We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“good location but overpriced for an average hotel”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Quality Inn Colchester / Burlington
Ranked #4 of 5 Hotels in Colchester
Reviewed 26 July 2014

We stayed at this hotel 2 nights as we toured around Shelburne and Burlington VT. The staff were friendly when we arrived and we enjoyed our complimentary breakfasts - nothing fancy, but nice that we could get a quick start to the day by being able to eat in the hotel. Although we didn't use it, there was a nice pool that others seemed to be enjoying.

While the room generally seemed clean, there was a big clump of hair waiting for us on the soap dish in the bathtub when we arrived...kind of gross and made us wonder how clean the room really was. The mattress was saggy which added to the fact that sleep in our room was difficult due to the outside security light that blasted into our window all night (avoid room 231!!!). I woke up several times thinking I had overslept because I could see bright sunlight through the curtains, only to discover that is was 2 AM, then 3 AM, then 4 AM.....

Perhaps my rating would be higher if we had another room. Generally we have been happy when we have stayed at Quality Inns in other cities.

  • Stayed: July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Thank Zuzilla2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
QualityInnbtv, General Manager at Quality Inn Colchester / Burlington, responded to this reviewResponded 27 July 2014

We were sorry to hear that your recent stay was anything but exceptional and would have been very interested in talking to you about any issues you had experienced. We take our guest reviews very seriously and if you were not completely satisfied we would like the opportunity to make it right. We do suggest for the light sleeper our Preferred Floor, which does boast of our 3rd Floor Interior Corridor. Thank you for sharing your feedback with us. Hearing form our guests is how we stay better and get better so we appreciate you sharing.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (704)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

396 - 402 of 704 reviews

Reviewed 26 July 2014 via mobile

The staff of this place are completely unfit to work with customers. April Kelly, a front desk representative, is a mistake of nature, as she believes that she is "the nicest person you'll ever know", while being despicably unaccommodating, abrasive and not understanding of your needs, and should find another job, not related to working with people. Jamie Goff, another "pleasant" face behind the counter, should learn how to ask questions instead of flogging a hidden safe fee of almost $2.00 per night on the unsuspecting customers.
The rooms in the motel are moderately clean, with the decor borrowed from the 70-s. The continental breakfast was most likely transported from a remote past as well. If you expect healthy breakfast choices, you are better off eating somewhere else. Everything in this motel reeks of bad taste, bad service, and bad management. The only thing that they are good at is fleecing you of your money. My advice to you, dear tourist, - stay away from this dump.

Stayed: July 2014
1  Thank Frolla_32
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
QualityInnbtv, General Manager at Quality Inn Colchester / Burlington, responded to this reviewResponded 27 July 2014

The Quality Inn Colchester staff would like to apologize for the unsatisfactory experience you had during your past visit. We strive to make each and every stay a positive one and are greatly disappointed that we were unable to provide you with such an experience. We have contacted you via direct email and look forward to hearing from us, as we would like the opportunity to make this right. Thank you for taking the time to tell us about your visit and we hope you will come back to see us in the Burlington/Colchester area in the near future.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 26 July 2014

We forgot that the room has a fridge and microwave so were pleasantly surprised. A new addition from our previous stay were the shampoo, conditioner and soap dispensers in the bath. We thought this was a good improvement to save product waste and eliminate use of plastic or glass containers. The pillows were very puffy. I found one just a bit less than I needed and two were too much. Otherwise the bed was comfortable as usual. I booked through Choice privileges and got a great rate for advanced booking , non cancellable. There is a charge odf $1.50 for the room safe unless you tell them at check in to not charge it. You must read what you are signing at check in. There is a nice lawn where we took our dog to exercise.

Room Tip: We have a dog so were restricted to certain rooms, but it suited us perfectly.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
Thank Reuben S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
QualityInnbtv, General Manager at Quality Inn Colchester / Burlington, responded to this reviewResponded 27 July 2014

At the Quality Inn Colchester we strive to provide each and every traveler to our hotel a positive experience both with our staff and in our rooms. It is our pleasure that this effort reflects in your stay and we hope that the next time you are in the Burlington/Colchester area you will come back and stay with us once again.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 22 July 2014

Stayed there on 7/19/2014. Room was supposed to be non-smoking, but it stunk of smoke. We did get a breakfest for the price of $230 for 2 double beds. It is 4 miles from the Burlington Center. The staff was friendly. I found it overpriced for what we got. Not bad, not great.

  • Stayed: July 2014, travelled with friends
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank daviddQ8181ES
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
QualityInnbtv, General Manager at Quality Inn Colchester / Burlington, responded to this reviewResponded 23 July 2014

Thank you for sharing your feedback with us. We would like to apologize for any inconveniences you experienced while staying at our property. Hearing form our guests is how we stay better and get better so we appreciate you sharing. Julie LaCroix - General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 21 July 2014

We have been to this hotel in the past and made a reservation to stay again, on July 12. On our way to Burlington we picked up a vacation booklet and found a coupon for a $79 overnight stay at this same hotel. The small print said it was for "walk-ins" only. We brought this coupon to the attention of the on duty manager when we checked in, asking if she would honor that same discount for us, a repeat customer ! She was not understanding or empathetic and told me to read the small print. She got pissy and .. no deal! We had to pay $155.
So, a walk-in gets a 40% savings that a repeat customer does not get ! Imagine ? That isn`t right.

And, when we checked out, we questioned the $1.50 "Safe Fee". We didn`t use the safe, but they wanted to change us for it. They told us they charge everyone, regardless, unless the customer notices and asks it to be removed.
We will never return.

Room Tip: Get the coupon on your way up. Don`t make a reservation first.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
3  Thank MikeComeau
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
QualityInnbtv, General Manager at Quality Inn Colchester / Burlington, responded to this reviewResponded 22 July 2014

The Quality Inn Colchester staff would like to apologize for the unsatisfactory experience you had during your past visit. We strive to make each and every stay a positive one and are greatly disappointed that we were unable to provide you with such an experience. Thank you for taking the time to tell us about your visit and we hope you will come back to see us in the Burlington/Colchester area again in the near future. Truly Yours, Julie LaCroix - General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 21 July 2014

Just spent two nights at this a Quality Inn...and will never return! While it was clean and staff was pleasant (I think those are a given). We had internet for about 10% of our time in spite of contact with their special trouble shooting toll free number (maybe that should have been the clue...we were told they have too nancy people trying yo use the server). Next, whenever we went out, our key cards failed to work on our return. No we did not keep them with anything magnetic including our cell phones. While we were at the pool we observed...and heard! the cleaning staff having the same problem. Finally, the curtains in our room did not close adequately to block out the lights that went all night in the parking lot. I reported all of these things as we were going along and then in summary as we checked out this morning and were asked about how we enjoyed our stay. I will say the woman at the desk might have been shocked or was simply speechless, because she didn't utter a word of apology when I stated all of this. No, we will never again stay here!

Room Tip: Was supposed to have wifi...could not connect.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
1  Thank DMS53
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
QualityInnbtv, Manager at Quality Inn Colchester / Burlington, responded to this reviewResponded 22 July 2014

We apologize for the inconvenience experienced due to the internet upgrade that recently occurred at our Quality Inn Colchester property. We hope that as the upgrade comes to an end that you will come back so that we may provide you an excellent stay. We wish you safe travels and hope to see you back in Burlington/Colchester soon. Truly Yours, Julie LaCroix - General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 21 July 2014

The room was duty (stains on rug), smelt musty, air conditioner did not work well. Loud neighbors, could hear them talk on cell phone (speaker). Room was next to stairwell and heard everyone coming up or down. Bed was very uncomfortable. Off my hotel list.

  • Stayed: July 2014, travelled with family
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
1  Thank Ronald T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
QualityInnbtv, General Manager at Quality Inn Colchester / Burlington, responded to this reviewResponded 23 July 2014

We were very disappointed to read that your overall experience at our hotel was less than satisfactory. We are very sorry that our efforts fell short with your stay. Our team takes great pride in providing exceptional service and accommodations. We do encourage our guest to let us know of any issues, so that we can take care of it in the appropriate manner. We are staffed 24 hours a day for your service. Once again, we apologize for the imperfections of your stay and this has been brought to the attention of all of our staff . Thank you for your review. Julie LaCroix - General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Colchester
2.6 mi away
La Quinta Inn & Suites South Burlington
La Quinta Inn & Suites South Bur...
#8 of 12 in South Burlington
615 reviews
0.2 mi away
Hampton Inn Burlington
Hampton Inn Burlington
#1 of 5 in Colchester
1,111 reviews
2.5 mi away
Comfort Inn & Suites South Burlington
Comfort Inn & Suites South Burli...
#7 of 12 in South Burlington
302 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
6.8 mi away
Days Inn Shelburne/burlington
2.2 mi away
DoubleTree by Hilton Burlington Vermont
2.3 mi away
Holiday Inn Burlington
Holiday Inn Burlington
#9 of 12 in South Burlington
446 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Quality Inn Colchester / Burlington? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Quality Inn Colchester / Burlington

Address: 84 S Park Dr, Colchester, VT 05446-5863 (Formerly Vermont Maple Inn)
Region: United States > Vermont > Colchester
Amenities:
Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #4 of 5 Hotels in Colchester
Price Range: £41 - £109 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Quality Inn Colchester / Burlington 2.5*
Number of rooms: 113
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
We offer complimentary FULL HOT breakfast each morning, with make-your-own waffles, high speed wireless internet, seasonal outdoor heated pool, fitness room, 24 hour business center, 24 hour coffee/tea service in our lobby and fresh baked cookies served each evening. We are conveniently located just off of I-89 exit 16, with several dining options adjacent or close by. We are also only 3 miles from the Burlington Waterfront & Lake Champlain. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Choice Hotels, Hotels.com, Booking.com, getaroom.com, TripOnline SA, Ebookers, Evoline ltd, HotelQuickly, 5viajes2012 S.L. and Cancelon so you can book your Quality Inn Colchester / Burlington reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Quality Hotel Colchester
Quality Inn Colchester
Colchester Quality Inn

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing