We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Can't wait to go back”
4 of 5 bubbles Review of Fox Creek Inn

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Chittenden
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Fox Creek Inn
Ranked #1 of 1 Chittenden B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Wilmington, Delaware
Level Contributor
13 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
“Can't wait to go back”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 17 March 2012

This was very much a "last minute reservation" and the hosts, Sandy & Jim were kind enough to indulge us. The inn takes us back in time to places we truly loved. This is where you go to just be yourself and relax. The owners and the inn are not pretentious nor stuffy. Each room has a distinct personality and inviting decor. The pub is fun and Jim was quite knowledgable about the wines. Sitting by the fireplace or walking down by the creek seemed equally enjoyable. Close to great restaurants in Rutland and other activities. We were not able to stay long enough to learn much about the area, but got a "flavor" of the area and we can't wait to get back there again.

  • Stayed March 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Bob S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

118 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    101
    12
    2
    1
    2
See reviews for
16
59
4
2
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (28)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Fairfield, NJ
Level Contributor
12 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 26 January 2012

My wife and I, plus two other families have stayed at The Fox Creek Inn several times. We like the Chittenden location and its proximity to several interesting places to visit. The rooms are comfortable and meals are enjoyable. Inn keepers Sandy and Jim Robertson strive to make their guests welcome, relaxed, well feed and comfortable. The Fox Creek Inn is an excellent experience...and great value.

  • Stayed September 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank mricca1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
UK
Level Contributor
15 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 9 November 2011

We stayed for 4 nights in early Oct on a half board package to include a 4 course candlelight dinner each evening. Our initial reactions were very positive: a nicely situated, cozy, well appointed inn, with pleasant room (Number 4), with delightfully comfortable bed. The host, Jim, was charming, the hostess, Sandy, friendly but always doing a drip about the pressure she was under. Breakfasts were bizarre (for a Brit), coffee cake for starters followed by pumpkin or crab bake (no daily choice). Dinners were pleasant, convivial affairs and the food generally very good. However, on our third evening (when the dinner was only 3 courses), our hostess dropped the bombshell that the restaurant would be closed the next evening as she wanted the night off! She planned to give us an allowance to go to a nearby, large resort type restaurant and would provide transport. We were not too keen on this idea, as (i) we had chosen to stay in a small country inn, and (ii) we had paid for a 4 course dinner! Having had an otherwise pleasant evening spoiled, the following day we explained our feelings and said we would prefer she prepare a cold meal for us (in the hope she might rethink! ). She did not rethink, but did a very unpleasant rant at my wife at how hard done by she was, and merely left a salad and frozen pudding in the fridge (only 2 courses that night!) for us to serve (our hosts did not appear at all). To cap it all, we were even charged for the 2 glasses of wine we had! So, unfortunately, we left the inn with a very bitter feeling. Our suggestion to other guests is to go elsewhere if you expect the four course dinner you have paid for, don't want self service (even to having to light the candles in the dining room) and an unpleasant rant from the hostess!

  • Stayed October 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
10 Thank Palma8910
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Long Island, NY
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 6 November 2011

My husband and I travelled to Vermont in October to view the fall foliage and spent several days at Fox Creek. We found the inn to be charming, cozy and well maintained with plenty of public space to relax, have a drink or chat with other guests. Sandy and Jim were extremely hospitable always trying to anticipate your needs making it a wonderfully relaxing getaway. The food was delicious and Jim poured some great wines. We stayed in the Honeymoon Suite which was unbelievably large and beautifully furnished. The huge bathroom had a large jacuzzi tub with a fireplace! It far exceeded our expectations.

We look forward to repeating this fabulous experience next time we are in Vermont.

  • Stayed October 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank gogogoLongIsland
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
San Francisco, California
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 28 October 2011

My wife and I and another couple stayed at the Fox Creek Inn in early October 2011. The location is beautiful, consistent with most of Vermont. The inn keepers, Sandy and Jim were friendly and welcoming. For those who are interested in wine, Jim presents several excellent wines each evening for cocktails and dinner, all by the glass or bottle. His recommendations for wine were each spot on. Sandy's meals were excellent, although for a "hungry man" the proportions were sometimes small. I found the rooms we had were small and the bathrooms were "quaint". I understand there are larger rooms available. On the "room for improvement" side, the inn had a musty smell that perhaps could be aired out. A minor point -- after Hurricane Irene things probably were very wet and some mildew was on the walkway, etc. A freshening up with paint could be good next summer.

Room Tip: Ask about room sizes and variations.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2011, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank RichardSwe
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Boca Raton, Florida
Level Contributor
9 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 20 October 2011

My husband and I stayed at the Fox Creek Inn and were the only guests for one night. We had the place to ourselves! It was great! It's beautifully appointed, and breakfast was delicious. We got a voucher for "Roots" restaurant and were very happy with the food and service. I would go back to this Inn. Sandy and Jim were gracious hosts. Did I mention our room was upgraded?!!

Room Tip: Sitting area with fireplace was cozy.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Kristin C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
San Francisco, California
Level Contributor
16 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 32 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 18 October 2011

The Inn is a beautiful old house set in some incredibly scenery and filled with unique and memorable aspects - layout, location, and people.

Regarding the first, the Inn is laid out with a small kitchen / dining area, beautiful wrap-around porch, and a large spacious sitting / reading room on the ground floor. At the back just behind the fireplace is also a stunningly beautiful self-serving and fully stocked honor pub (don't call it a bar!) - one of our favorite aspects of the Inn. The bedrooms, which are small with very low ceilings, are on the 2nd level. Each us uniquely decroated and the size did not feel like a negative - it is an old Inn and has a home-like quality to it that differentiates it from a hotel.

The location is fantastic - surrounded by gorgeuous forest, across from a stream and near hiking / cannoeing / kayaking, etc. (which was easily arranged for us by Jim, the Innkeeper). The nearby town is not a long drive and has some great restaurants - several were reccomended to us, again by Jim, and he took care of everything including the reservations for us.

More than a paragraph needs to be devoted to Jim here - one of the most memorable aspects of the Inn. Friendly, laughing, always eager to help, share some stories over a drink or let you be to just enjoy your time. I wish the same could be said of Sandy, the co-owner. Although she cooks an incredible breakfast, she is severaly lacking in people skills and can come off as rude, curt and just off-putting in general (looks like we're not alone in our opinion on that one from the other reviews). If not for her poor interactions with guests, we would have ranked this 5 stars. Overall, an excellent place to stay though.

  • Stayed October 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank ski4ever64
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
foxcreekinn, Owner at Fox Creek Inn, responded to this review, 19 October 2011
While I am delighted with the general tone of this review, I feel the negative comment about Sandy is very unfair.

The couple seemed to have a really nice stay and interacted well with both of us right up until the last couple of hours.

At breakfast they asked about canoeing and asked if it would be ok to have a late checkout which was agreed to.

They said they would be out by about noon, our norm is 11am, and we adjusted the housekeeping schedule to accommodate that. Unfortunately they still hadn't checked out by 1.30pm and Sandy had to ask them to leave in order to clean the room as we had others coming in later that day. They were not happy with that and regretfully they ended their stay on a rather sour note.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Chittenden
5.1 mi away
BEST WESTERN Inn & Suites Rutland - Killington
5.0 mi away
Mendon Mountainview Lodge
8.8 mi away
Hampton Inn Rutland/Killington
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
8.0 mi away
Comfort Inn Trolley Square
1.4 mi away
The Mountain Top Inn & Resort
4.9 mi away
Red Clover Inn & Restaurant
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Fox Creek Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Fox Creek Inn

Property: Fox Creek Inn
Address: 49 Dam Rd, Chittenden, VT 05737 (Formerly Tulip Tree Inn)
Phone Number:
Region: United States > Vermont > Chittenden
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 B&Bs / Inns in Chittenden
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Number of rooms: 8
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Located on 7 acres in a private little valley, Fox Creek Inn is exactly what a country inn should be comfortable and sophisticated but never stuffy. Our dining room is complimented by an excellent wine cellar and a full bar, we are less that 15 minutes from all winter and summer outdoor activties so whatever your preference for relaxing indoors or out, Fox Creek can be the ideal location. ... more   less 
Also Known As:
Fox Creek Hotel Chittenden
Fox Creek Inn Vermont/Chittenden

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing