We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Perfect Vermont Getaway”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
The Mountain Top Inn & Resort
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Chittenden
Certificate of Excellence
Lenox, Massachusetts
Level 5 Contributor
62 reviews
22 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 55 helpful votes
“Perfect Vermont Getaway”
Reviewed 13 August 2014

This place has a lot to offer. There is the main house/hotel area that has many rooms that are all slightly different but have great mountain decor. The ones facing down towards the water have a very nice view. Downstairs is the restaurant and bar area. Breakfast was just ok, but lunch and dinner in the bar area is superb. They have basic bar food and also some local Vermont things like the cheese plate, where you get to choose what kinds of local cheese you would like to have. There is also patio seating when the weather permits it.
If you are looking for something a little higher end and private try renting out one of the houses on property. They are all completely different and can accommodate a different amount of people. The prices are high for these but worth the treat if you can afford it. We were lucky enough to stay in the Jewel which was just perfect. You could sit on the deck all day and just stare at the views or during winter you could just cuddle up next to the fire and read a book or play a game.
The staff is very friendly and laid back in a good way. They have all sorts of summer and winter activities as well. We hope to return in winter to experience the winter ones, and Killington is right down the road. Its a great place to splurge if you can.

  • Stayed October 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank countrytravelers15
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

605 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    342
    164
    57
    24
    18
See reviews for
198
229
12
15
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (158)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Ottawa, Canada
Level 4 Contributor
16 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 11 August 2014

This is my first review on trip advisor. We just got back after spending a Sunday - Thursday at Mountain Top Inn and were not disappointed at all! Travelled with my husband and 2 children aged 5 years. We all had a great time! Were very satisfied with our room on the second floor (room 228) overlooked the parking lot but we were only in the room to sleep with blinds closed or for an afternoon nap. Cleaning staff were quick and efficient straightening up while were were at breakfast. Good selection on the buffet breakfast table; had the choice of eating indoors with A/C or on their absolutely lovely terrace. As was the case last year, tavern food was very good and very reasonably priced (under $15 for salads, sandwich, burger type food). Good quality, excellent selection of local beers on tap (about 7 or more types). Had a meal off the dining room menu - swordfish and it was good as well, good not great but I am not fussy on rich meals ($25-$35 per plate). Excellent homemade ice cream and good selection of items on kids' menu.

Haven't even mentioned the grounds and amenities. Beautiful barn with gym, yoga studio, movie room and archade. Kids loved the pool & hot tub. We loved the beach with the free use of canoes, kayaks, paddle board, etc.

While we aren't really horse people, the horses were beautiful and we enjoyed hiking on the surrounding trails which are part of the Green Mountain Forest.

Writing this review makes me happy thinking of the memories of our two visits to this property. It is a hidden gem for us. Thanks to the groupon/social living offer for making this more affordable for us, two years in a row. We liked it so much that I think we would find it in our budget to go again next year and pay the full price if we have to.

I do have to admit that we are not high maintenance people and really like the outdoors and spending hours at the beach, by the pool, etc. I was pleased to be able to do 2 yoga classes (Monday and Wednesday) and was happy when the instructor (on Monday), Jodi, recognized me from last year! They also have large cottage/houses on their property which is a great option for larger groups and you can prepare your own meals or have a few at the Inn and prepare a few yourself.

Room Tip: Room 228 was comfortable, didn't have a view overlooking the reservoir (lake) but we were comfor...
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank FSD17
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Boston, Massachusetts
Level 3 Contributor
12 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 10 August 2014

We had a 14 person, 6 day, family vacation here. Stayed in two houses--be careful as the descriptions are not accurate.One home "Lake View Lodge" had a very musty basement area where four of us had to sleep. We arrived to find the washer, grill, and air conditioner broken, and the tub drain clogged.The other, Fox Hollow, was nice, new. We had reserved Pond View but could not stay in it ---very small, musty, and definitely not as advertised. These were fixed after complaining. Staff is very low key in helping you find things to do in the area, almost like they don't have an interest. The property is lovely and this could be a first-class place with better management and friendlier front desk staff. The breakfast is great with lots of choices and the nicest waitstaff. Between the three families,we spent a lot of money for this trip and none of us would return. There are better resorts in Vermont.

Room Tip: If you don't get a chance to see the vacation homes ask about mold, musty smells, and how old th...
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2014, travelled with family
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank sereneswimmer
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
mtntopinn195, General Manager at The Mountain Top Inn & Resort, responded to this review, 14 August 2014
Thank you for taking the time to write about your recent visit. We sincerely apologize that your stay was not everything you had hoped it would be. Choosing from our selection of vacation homes can be difficult, as they vary greatly in size, price and style. Upon being notified of your dissatisfaction, we were eager to move you to a home that more suited your expectations. Unfortunately, expediting your move caused the additional issues you mentioned, as we did not have the appropriate time to inspect and prep Lake View Lodge for arrival. We apologize, as this left us playing catch-up as you discovered items which required maintenance. While we moved quickly to fix them, we regret that this set the tone for the remainder of your stay.

We take great pride in our resort and any time a guest is not satisfied, we hope to uncover the root of the problem and correct it. Thank you for notifying us of your concerns while you were here, and thank you for the additional input in this review. We are working immediately to correct everything within our power. And in the end, thank you for the gracious compliment you paid to our property.

Please do not hesitate to contact me directly if you have additional input. We do appreciate the time you have already taken in this respect. Thank you again.

Sincerely,
Khele T. Sparks
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Harrogate, England, United Kingdom
Level 2 Contributor
9 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed 8 August 2014

Have found the best holiday venue we have stayed in in the USA. On arrival we were upgraded to a larger cabin which was fabulous. The breakfast is huge and full of wonderful choices. The lake is just so peaceful to go out on in the canoes etc provided for free and the peacefulness of the whole area is just amazing! Definitely will be returning (which we have never done before as like to try different places each year) which is a first for us as a family.

Room Tip: All cabins are close to the main reception/ pool area and all of excellent quality.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Karen N
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level 3 Contributor
13 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed 4 August 2014

This was my most favorite place EVER to stay! We had a beautifully renovated cabin called, "Saddle B." It featured a flat screen with DVR so I could record my favorite shows, a fireplace, a stove, refrigerator, a bathroom with multiple shower heads, and a dog bed in case you wanted to bring your best friend! The place had horseback riding, a private beach with spectacular views... we ate at the restaurant there and it was DELISH!!! I can't wait to go back! Too many activities to mention! Although, I did beat my husband at air hockey in the game room ;) . I wish we got married there! "The Barn" was so beautiful! If you are a bride, this is a MUST for a wedding destination!!!

Room Tip: Saddle B was beautiful!
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Rooms
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Uketasha
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Falmouth, Massachusetts
Level 6 Contributor
114 reviews
22 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 41 helpful votes
Reviewed 2 August 2014

I recently stayed here for a conference. The location is truly gorgeous. Every single day no matter what the weather; every window framed a work of art. The pool and hot tub are lovely. The outdoor patio for the restaurant at the Inn is just perfect. My room was "rustic"- as a style not as in "the furniture - including the cushions- came from the barn". The bed was comfortable, the room was clean though a better dusting might have been in order (not gross- don't they ever dust, but once in awhile someone should remember the window sills, top of pictures- like that). The bathroom was beyond heavenly! The common rooms are cozy and sprawling. Really a great place overall.
The front desk staff was nice though perhaps put off by the arrival of 40 or so guests all at once and earlier than expected. The restaurant staff was very nice overall- some were fabulous- though it could be spotty. Never was anyone rude though..
Oh and breakfast was a feast! And they sell a S'more plate for the fire pit. Cool!

Room Tip: Get a room on the lake side- though be ready for some outdoor noise, so if you go to bed early esche...
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2014, travelled with friends
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank vtles
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bigfork, Montana
Level 2 Contributor
7 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 1 August 2014

The Inn at Mountain Top in Chittenden, Vermont is the absolutely finest destination resort in Vermont. Any Season, you can boat, swim, hike, horseback ride, X-C ski, skate, and enjoy the finest dining experience. It is an historic building, but the rooms are wonderfully modern still keeping that historic feel. The staff is exemplary and will make you feel like old friends immediately. I was formerly from this Vermont area and would always go there for any special event, or just "because". Now that we live on the West side of the USA, it's always still a special treat to be sure we go there. it is definitely "Mountain top", but well worth the extra miles to arrive there.

Room Tip: Front of the Inn facing the Chittenden dam are my favorites, but they are all lovely.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, travelled with family
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Sheila B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Chittenden
6.5 mi away
Best Western Inn & Suites Rutland-Killington
21.1 mi away
506 On The River Inn
506 On The River Inn
#3 of 6 in Woodstock
416 reviews
6.0 mi away
Mendon Mountainview Lodge
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
10.2 mi away
Hampton Inn Rutland/Killington
22.8 mi away
Middlebury Inn
Middlebury Inn
#1 of 3 in Middlebury
584 reviews
22.2 mi away
Woodstock Inn and Resort
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Mountain Top Inn & Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Mountain Top Inn & Resort

Property: The Mountain Top Inn & Resort
Address: 195 Mt Top Rd, Chittenden, VT 05737-9826
Phone Number:
Region: United States > Vermont > Chittenden
Amenities:
Beach Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Shuttle Bus service Ski-In / Ski-Out Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Chittenden
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £££
Hotel Class:3.5 star — The Mountain Top Inn & Resort 3.5*
Number of rooms: 36
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Located centrally, just 11 miles from Killington, The Mountain Top is the quintessential Vermont Mountain Resort. Set, literally, at the top of a mountain on a private road, the resort rests on 350 acres with sweeping views of the surrounding Green Mountains and a 740 acre lake (with private beach). With a variety of winter, summer and year-round activities, the Mountain Top is the perfect 4-season escape. Accommodation types include rooms and suites in the main lodge, Cabins and guest houses (guest houses are available for short & long term stays). Other amenities include Dining Room & Tavern (outdoor seating in summer), heated pool with a view, hot tub, brand new full service spa and salon, yoga classes, fitness center, tennis court, hiking and mountain biking trails, canoeing, pontoon boat rides, horseback riding, xc-skiing, snow tubing, ice skating, events, conferences and more. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Odigeo, Evoline ltd, Cancelon and getaroom.com so you can book your The Mountain Top Inn & Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Mountain Top Hotel Chittenden
The Mountain Top Inn And Resort
Mountain Top Hotel
The Mountain Top Inn & Resort Vermont/Chittenden

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing