We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Fabulous inn with fine host”
Review of Fox Creek Inn

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Chittenden
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Fox Creek Inn
Ranked #1 of 1 Chittenden B&B and Inns
Kerrville, Texas
Level 5 Contributor
73 reviews
29 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 39 helpful votes
“Fabulous inn with fine host”
Reviewed 11 July 2013

We were on a gourmet hiking trip, inn-to-inn, and this was one of four inns we visited. We stayed for two nights. The inn has great curb appeal, nestled in the woods by a small brook. The rooms are really nice, and superbly furnished. Ours was air conditioned. The bathroom was huge, with two basins, a bath, and a shower. We enjoyed two evening meals and appetizers, and the inn has a small bar for wine and beers.

Very relaxing. Sit on the porch and listen to the water in the brook.

The inn is quite old, but has been beautifully kept, and recently improved.

We will go back if we get back to Vermont.

Room Tip: There are two rooms with air conditioning if the weather is hot. Otherwise all the rooms looked rea...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank swannzee
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
foxcreekinn, Owner at Fox Creek Inn, responded to this review, 17 July 2013
You were wonderful guests to have at Fox Creek Inn. Now and then I get an opportunity to enjoy some quiet time on the new front porch listening to the creek and the wind in the trees. I hope you get an opportunity to return for a visit in the autumn or winter to experience a completely different environment from the summer season. I'll look forward to seeing you again.

Susan
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

120 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    103
    12
    2
    1
    2
See reviews for
17
60
4
2
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (28)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Seattle, Washington
Level 3 Contributor
12 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
Reviewed 31 May 2013

Just got back from a trip to Chittenden and the husband and I stayed at the Fox Creek Inn for an evening. We booked one night there and one night at the near by Mountain Top Inn. I am still kicking myself for not staying both nights at the Fox Creek Inn.

#1: The service is amazing. We were served home baked cookies and warm drinks right off the bat. The fire was roaring and everything felt clean, homey and sweet. The proprietor Susan is a GEM. I left my burberry coat there (had a heart attack when I figured it out) only to find that she had already delivered it to our hotel and it was waiting at the front desk! Now that is great customer service.

#2: There's a bar! She has a great wine list, which is crucial because lets face it, Vermont is pretty rural and you gotta trek into town to get a drink otherwise. So you can come home from a long hike or ski session and grab a bottle of wine to relax to.

#3 Price. The Mountain Top Inn was almost double the price and so not worth the cost. Its a lovely place, and we only stayed there because it was the wedding venue. But unless you are thinking of getting completely trashed at the wedding, just stay here and enjoy a nicer, quieter room at a way better value.

Highly recommend it here and would definitely go back if I have to visit the area again.

Room Tip: She lets you choose what room you want if there is low occupancy. Get the tour and pick your favorit...
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank zoomz
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
foxcreekinn, Owner at Fox Creek Inn, responded to this review, 10 June 2013
Thanks for the lovely review. I enjoyed our visit in the little pub at the inn and hope you'll come back again and try the new wines I've purchased.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Washington DC, District of Columbia
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 18 April 2013

Based at Fox Creek Inn for a February week of classic Vermont winter weather, I felt lucky to be in a place so homey and warm—and so handy to so many activities. Following an afternoon of snowshoeing around the nearby vast and silent reservoir or a beginner’s cross-country skiing lesson at Killington, my friends and I returned gratefully to the refreshments and comforts of the inn. And we felt the same welcome after the gentler ardors of shopping in and around Woodstock. Guestrooms are dedicated to various famous Vermonters and graced with personal touches. Many thanks and congratulations to Susan, the new owner and gracious innkeeper. Five stars!

Stayed February 2013, travelled with friends
Helpful?
1 Thank MduMond43
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Princeton, New Jersey
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 8 April 2013

The Fox Creek Inn is a charming place. The rooms are lovely and comfortable. The common areas are warm and inviting. The innkeeper is welcoming and makes her guests feel at home. the location is convenient to various Vermont activities. I thoroughly enjoyed my stay and recommend the inn highly.

Stayed February 2013, travelled with friends
Helpful?
1 Thank 889AG
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Gaithersburg, MD
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 10 March 2013

I had the distinct pleasure of staying at the Fox Creek Inn for a week in February!
The atmosphere there is one of warmth and comfort and the Inkeeper, Susan, was quite welcoming. Being there provided all the advantages of feeling at home - with someone else doing all the work! Nestled into the foot of a hill, the Inn is surrounded by woodlands with a stream running through the property. It is within easy reach of Rutland, Brandon, Woodstock, Killington, and Queechee for day trips. It was equally appealing to sit by the fire in the "snow globe" room and watch the snow falling all around you, to sit in your room to read, or to gather in the living room with Susan and friends for conversation. Susan keeps coffee, tea, and hot chocolate at the ready all day and evening. She also provides a great assortment of maps and information on the surrounding area. I highly recommend this Inn whether you are travelling solo, as a couple, or with friends or family!

Room Tip: I have seen all the rooms and each is lovely in its own way. You can pick your own from the picture...
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank RNoftsinger
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Portland
1 review
Reviewed 6 March 2013

We came for a nearby wedding and were welcomed by Susan and the Fox Creek Inn. Upon arrival we were shown our room and then had a chance to sit with Susan and relax before our wedding.

We stayed in the Norman Rockwell room, very comfortable. It was such a welcoming place.

Breakfast was delicious and plentiful.

We will return for a longer get away in the future.

  • Stayed March 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank me04103
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Greenville, South Carolina
1 review
Reviewed 25 February 2013

I can't say enough about this wonderful Inn nestled into the beautiful hills of VT. It is not only picturesque, but warm and comfortable with the most attentive owner and staff. The accommodations were perfect. The food was exceptional and the location is near to all the winter sport activities. One couldn't ask for more.

  • Stayed February 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Jan S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Chittenden
5.1 mi away
Best Western Inn & Suites Rutland-Killington
8.8 mi away
Hampton Inn Rutland/Killington
5.0 mi away
Mendon Mountainview Lodge
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.4 mi away
The Mountain Top Inn & Resort
4.9 mi away
Red Clover Inn & Restaurant
4.5 mi away
The Vermont Inn
The Vermont Inn
#2 of 3 in Mendon
197 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Fox Creek Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Fox Creek Inn

Property: Fox Creek Inn
Address: 49 Dam Rd, Chittenden, VT 05737-9811 (Formerly Tulip Tree Inn)
Phone Number:
Region: United States > Vermont > Chittenden
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 B&Bs / Inns in Chittenden
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Number of rooms: 8
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Located on 7 acres in a private little valley, Fox Creek Inn is exactly what a country inn should be comfortable and sophisticated but never stuffy. Our dining room is complimented by an excellent wine cellar and a full bar, we are less that 15 minutes from all winter and summer outdoor activties so whatever your preference for relaxing indoors or out, Fox Creek can be the ideal location. ... more   less 
Also Known As:
Fox Creek Hotel Chittenden
Fox Creek Inn Vermont/Chittenden

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing