We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Fox Creek Inn: Perfectly Vermont”
Review of Fox Creek Inn

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Fox Creek Inn
Ranked #1 of 1 Chittenden B&B and Inns
Reviewed 2 January 2013

My husband and I enjoyed a splendid stay over the New Year at the Fox Creek Inn. The inn's new owner was warm and welcoming and made us feel right at home. We had a large and lovely room complete with its own gas log fireplace. Like all of the guest rooms here, our room was charming and beautifully decorated. The public rooms also were attractive and inviting.

The Fox Creek Inn is in a quiet location yet is not far from downhill and cross country skiing and antique stores and other attractions. We're already planning a return trip to this special spot during the fall leaf season. If you're looking for accommodations that capture what Vermont is all about, The Fox Creek Inn will not disappoint.

Room Tip: Request a room with a gas log fireplace.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: December 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank gardendreamer
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (126)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

91 - 97 of 126 reviews

Reviewed 11 November 2012

Wonderful place, very warm and comfortable off the beaten path and in a beautiful area. We arrived to a welcoming atmosphere making us feel special and relaxed. The dinner Chef Bob prepared was a wonderful experience. A fresh crisp salad helped start the meal followed by a delicious stuffed chicken breast with sharp provolone wrapped with finely sliced ham baked to perfection. The delicious green beans were finely sautéed in olive oil a touch of bacon topped of with a splash of red wine. This was balanced out with Arborio Risotto cooked with a touch of parmesan cheese. The pride and expertise put into this meal alone was worth driving many miles, well worth it. The welcoming relaxed atmosphere, the exquisite bedrooms with fireplaces and Jacuzzi tubs, the manicured grounds, hiking and cross country ski trails and the close proximity to ski hills like Killington and Pico make this a wonderful year round getaway. We thoroughly enjoyed our visits here and will continue to visit. Thank you again, Frederick and Tracy

Room Tip: we enjoy room 4 and 8 immensly
See more room tips
  • Stayed: November 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Frederick z
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 14 October 2012

My wife and I spent two nights at the Fox Creek Inn as part of a week long excursion in Vermont. This place was one of the highlights. Excellent dinner, the room was comfortable, and the location was great for day hiking on the Long Trail. Also, the inn itself is very cozy and a great place to spend the afternoon reading a book, curled up by the fire. Highly recommended.

  • Stayed: October 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Andrew G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 11 October 2012

We stayed two nights recently during a hiking break in Vermont. An excellent inn and one we enjoyed staying at. Jim and Sandy were very accommodating hosts and they did everything they could to make us feel welcome. I can't remember our room number but it had an enormous tub/bath! Wonderful after a long walk.
From the perspective of someone from the UK, I can say that the breakfast menu was 'different' but none the less delicious for that. Certainly a change from my normal bowl of porridge! We liked them so much that we've got the recipes and will be trying them out for our friends.

  • Stayed: September 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank CallingtonDParsons
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 16 September 2012

We spent two nights at Fox Creek Inn as part of our Country Inns Along the Trail hiking excursion in Vermont. The setting of the inn is lovely - a very nice creek can be heard running at the bottom of the property, and the inn is set in the trees. The rooms were nice, meals were good, and they have a liquor license, so we had cocktails before our dinner. Very nice stay, with a good hike thrown in!

Stayed: August 2012, travelled with friends
Thank NWBabs
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 3 September 2012

This inn is so warm and inviting. The hosts were very kind and accommodating. We loved it. There is a very interesting history to the inn. Sandy and her husband are happy to answer any questions. My family and I cannot wait to visit this peaceful place again.

Room Tip: No need. Every room is charming.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: September 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Siobhan K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 13 August 2012

As the inn is lovely, cozy and quaint, the Hostess Sandy seems like you are troubling her for anything that was asked. Which by the way was milk for coffee. Husband Jim was very friendly, however, Sandy was never there. It took 20 minutes for someone to greet us when we arrived. We waited in the lobby of the inn for the room key. I even received an e-mail stating that my departure in the morning(4:00am) was too noisey after I checked out and arrived back home. Quote:
FYI: I do feel it necessary to let you know that we received complaints from our guests about the noise that was made when you were leaving at 4:45 AM, they were woken up and one even thought someone might have broken in.

No one was ever in the inn, we were treated poorly and to be told that we were noisey at 4:00 am in an e-mail after we left (two people) moving our luggage out in the pitch dark inn (no lights in common areas at all!!!) was rude and unnecessary. My advise: Stay at the Mountain Top Inn. Beautiful and friendly..

Room Tip: Do not choose room with a/c as it does not work.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: August 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank lisa s
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
foxcreekinn, Owner at Fox Creek Inn, responded to this reviewResponded 21 August 2012

At Fox Creek Inn we take guest feedback very seriously and if deficiencies are noted we address them quickly and are grateful for the feedback. That only makes us better.

In this particular case I take issue with the accuracy of the content and with the reason it was written. This review is written out of spite because we had the audacity to criticize this extremely selfish guest. She kindly enclosed a copy of the email that we sent her.

1: We waited 20 minutes to be checked in: Our residence is 100 yards from the inn and as I was the person who checked them in I know for a fact it was less than 5 minutes. I apologized for not being right there to greet them and was told by them that it was not a problem as "we have just arrived".
2: The two ladies stayed with us for only one day and during that time we saw them only for breakfast and then they were gone for the entire day. It was Sandy who prepared their breakfast and did housekeeping all day so the comment about Sandy was never there is simply nonsense.
3: No lights in the common areas: We have lights that cannot be turned off in the common areas. They are hard wired to ensure safety of our guests. Once again this is nonsense.
4: Being noisy at 4am. At the time Sandy sent her the email we had one very strong complaint from one of our other guests but later that morning we had three others complain. Not only did she make noise inside the inn rattling luggage, speaking, closing doors, but also managed to set off her car alarm in the parking lot.
5: Troubling the hostess asking for milk. Once more I can address this in the first person as I observed the interaction. The lady walked into the kitchen while breakfast was being prepared and "demanded" milk for her coffee. She was told not to go into the refrigerator and that the milk was already on her table. That was the entire conversation.

We do our best to ensure that all of out guests have a pleasant stay. Our inn is renowned for the peace and tranquility and it is troubling when that is is disturbed by one selfish person without thought for the other guests.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Chittenden
5.1 mi away
Best Western Inn & Suites Rutland-Killington
8.8 mi away
Hampton Inn Rutland/Killington
8.9 mi away
Holiday Inn Rutland-Killington Area
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.4 mi away
The Mountain Top Inn & Resort
8.2 mi away
Swiss Farm Inn
Swiss Farm Inn
#2 of 5 in Pittsfield
50 reviews
3.5 mi away
The Inn at Logan's Run
The Inn at Logan's Run
#1 of 1 in Pittsford
8 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Fox Creek Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Fox Creek Inn

Address: 49 Dam Rd, Chittenden, VT 05737-9811 (Formerly Tulip Tree Inn)
Phone Number:
Region: United States > Vermont > Chittenden
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 B&Bs / Inns in Chittenden
Price Range: £171 - £172 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Number of rooms: 8
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Located on 7 acres in a private little valley, Fox Creek Inn is exactly what a country inn should be comfortable and sophisticated but never stuffy. Our dining room is complimented by an excellent wine cellar and a full bar, we are less that 15 minutes from all winter and summer outdoor activties so whatever your preference for relaxing indoors or out, Fox Creek can be the ideal location. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com and Agoda so you can book your Fox Creek Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Fox Creek Hotel Chittenden
Fox Creek Inn Vermont/Chittenden

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing