We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Amazing”
Review of Highlands Dining Room - CLOSED

No photo provided
Got a photo?
Add it.
Highlands Dining Room
Cuisines: American
Dining options: Reservations
Restaurant details
Dining options: Reservations
America
1 review
“Amazing”
Reviewed 14 July 2014 via mobile

The service was awesome and the waitresses were extremely friendly! The food was great and it was pretty fun to eat there!

  • Visited July 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Laugh4801
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
mtntopinn195, General Manager at Highlands Dining Room, responded to this review, 17 July 2014
Thank you for taking the time to review your recent dining experience in The Highlands Dining Room at The Mountain Top Inn & Resort. We appreciate that you shared your positive comments with others. Please come back and dine with us again soon!
Khele T. Sparks
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC

25 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    15
    4
    3
    1
    2
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Rutland, Vermont
Level Contributor
66 reviews
25 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 35 helpful votes
“Avoid”
Reviewed 10 February 2014

We were actually seated in the Tavern. We were a party of 6, it took one hour and 15 minutes for our plates to arrive. I had elk, which I ordered rare, received two small slices medium and one slice which was actually from another piece of meat, was more then well done! It looked like a leftover piece of some meat, not even sure it was elk, it tasted like a shoe sole, was dry and so overdone
the two other pieces were ok and tasty, but at $ 34 in a Tavern!!!!!
Same for the other plates, not very nicely plated, luke warm.
We were actually planning on having desert, asked for the menu, then waited and waited, and waited...
gave up, paid and left, never to return
Final judgement, unsightly plating, half cold food, worn out decor and furniture, and below mediocre food at a steep restaurant price, while sitting in a tavern on a wooden bench!!!
Shame on Mountain top Inn!

  • Visited February 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
5 Thank ingridH11
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Burlington, Vermont
Level Contributor
26 reviews
23 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
“Beautiful view... ok food”
Reviewed 23 September 2013

We recently went to the Mountain Top Inn for a birthday party. The dining room had amazing views of the mountains and was very rustic/classy. The service was also pretty good even with the large group of people we had in our party. The drinks were average, though cocktails were a bit spendy . Good beer on tap, though I only saw a few options.

I had the French Dip sandwich. I had high hopes, the written description sounded very good. It was sub par at best. Lacked real flavor and the meat had the dryness and flavor of a steak-um. For $13 I expected MUCH better. My husband had the fish and chips and I believe that was $18 dollars... which to me is ridiculous for one filet of fish.. which was a decent size but not enough to make it worth it. It was battered well but the tarter sauce was essentially mayonnaise. I was disheartened by this... I definitely would have liked to try to more higher end dishes but obviously now I am a bit nervous to pay that much for what seems like a marked up tourist trap kind of restaurant.

  • Visited September 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
2 Thank craf3650
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
cambridge
Level Contributor
139 reviews
90 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 84 helpful votes
“Best of Vermont - life in the mountains”
Reviewed 15 August 2013 via mobile

Wonderful & magical surroundings! We found this place by accident. Hungry after kajaking on Chittenden Dam - wow what a find! So cute, yummy and fun. Great staff and really friendly. We will be back!!!

  • Visited August 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank naturegirlcitygirl
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Assisi, Italy
Level Contributor
14 reviews
10 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
“Rude and unprofessional service”
Reviewed 26 July 2013

Upon arrival we were asked to sit in the "game room" section of the dining area with a limited view of the lake despite the fact that 90% of the restaurant with a panoramic view was open. The hostess seemed very annoyed when we asked to change locations prior to being seated.

Enter our waitress who did not even welcome us or tell us her name. The passing waitress was chomping on gum.

I ordered a simple bottle of wine from 2009. When the waitress presented it to me it was 2011 and when I brought this to her attention she proudly told me that in fine print the years were subject to change. In other words, take it or leave it and no other suggestions or offer to bring the wine list back to the table.

The meal was uneventful from a food aspect and not once did our waitress replenish an empty wine glass. Finally, at the end of our meal the gum-chewing waitress filled my water glass that had been empty for over thirty minutes. Thank you!

I was the last to finish my meal but the unprofessional servers forgot dining etiquette and collected all of the 5 other dishes from my family. This is diner service at best! If the restaurant manager reads this review- Service 101: you should wait until all of the meals are finished before clearing the table. And clearing the table is a good subject to review with your staff as you should remove the bread, butter and lingering condiments from the main meal before serving dessert.

It is a pity that a restaurant with such a beautiful view serves mediocre food and has a dining room staff that belongs at a truck stop diner. I am rating the atmosphere as average due to the wait staff who made the evening close to unbearable.

  • Visited July 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank CBDuBond
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Highlands Dining Room also viewed

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing