sandwich, burger type food). Good quality, excellent selection of local beers on tap (about 7 or more types). Had a meal off the dining room menu - swordfish and it was good as well, good not great but I am not fussy on rich meals ($25-$35 per plate). Excellent homemade ice cream and good selection of items on kids' menu.

Haven't even mentioned the grounds and amenities. Beautiful barn with gym, yoga studio, movie room and archade. Kids loved the pool & hot tub. We loved the beach with the free use of canoes, kayaks, paddle board, etc.

While we aren't really horse people, the horses were beautiful and we enjoyed hiking on the surrounding trails which are part of the Green Mountain Forest.

Writing this review makes me happy thinking of the memories of our two visits to this property. It is a hidden gem for us. Thanks to the groupon/social living offer for making this more affordable for us, two years in a row. We liked it so much that I think we would find it in our budget to go again next year and pay the full price if we have to.

I do have to admit that we are not high maintenance people and really like the outdoors and spending hours at the beach, by the pool, etc. I was pleased to be able to do 2 yoga classes (Monday and Wednesday) and was happy when the instructor (on Monday), Jodi, recognized me from last year! They also have large cottage/houses on their property which is a great option for larger groups and you can prepare your own meals or have a few at the Inn and prepare a few yourself.

Room Tip: Room 228 was comfortable, didn't have a view overlooking the reservoir (lake) but we were comfor...
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank FSD17
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

597 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    337
    163
    57
    24
    16
See reviews for
194
227
12
15
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (155)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Boston, Massachusetts
Level Contributor
12 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 10 August 2014

We had a 14 person, 6 day, family vacation here. Stayed in two houses--be careful as the descriptions are not accurate.One home "Lake View Lodge" had a very musty basement area where four of us had to sleep. We arrived to find the washer, grill, and air conditioner broken, and the tub drain clogged.The other, Fox Hollow, was nice, new. We had reserved Pond View but could not stay in it ---very small, musty, and definitely not as advertised. These were fixed after complaining. Staff is very low key in helping you find things to do in the area, almost like they don't have an interest. The property is lovely and this could be a first-class place with better management and friendlier front desk staff. The breakfast is great with lots of choices and the nicest waitstaff. Between the three families,we spent a lot of money for this trip and none of us would return. There are better resorts in Vermont.

Room Tip: If you don't get a chance to see the vacation homes ask about mold, musty smells, and how old th...
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2014, travelled with family
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank sereneswimmer
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
mtntopinn195, General Manager at The Mountain Top Inn & Resort, responded to this review, 14 August 2014
Thank you for taking the time to write about your recent visit. We sincerely apologize that your stay was not everything you had hoped it would be. Choosing from our selection of vacation homes can be difficult, as they vary greatly in size, price and style. Upon being notified of your dissatisfaction, we were eager to move you to a home that more suited your expectations. Unfortunately, expediting your move caused the additional issues you mentioned, as we did not have the appropriate time to inspect and prep Lake View Lodge for arrival. We apologize, as this left us playing catch-up as you discovered items which required maintenance. While we moved quickly to fix them, we regret that this set the tone for the remainder of your stay.

We take great pride in our resort and any time a guest is not satisfied, we hope to uncover the root of the problem and correct it. Thank you for notifying us of your concerns while you were here, and thank you for the additional input in this review. We are working immediately to correct everything within our power. And in the end, thank you for the gracious compliment you paid to our property.

Please do not hesitate to contact me directly if you have additional input. We do appreciate the time you have already taken in this respect. Thank you again.

Sincerely,
Khele T. Sparks
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Harrogate, England, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
6 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed 8 August 2014

Have found the best holiday venue we have stayed in in the USA. On arrival we were upgraded to a larger cabin which was fabulous. The breakfast is huge and full of wonderful choices. The lake is just so peaceful to go out on in the canoes etc provided for free and the peacefulness of the whole area is just amazing! Definitely will be returning (which we have never done before as like to try different places each year) which is a first for us as a family.

Room Tip: All cabins are close to the main reception/ pool area and all of excellent quality.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Karen N
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
13 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed 4 August 2014

This was my most favorite place EVER to stay! We had a beautifully renovated cabin called, "Saddle B." It featured a flat screen with DVR so I could record my favorite shows, a fireplace, a stove, refrigerator, a bathroom with multiple shower heads, and a dog bed in case you wanted to bring your best friend! The place had horseback riding, a private beach with spectacular views... we ate at the restaurant there and it was DELISH!!! I can't wait to go back! Too many activities to mention! Although, I did beat my husband at air hockey in the game room ;) . I wish we got married there! "The Barn" was so beautiful! If you are a bride, this is a MUST for a wedding destination!!!

Room Tip: Saddle B was beautiful!
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Rooms
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Uketasha
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Falmouth, Massachusetts
Level Contributor
111 reviews
22 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 41 helpful votes
Reviewed 2 August 2014

I recently stayed here for a conference. The location is truly gorgeous. Every single day no matter what the weather; every window framed a work of art. The pool and hot tub are lovely. The outdoor patio for the restaurant at the Inn is just perfect. My room was "rustic"- as a style not as in "the furniture - including the cushions- came from the barn". The bed was comfortable, the room was clean though a better dusting might have been in order (not gross- don't they ever dust, but once in awhile someone should remember the window sills, top of pictures- like that). The bathroom was beyond heavenly! The common rooms are cozy and sprawling. Really a great place overall.
The front desk staff was nice though perhaps put off by the arrival of 40 or so guests all at once and earlier than expected. The restaurant staff was very nice overall- some were fabulous- though it could be spotty. Never was anyone rude though..
Oh and breakfast was a feast! And they sell a S'more plate for the fire pit. Cool!

Room Tip: Get a room on the lake side- though be ready for some outdoor noise, so if you go to bed early esche...
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2014, travelled with friends
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank vtles
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bigfork, Montana
Level Contributor
7 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 1 August 2014

The Inn at Mountain Top in Chittenden, Vermont is the absolutely finest destination resort in Vermont. Any Season, you can boat, swim, hike, horseback ride, X-C ski, skate, and enjoy the finest dining experience. It is an historic building, but the rooms are wonderfully modern still keeping that historic feel. The staff is exemplary and will make you feel like old friends immediately. I was formerly from this Vermont area and would always go there for any special event, or just "because". Now that we live on the West side of the USA, it's always still a special treat to be sure we go there. it is definitely "Mountain top", but well worth the extra miles to arrive there.

Room Tip: Front of the Inn facing the Chittenden dam are my favorites, but they are all lovely.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, travelled with family
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Sheila B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Boston, Massachusetts
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 27 July 2014

Stayed here recently for a wedding. Overall, I would say this place is a bit rustic--- great if you're planning an outdoorsy weekend and want a step above camping, but not nice enough to warrant $200+ hotel rooms. No sense of customer service.

When I made my reservation, we were promised a second floor room to have a better lake view. When we arrived, we were given a room on the bottom floor- nestled next to the ice machine and the tavern kitchen. Diners on the patio could look directly into our windows, so we had to keep the shades drawn for privacy. It felt like we were in the servants' quarters (for $200+) and did not get the nicest lake view since we were on the bottom floor. There were several moths in our room.

The tavern food was very tasty, but service was slow and any substitutions (even just a side of greens as a healthy alternative to the French fries) meant an upcharge.

In terms of the wedding, this place is ideal for the vista and the barn-- it's quite beautiful. Again, service left something to be desired. They ran out of hors d'oeuvres and should have replenished quicker. Our table ran out of basic condiments (salad dressing, butter, bread). Wait staff never came by to refill the wine so we got up and refilled on our own. The main course was served quite later (after 9pm). It just seemed that for the venue, the staff should have been more on the ball, more proactive, and less reactive.

Free Wi-Fi is advertised but it is terrible. I know some people want to disconnect but be prepared to be unable to communicate; it was really hard to get in touch with friends (i.e., we couldn't make phone calls and texts sometimes just barely got through in order to arrange meeting up on the premises).

I'm sure this place is great for an outdoorsy weekend. I would recommend enjoying the amenities but staying in a rental nearby, as the lodge rooms are very dated and a bit musty.

We asked for a later check-out time and they flat-out refused and told us to be out by 11:00 AM. It was a Sunday-- they really have that many people checking in on a Sunday? It seemed more like the cleaning staff wanted to get the job done as soon as possible and not have to stay any later than necessary.

Room Tip: I'd say ask for the second floor lake view, but that was what was promised to us and they put us...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank 617Traveler2014
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
mtntopinn195, General Manager at The Mountain Top Inn & Resort, responded to this review, 14 August 2014
Thank you for writing this detailed review. We appreciate that your time is valuable.

As you were kind to note, with our natural surroundings, we are blessed with a beautiful and unique destination for special events such as weddings - and we strive to have our service and amenities meet those same high standards.

We sincerely apologize that there were elements of your stay with which you were not satisfied. As with many of our weddings, the schedule of events, room assignments, menu and other details are determined by the wedding party - as was the case with your stay. However, that does not mean that we could not do a better job of communicating any changes or non-standard timing to you so that you would have the information necessary to enjoy your stay.

We take pride in going above and beyond when a guest points out an issue and it is frustrating when we are unable to solve a particular problem - such as the level of a first floor window or sometimes spotty wireless or cell phone service. All of which, as you pointed out, can be challenges. Specifically for the wifi, as technologies advance, we are constantly working to ensure uninterrupted access.

We also regret that we could not accommodate a late check-out for you. A separate wedding party was scheduled to arrive that day and unfortunately our housekeeping staff required the standard amount of time to prepare the rooms. Point in case, if we did not communicate this to you, we should have.

Please be assured, your input is important to us and we take it very seriously. Thank you for taking the time to share your feedback, it has already been used to influence our operational procedures.

Sincerely,
Khele T. Sparks
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Chittenden
21.1 mi away
506 On The River Inn
506 On The River Inn
#3 of 6 in Woodstock
4.5 of 5 bubbles 396 reviews
6.5 mi away
Best Western Inn & Suites Rutland-Killington
10.2 mi away
Hampton Inn Rutland/Killington
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
9.9 mi away
Cascades Lodge Killington
Cascades Lodge Killington
#9 of 13 in Killington
3.5 of 5 bubbles 92 reviews
22.2 mi away
Woodstock Inn and Resort
10.1 mi away
Killington Grand Resort Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Mountain Top Inn & Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Mountain Top Inn & Resort

Property: The Mountain Top Inn & Resort
Address: 195 Mt Top Rd, Chittenden, VT 05737-9826
Phone Number:
Region: United States > Vermont > Chittenden
Amenities:
Beach Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Shuttle Bus service Ski-In / Ski-Out Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Chittenden
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££££
Hotel Class:3.5 star — The Mountain Top Inn & Resort 3.5*
Number of rooms: 36
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Located centrally, just 11 miles from Killington, The Mountain Top is the quintessential Vermont Mountain Resort. Set, literally, at the top of a mountain on a private road, the resort rests on 350 acres with sweeping views of the surrounding Green Mountains and a 740 acre lake (with private beach). With a variety of winter, summer and year-round activities, the Mountain Top is the perfect 4-season escape. Accommodation types include rooms and suites in the main lodge, Cabins and guest houses (guest houses are available for short & long term stays). Other amenities include Dining Room & Tavern (outdoor seating in summer), heated pool with a view, hot tub, brand new full service spa and salon, yoga classes, fitness center, tennis court, hiking and mountain biking trails, canoeing, pontoon boat rides, horseback riding, xc-skiing, snow tubing, ice skating, events, conferences and more. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Booking.com, Hotel.de, Odigeo, Priceline, Cancelon, Evoline ltd, getaroom.com and HRS so you can book your The Mountain Top Inn & Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Mountain Top Hotel Chittenden
The Mountain Top Inn And Resort
Mountain Top Hotel
The Mountain Top Inn & Resort Vermont/Chittenden

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing