We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Reviews (42)
Filter reviews
42 results
Traveller rating
16
11
1
9
5
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
16
11
1
9
5
See what travellers are saying:
Filter
Updating list...
22 - 27 of 42 reviews
Reviewed 30 June 2011

The Silas Griffith Inn in Danby, VT has a story to tell. Kathy & Brian Preble, innkeepers for the past six years, are quite knowledgeable about Silas Griffith and his house which has become a 10 room inn and 35 seat restaurant. We enjoyed hearing the historical facts about Mr. Griffith, who was a true entrepreneur in Danby (and influencial with the town and with the ladies) and he built a most interesting property, complete with tin ceilings, Italian tiled fireplaces and a unique round pocket door, the 2nd largest in the country (reminded me of a hobbit house door!) My daughter and I stayed in Edna's Room which was a quaint room with two twin beds and opened up onto a wrap-around deck complete with rose bushes and black raspberry bushes. This kid-friendly inn (kids of all ages) has a large common room with TVs, books, board games and would be a haven for "gamers" complete with Xbox and more! The inn has a hot tub and pool, though we were not there long enough to enjoy them. For those who can't "disconnect" the wi-fi available at the inn was super fast! We will look forward to returning to the Silas Griffith Inn to see of the ongoing restoration and renovation being planned in the next few years.

  • Stayed: June 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank SusanofKingston
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 21 October 2010

We chose this inn because of its location & the number of positive reviews we read. However we were very disappointed. The innkeepers are very nice but the room was dark, dingy & dirty. There is so much clutter in the public rooms & restaurant that one can see it would take a whole team of Molly Maids to get it clean but that's what is needed here.
We had dog or cat hair on our blanket, cobwebs in the corners & the towels looked like bargains from the thrift shop - nothing matched & they were very worn.
Breakfast was okay but the pancakes were not nearly as good as the reviews made them out to be & it would be nice if one could get bacon or ham with some of the dishes. There are 5 choices of breakfasts & every single one of them comes with sausage.
All in all not a repeater for us.

  • Stayed: October 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Roses1968
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 21 January 2010

We arrived a bit late and were warmly received by the innkeeper. Our room shining clean and the beds very comfortable. The Inn is very inviting, warm and cozy and one can stay there for hours reading or enjoying the outdoors. The innkeeper Catherine couldn't be more caring. We love VT and the way this Inn felt reminded me of a very romantic movie: Baby Boom. Breakfast was delicious - home made by Catherine. I was sad that our visit was so short BUT I will come back - THANK YOU so much for our lovely stay !!

  • Stayed: January 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
6  Thank VTfan46
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 9 January 2010

This inn felt like you were relaxing in your grandmother's home. It was comfortable, warm and quaint. We traveled with two families, two kids each. We rented he third floor suite. Three teenagers slept in one room with a roll out bed, and they were quite comfortable. The other rooms were just as fine with a fire place in each room. There was a general area to convene with games and quiet time for reading in the next building a short distance away. Emma's Restaurant served made to order breakfast that was fabulous every morning. Try the pancakes, the best I've ever had! The owners are very friendly, and they make you feel like you've known them for years. Tell them your interests and their suggestions add to the fun of Vermont. Close to ski resorts and shopping in Manchester. Enjoy the Silas Griffith Inn!

  • Stayed: December 2009, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
5  Thank NewYear10
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 15 December 2009

We booked the Inn for a family reunion in conjunction with a family member's birthday. The innkeepers and staff could not have been more accommodating as we worked out the details of our family's stay. All the various needs were met without any fuss, and the family was unanimous in their praise of the accommodations. The food, served buffet-style for the main meals, was delicious. I would heartily recommend the Inn for a family gathering. Everything you need is right there...

  • Stayed: August 2009
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
5  Thank revbobc
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews