We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Embracing Summer at the Mountain Top” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of The Mountain Top Inn & Resort

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
The Mountain Top Inn & Resort
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Chittenden
Certificate of Excellence
Cabot, Vermont
Level Contributor
3 reviews
“Embracing Summer at the Mountain Top”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 13 August 2010

I spent about 24 hours at the Mountain Top Inn with my sister and kids. We were active the whole time, spending great family time together and living summer to its fullest!

When one walks in, one is met with an incredible view of the mountains of Green Mountain National Forest. The Inn is situated at the rim of what appears to be a mountain "bowl" scooped out by glaciers many years ago. One thing of many that makes this place special is its location... Because the view is comprised exclusively of the Green Mountain National Forest, anywhere one looks, there are nothing but mountains - not a house or structure in site! The mountains are so green this time of year, the setting is truly breathtaking.

The kids (ages 4 and 6) are taken with the water, so we spent the afternoon on the beach. We decided to walk down the path, an easy mile through the woods. At the beach, there were kayaks and canoes with which to explore the vast, rocky shores of the pristine Chittenden Reservoir. We headed to a distant shore and spent several hours exploring the beach and trails.

Having spent the entire afternoon outside, we didn't get to check in until it was time to clean up for dinner. Our room beckoned for us to stay and relax, with two queen beds, sumptuous linens (that I would love to have in my own home!), a Jacuzzi tub, and deep red wallpaper that portrayed hound dogs in a hunting theme.

A little nap may have been in order, but we had two small kids and dinner was waiting. We sat outside, that breathtaking view providing a backdrop. Hummingbirds flitted around the flower displays and feeders, and the patio held cute little stacked pots, with culinary herbs. My cajun salmon was world-class; my sister's gazpacho was incredible. The kids played tag on the vast sloping lawn in front of our table when they got restless, then after dinner we moved over to the shuffleboard courts for a little more activity.

Breakfast the next morning was also very good, with lots of choices and the full contintental fare. After tanking up, we played tennis, walked around the horse jumping field, and poked around the activity center while we waited for our pony ride appointment.

The kids have been on horses at fairs, but this was something special. They each chose a helmet, and climbed on to two very gentle horses. The staff was very helpful (and very patient with my picture-taking) and I was suprised that the kids, even though they are not exposed to horses, were not fearful at all of the large equines. We set off through the woods, past the fly fishing pond. Between the view, horses, and warm sun, it almost felt like we were in the Rockies.

Although I was there with my sister and young children, I can see how the Mountain Top Inn would also be a really great destination for a romantic escape. The property is big enough that finding one's one space is easy... and beautiful enough to inspire love in anybody. The Mountain Top Inn would be a great place to propose or have a wedding.

Although I can appreciate that couples would also have an amazing, but different, experience at the Inn than I did with my sister and two small children, we never felt like we were disturbing anyone, and there were other families with small children there. It's rare to find a place where high-end romance and family travel really do meet in a way that is comfortable for everyone. The Mountain Top is this place!

We had an amazing time playing in the heart of the mountains. The four of us give Vermont's hidden gem, the Mountain Top Inn, eight thumbs up!

  • Stayed August 2010, travelled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank MomPlusTwoVT
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

594 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    335
    162
    57
    24
    16
See reviews for
192
227
12
15
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (153)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Lincoln Park, New Jersey
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 8 August 2010

We chose the Mountain Top Inn, with hopes to enjoy a nice quiet time away, and wanting to experience Vermont style. Little did we know, (nor were we ever informed) that this Resort focuses most of their energy and staff for weddings They and had TWO weddings the same weekend of our stay. We checked in on a Thursday, and the Inn seemed exactly what we had in mind. Come Friday and Saturday, the Inn turned into a complete wedding frenzy.

On Thursday we decided to dine in the restaurant with “breathtaking views”. We were greeted with an extremely pleasant staff full of smiles and filled with eagerness to serve. Our waiter was extremely professional, and he made the dinner all the more enjoyable. Would highly recommend eating there, as long as they do not have a wedding, which from what I was told is 90% of the time. The food was absolutely delicious, and worth every penny. We were thankful later on in our stay, that our waiter spent the time to answer all of our questions about the area and gave us excellent recommendations on things to do. I think his name was Jason or Justin? The Bartender and other Dining Room staff were very professional and always saying hello. Even other servers spent time with us asking how everything was. So far we were highly impressed.

Come Friday, our experience at the Inn took a turn for the worse. The breakfast staff does NOT hold water to the dinner staff. Our waitress was barely around as she whizzed by pointing to the buffet shouting "Help Yourselves". She seemed to be the only waitress, as she barked orders at younger staff. It was upsetting when she FINALLY came to speak with us (smelling of cigarette smoke) to get drinks, as we wanted more than a “help yourself” coffee set up. She should take lessons from some of the dinner staff there. I would recommend Sugar & Spice for a great breakfast, if you don't mind side stepping the free Buffet (which was actually very tasty).

We were ready to overlook the bad breakfast experience, until the Inn was bombarded with wedding guests and stressed staff come Friday night. We were hoping to at least have yet another super dinner, until we were told the Dining room and Tavern are closed due to a wedding party. Again, something we should have been informed of sooner. We could not even order room service. The entire staff started to look overworked and stressed midway through our stay.
Also, housekeeping barely did anything other than make our beds. We even had to request a towel change, and used glassware was left in our room. Maybe they were assigned to serve only wedding guests.

There was no place quiet to sit, nowhere to relax, nothing to do other than get in the car and drive to Killington and escape the madness around us. The entire Inn and their staff were devoted to both weddings they had booked that weekend. Anyone else was discarded as an inconvenience. Even when we returned from Killington, music was blaring from their wedding tent (located a few feet away from the Inn) until midnight, and then we had to deal with drunken guests slamming and banging until the wee hours of the night. There was even someone passed out on the lobby couches when we came back from Killington.

Come check out time, we noticed the same waitress for breakfast, and decided to eat elsewhere. As we checked out Sunday, it appeared yet another wedding was being set up, as we heard the staff discussing the preparation behind the front desk. Must be nice if you are getting married there, but if you ever make a reservation, I would highly advise you to ensure there is no wedding that weekend. It ruins the breathtaking views and comfort, and it appears only the dining room staff in the evening act professional and courteous.

  • Stayed July 2010, travelled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank daytrip201
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Rhode Island
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 1 August 2010

We had visited this resort in 2004 and were highly impressed with all aspects. Our room was spacious, breakfast was in the dining room with a menu from which to order, dinner was outstanding and, of course, the mountain view was to die for.

So we went back this year for two nights. We reserved the room with the balcony overlooking the lake and mountains. It was considered a higher end room. From the photos, we thought it would be similar to the room from 2004 plus the balcony. With taxes and resort fees, this room was nearly $500. per night. All that was included was breakfast and use of the beach.
When we entered the room, we were surprised to see how narrow it was. So narrow that the end tables were about 6 inches wide! The bathroom looked okay but the towels were the thin and looked old. they were not the linens of a high end place. They were the linens of a highway motel! When I tried to get out of the glass door of the shower I found myself having to step over the toilet to do so. It was as if there had been no tape measure involved involved in the design process. Inside the very large jacuzzi/shower was a lot of mold all around the grout. Not deluxe at all.
The balcony was nice, but the screen was full of tears so we had some flies visiting us.
We were looking forward to the memorable breakfast but when we went downstairs, we saw a buffet with the usual scrambled eggs, supermarket danish, bacon, sausage...nothing special. A group of about 5 waitstaff congregated at the bar of this help yourself meal and gossiped about boyfriends. Hmmm, I thought, why do they need that many people to watch us help ourselves? Many of the coffee cups were dirty and the self-serve toaster was covered with dust. They could be taking orders from the lovely menu in the room with the tablecloths! I was told that they only do the breakfast menu when there are fewer than 30 people. Um, can we get a refund?
At around 9:30am, housekeeping knocked and we were just about to leave but they said they would return. They returned at 5pm. They spent about 3 minutes in the room. They left no shampoo refill and failed to take the used glasses. All they did was make the bed, replace the tiny towels, and spray something in the air.
We had dinner there both nights and found it to be very good, especially the unique flavors of homemade ice cream. Both of us ordered specials on both nights and they were delicious. I would say that the dining room was run very well both in the kitchen and up front.
When we checked out, they had not slipped the bill under the door and the desk person made an unkind remark about a coworker under her breath. Some of the desk staff were way too loud. We could hear them several rooms away. I heard one woman carrying on and on about how a couple staying at the inn waited until the last minute to reserve for dinner and how she had to tell them they may have to wait for quite a while. The couple was standing right there. Meanwhile, the dining room staff were trying to tell her that they had plenty of space. It seemed like she was scolding the guests. Instead of using the phone, she was yelling down the stairs.

We did enjoy the beach, kayaking, and fishing. The natural environment there is truly wonderful. They need to get classier and more consistent with the inn itself for us to ever return, however. The service and amenities should match the price.

  • Stayed July 2010, travelled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank franscene9
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Silver Spring, Maryland
Level Contributor
6 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 18 July 2010

We did the 4 night adult horsemanshp package. We had a great time. The instructor, Louise, is terrific and extremely knowledgeable about all things horse. She taught us more about horses and riding in 4 days than we had learned in 8 months of once a week lessons. We would highly recommend this experience for anyone who is interested in learning to ride or already knows how to ride. She also matched us perfectly to our horses. In addition, we learned a great deal about groundwork with the horses. Because we had our dog with us we stayed in a chalet. The dog loved the chalet and so did we. It was clean, comfortable, and spacious. We took all our meals at the Inn. The food was very good. The wait staff and kitchen was very accomodating to our vegetarian requirements. We ate out on the patio with a spectacular view of the mountains and the dog could accompany us. It is a very dog friendly place.

  • Stayed July 2010, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Occasional-visitor
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Long Island Ny
Level Contributor
23 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 16 July 2010

The Mountaintop Inn is an exquisite location and the staff makes the experience extraordinary without making the place feel stuffy and unapproachable. The facility is charming and clean clean clean. We went on the Family Getaway special package. The kids, who are not experienced equestrians, had a great time at a riding lesson and a trail ride. My husband and I got an awesome massage. The lake beach was inviting because there was hardly anyone there and we enjoyed the use of the kayaks and canoes. The food was WONDERFUL. I would recommend The Mountaintop Inn.

  • Stayed July 2010, travelled with family
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank momuv3cuties
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Cape Cod, Massachusetts
Level Contributor
98 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 50 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 11 July 2010

We stayed at the inn over the July 4th weekend (mom with three boys ages 16, 14 and 11). Vermont is gorgeous and this location is no exception. Close to Killington, Woodstock and Quechee. What's great about the place is the dining. The food is outstanding, wine selection is great. Outdoor dining is lovely and the breakfast buffet is nice as well. There's a very pretty dining room which was cool and comfortable for breakfast and there is also a bar section with a pool table. Another plus is a comfortable porch on the front of the inn to escape the afternoon heat. It offers a lot of outdoor fun - tennis, hiking, biking, volleyball court, horseback riding and clay pigeon shooting (these last two are available for a fee). Some odd features, however. 1. to get to the small swimming pool you either need to go out the front of the inn and walk down a hill - a little steep (our preferred method - the staff frowns upon barefeet and bare chested boys) - otherwise you must exit the back door through the dining room which opens onto the patio dining. 2. The lake, with the kayaks and canoes (help yourself) is fine, but you must drive a mile down the dirt road to access it. Not the best arrangement if you have kids that want handy access. There is a rather dilapidated "cottage" lakeshore. Odd. 3. One envisions that there might be some adirondack chairs placed overlooking the mountains in proximity to the bar for a convenient refreshing drink. However, there is no where to sit to enjoy the view other than on the patio (dining area) or by the small pool (5 lounge chairs there). 4. The inn has 2 large areas for seating by the lobby, but the air was very stuffy and decor was uninviting. Maybe it would seem more inviting in the winter with a crackling fire glowing. All in all, the experience was a mixed bag, but it sure looks great online!

  • Stayed July 2010, travelled with family
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank elizabethanbabe
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
USA
Level Contributor
7 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 5 July 2010

First the negatives - poor overall lighting in dark walled rooms; limited menu choices, limited WiFi space; would have liked to see daily Rutland paper made available for guests at breakfast. And yes, some of the floors creek, as they will in post and beam construction. Not the best situation for the mobility challenged (check with them first).
.
These were over-ridden by - location (beautiful!); upkeep of grounds, rooms, and horses; friendly, service oriented staff who clearly loved the place; spacious public rooms; lots or nothing to do; location. A place and pace of life to be savored and pampered a bit. Once away from the private location, there are interesting places to see, shopping and other restaurants.

  • Stayed June 2010, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank ShiningBlue
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Chittenden
21.1 mi away
506 On The River Inn
506 On The River Inn
#2 of 6 in Woodstock
4.5 of 5 bubbles 387 reviews
10.2 mi away
Hampton Inn Rutland/Killington
6.5 mi away
BEST WESTERN Inn & Suites Rutland - Killington
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
9.9 mi away
Cascades Lodge Killington
Cascades Lodge Killington
#9 of 13 in Killington
3.5 of 5 bubbles 92 reviews
6.0 mi away
Mendon Mountainview Lodge
22.2 mi away
Woodstock Inn and Resort
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Mountain Top Inn & Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Mountain Top Inn & Resort

Property: The Mountain Top Inn & Resort
Address: 195 Mountain Top Road, Chittenden, VT 05737
Phone Number:
Region: United States > Vermont > Chittenden
Amenities:
Beach Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Shuttle Bus service Ski-In / Ski-Out Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Chittenden
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £££
Hotel Class:3.5 star — The Mountain Top Inn & Resort 3.5*
Number of rooms: 36
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Located centrally, just 11 miles from Killington, The Mountain Top is the quintessential Vermont Mountain Resort. Set, literally, at the top of a mountain on a private road, the resort rests on 350 acres with sweeping views of the surrounding Green Mountains and a 740 acre lake (with private beach). With a variety of winter, summer and year-round activities, the Mountain Top is the perfect 4-season escape. Accommodation types include rooms and suites in the main lodge, Cabins and guest houses (guest houses are available for short & long term stays). Other amenities include Dining Room & Tavern (outdoor seating in summer), heated pool with a view, hot tub, brand new full service spa and salon, yoga classes, fitness center, tennis court, hiking and mountain biking trails, canoeing, pontoon boat rides, horseback riding, xc-skiing, snow tubing, ice skating, events, conferences and more. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Hotel.de and Booking.com so you can book your The Mountain Top Inn & Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Mountain Top Hotel Chittenden
The Mountain Top Inn And Resort
Mountain Top Hotel
The Mountain Top Inn & Resort Vermont/Chittenden

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing