We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Nice but mixed”
Review of Fox Creek Inn

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Chittenden
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Fox Creek Inn
Ranked #1 of 1 Chittenden B&B and Inns
Reviewed 9 November 2011

We stayed for 4 nights in early Oct on a half board package to include a 4 course candlelight dinner each evening. Our initial reactions were very positive: a nicely situated, cozy, well appointed inn, with pleasant room (Number 4), with delightfully comfortable bed. The host, Jim, was charming, the hostess, Sandy, friendly but always doing a drip about the pressure she was under. Breakfasts were bizarre (for a Brit), coffee cake for starters followed by pumpkin or crab bake (no daily choice). Dinners were pleasant, convivial affairs and the food generally very good. However, on our third evening (when the dinner was only 3 courses), our hostess dropped the bombshell that the restaurant would be closed the next evening as she wanted the night off! She planned to give us an allowance to go to a nearby, large resort type restaurant and would provide transport. We were not too keen on this idea, as (i) we had chosen to stay in a small country inn, and (ii) we had paid for a 4 course dinner! Having had an otherwise pleasant evening spoiled, the following day we explained our feelings and said we would prefer she prepare a cold meal for us (in the hope she might rethink! ). She did not rethink, but did a very unpleasant rant at my wife at how hard done by she was, and merely left a salad and frozen pudding in the fridge (only 2 courses that night!) for us to serve (our hosts did not appear at all). To cap it all, we were even charged for the 2 glasses of wine we had! So, unfortunately, we left the inn with a very bitter feeling. Our suggestion to other guests is to go elsewhere if you expect the four course dinner you have paid for, don't want self service (even to having to light the candles in the dining room) and an unpleasant rant from the hostess!

  • Stayed: October 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
10  Thank Palma8910
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (123)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

98 - 104 of 123 reviews

Reviewed 6 November 2011

My husband and I travelled to Vermont in October to view the fall foliage and spent several days at Fox Creek. We found the inn to be charming, cozy and well maintained with plenty of public space to relax, have a drink or chat with other guests. Sandy and Jim were extremely hospitable always trying to anticipate your needs making it a wonderfully relaxing getaway. The food was delicious and Jim poured some great wines. We stayed in the Honeymoon Suite which was unbelievably large and beautifully furnished. The huge bathroom had a large jacuzzi tub with a fireplace! It far exceeded our expectations.

We look forward to repeating this fabulous experience next time we are in Vermont.

  • Stayed: October 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank gogogoLongIsland
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 28 October 2011

My wife and I and another couple stayed at the Fox Creek Inn in early October 2011. The location is beautiful, consistent with most of Vermont. The inn keepers, Sandy and Jim were friendly and welcoming. For those who are interested in wine, Jim presents several excellent wines each evening for cocktails and dinner, all by the glass or bottle. His recommendations for wine were each spot on. Sandy's meals were excellent, although for a "hungry man" the proportions were sometimes small. I found the rooms we had were small and the bathrooms were "quaint". I understand there are larger rooms available. On the "room for improvement" side, the inn had a musty smell that perhaps could be aired out. A minor point -- after Hurricane Irene things probably were very wet and some mildew was on the walkway, etc. A freshening up with paint could be good next summer.

Room Tip: Ask about room sizes and variations.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: October 2011, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank RichardSwe
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 20 October 2011

My husband and I stayed at the Fox Creek Inn and were the only guests for one night. We had the place to ourselves! It was great! It's beautifully appointed, and breakfast was delicious. We got a voucher for "Roots" restaurant and were very happy with the food and service. I would go back to this Inn. Sandy and Jim were gracious hosts. Did I mention our room was upgraded?!!

Room Tip: Sitting area with fireplace was cozy.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: October 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Kristin C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 18 October 2011

The Inn is a beautiful old house set in some incredibly scenery and filled with unique and memorable aspects - layout, location, and people.

Regarding the first, the Inn is laid out with a small kitchen / dining area, beautiful wrap-around porch, and a large spacious sitting / reading room on the ground floor. At the back just behind the fireplace is also a stunningly beautiful self-serving and fully stocked honor pub (don't call it a bar!) - one of our favorite aspects of the Inn. The bedrooms, which are small with very low ceilings, are on the 2nd level. Each us uniquely decroated and the size did not feel like a negative - it is an old Inn and has a home-like quality to it that differentiates it from a hotel.

The location is fantastic - surrounded by gorgeuous forest, across from a stream and near hiking / cannoeing / kayaking, etc. (which was easily arranged for us by Jim, the Innkeeper). The nearby town is not a long drive and has some great restaurants - several were reccomended to us, again by Jim, and he took care of everything including the reservations for us.

More than a paragraph needs to be devoted to Jim here - one of the most memorable aspects of the Inn. Friendly, laughing, always eager to help, share some stories over a drink or let you be to just enjoy your time. I wish the same could be said of Sandy, the co-owner. Although she cooks an incredible breakfast, she is severaly lacking in people skills and can come off as rude, curt and just off-putting in general (looks like we're not alone in our opinion on that one from the other reviews). If not for her poor interactions with guests, we would have ranked this 5 stars. Overall, an excellent place to stay though.

  • Stayed: October 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank ski4ever64
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
foxcreekinn, Owner at Fox Creek Inn, responded to this reviewResponded 19 October 2011

While I am delighted with the general tone of this review, I feel the negative comment about Sandy is very unfair.

The couple seemed to have a really nice stay and interacted well with both of us right up until the last couple of hours.

At breakfast they asked about canoeing and asked if it would be ok to have a late checkout which was agreed to.

They said they would be out by about noon, our norm is 11am, and we adjusted the housekeeping schedule to accommodate that. Unfortunately they still hadn't checked out by 1.30pm and Sandy had to ask them to leave in order to clean the room as we had others coming in later that day. They were not happy with that and regretfully they ended their stay on a rather sour note.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 17 October 2011

My wife and I stayed at the Fox Creek Inn for four nights in October 2011 as a mini-honeymoon just after getting married and had an absolutely great time. Sandy and Jim are very friendly and hospitable innkeepers and the Fox Creek in is in a beautiful and quiet location. The inn itself is very warm and inviting, and Sandy and Jim are full of warmth and friendly advice about the area and do not overwhelm you with rules or requirements. We wouldn't have changed a thing about our stay and will definitely be back! On top of all that, Jim and Sandy gave us a free upgrade to the honeymoon suite (which had been booked when we first made our reservation but was now free) as soon as they heard we were newly married. The room is to die for. Unreservedly recommend the inn!

  • Stayed: October 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank James102345
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 6 October 2011

This past week, my husband and I were on a country inn hiking vacation in Vermont, in which we were scheduled to stay at three different inns known for their gourmet food. Our reservations and package included three meals a day, the lunch meal being a packed trail lunch.

We arrived at the Fox Creek Inn about 5:00 p.m. on a Tuesday night, still in our hiking clothes – hungry, tired, and looking forward to an evening of comfort, food, friendly people and hospitality.

The inn was big and dark, both outside and inside. After ringing the bell and knocking on the door, to no response, we saw a note saying to call a number if nobody answered. Of course, this assumes you had a cell phone (with service); and fortunately we did. Before we finished dialing, though, Sandy, the proprietress, approached and welcomed us to the Fox Creek Inn. She quickly told us the code to get in when no one is there; opened the door, and we entered a dark, dank, musty, and gloomy inn. She proceeded to explain a myriad of other instructions about working the lights, the coffee machine, the bar, etc. My mind was spinning – how were we going to remember all this? Where was the staff going to be? Before showing us to our room, she told us that because we were the only two guests that night, she wasn’t going to make dinner for us but would give us a voucher to a restaurant. Then she showed us to a somewhat quaint but tiny room. I asked whether we could have a larger room – we had a lot of luggage – and she curtly stated that that was not included in our package. Well, considering the inn was empty, it didn’t seem to be an unreasonable request. From there, the conversation deteriorated. We did not want to stay in this big, dark inn where we had to fend for ourselves and drive somewhere else to get dinner. Why weren’t any lights left on before our arrival? Or some windows left open to allow in some fresh air?

After harsh words, we all decided it was best to call our tour director to make other arrangements. He called back, but my cell phone dropped the call; so he called back on the inn’s line. The phone rang twice, and I asked Sandy to answer the phone; she seemed to be ignoring it. She lashed out at me that I shouldn’t tell her when to answer her phone. Finally, after about 20 minutes of this type of back and forth, we agreed to return to the previous inn that we had stayed in, the Crisanver House, where the innkeepers were delightful; the service warm and friendly; and the company kind. We left with Sandy yelling at us to get out of her house.

In summary, we found the inn dark and uninviting, and the innkeeper not very hospitable. If your idea of a bed & breakfast is to stay in a dark, musty and empty building where the innkeepers are down the road, I guess this is your place. If not, avoid the Fox Creek Inn.

  • Stayed: September 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Service
6  Thank shilo b
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
foxcreekinn, Owner at Fox Creek Inn, responded to this reviewResponded 11 October 2011

In order to put this review in context please read some of the other reviews. The property hasn't changed, the rooms are no smaller and we are the same owners.
The myriad of instructions that the reviewer was struggling with were a four digit door code, how to use the Keurig coffee maker and advising her that we had an honor bar and to please keep a tab.
I am sorry that she had a less than positive experience.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Been to Fox Creek Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Fox Creek Inn

Address: 49 Dam Rd, Chittenden, VT 05737-9811 (Formerly Tulip Tree Inn)
Phone Number:
Region: United States > Vermont > Chittenden
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 B&Bs / Inns in Chittenden
Price Range: £148 - £303 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Number of rooms: 8
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Located on 7 acres in a private little valley, Fox Creek Inn is exactly what a country inn should be comfortable and sophisticated but never stuffy. Our dining room is complimented by an excellent wine cellar and a full bar, we are less that 15 minutes from all winter and summer outdoor activties so whatever your preference for relaxing indoors or out, Fox Creek can be the ideal location. ... more   less 
Also Known As:
Fox Creek Hotel Chittenden
Fox Creek Inn Vermont/Chittenden

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing