We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“buffet lunch--good old fashioned dining!”
Review of Danville Inn

No photo provided
Got a photo?
Add it.
We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Danville
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Danville Inn
Ranked #2 of 2 Danville B&B and Inns
Morrisville, Vermont
Level 6 Contributor
279 reviews
52 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 69 helpful votes
“buffet lunch--good old fashioned dining!”
Reviewed 16 October 2012

The lunch buffet at the Inn is one word COMFORT. Comfort in decor, comfort in service, and real old-fashioned comfort food. The decor of the dining room is filled with really cool stuff of the old-time dining room variety: cups and dishes and tea pots. With Halloween being right around the corner, it also has alot of holiday flair, very tastefully done. The owner just purchased a beautiful grand piano from the 1880's. It is currently having all its innards refurbished. The service is very friendly but not too. The owner himself waited on us. The lunch buffet had all the requisite comfort food: chicken pie, gravy, homemade mashed potatoes, squash casserole, peas, and corn, and homemade bread to die for! To appeal to those who need to eat something green, there was a lettuce salad as well.
Desserts were very tasty. I got the grapenut pudding that didn't have too many grape nuts. A nice custard with layers of grapenuts in between, and real whipped cream.
Price couldn't be beat either. 6$ for the buffet and 3$ for desserts.

A great and cozy place to go on a cold day!

Room Tip: did not stay. just ate lunch
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank carefultraveler2014
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

14 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    7
    6
    0
    0
    1
See reviews for
5
3
1
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (4)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Harrisville, Rhode Island
Level 2 Contributor
6 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 3 May 2012

Nice people, good service - but - the dinner buffet food left much to be desired.

  • Stayed April 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Bill P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bristol, Rhode Island
Level 4 Contributor
25 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 40 helpful votes
Reviewed 11 August 2011

Perfect stay for the price ($78 per night which included breakfast). Rooms were clean, and comfortable with everything you could need, and what you would expect in a small B&B. Restautrant is located downstairs and offers great buffet style dining with lots of delicious homemade food. Breakfast on Sat. morning was a treat and included in our room price. Building is Victorian-quirky in the style of many of the homes in Northeastern Vermont. Danville area is lovely - lots of nice roads for country drives and beautiful views and great swimming at Joe's Pond. If you visit St. Johnsbury, check out the neat Fairbanks Museum and the gorgeous St. Johnsbury Athenaeum. Pleasant stay and we'll definitely be back - it fit the bill perfectly!

  • Stayed July 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
9 Thank klmsailorgirl
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Vermont
Level 2 Contributor
6 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 28 helpful votes
Reviewed 9 October 2010

Steve Cobb, owner of the Danville Inn does a marvelous job of making you feel welcome in his restaurant. We've eaten there several times over the years. The blueberry pancakes are wonderful. Not too fluffy and not too sweet. The Friday and Saturday night buffets are SO delicious. It's best to call ahead to make a reservation, as sometimes he won't have any spots available! Very reasonable prices, a lovely, elegant setting, but you won't feel out of place wearing jeans. Our only complaint is that he's not open Sunday or Mondays for the public.

  • Stayed August 2010, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
6 Thank FormerIslander
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Danville
5.9 mi away
Comfort Inn & Suites Near Burke Mountain
18.2 mi away
Hampton Inn Littleton
Hampton Inn Littleton
#1 of 5 in Littleton
734 reviews
24.0 mi away
Capitol Plaza
Capitol Plaza
#2 of 4 in Montpelier
380 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
5.7 mi away
Fairbanks Inn
Fairbanks Inn
#2 of 2 in Saint Johnsbury
216 reviews
12.2 mi away
Rabbit Hill Inn
Rabbit Hill Inn
#1 of 4 in Saint Johnsbury
1,236 reviews
9.2 mi away
Maplewood Lodge
Maplewood Lodge
#4 of 4 in Saint Johnsbury
30 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Danville Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Danville Inn

Property: Danville Inn
Address: 86 Route 2 W, P.O. Box 201, Danville, VT 05828-4419
Region: United States > Vermont > Northeast Kingdom > Danville
Amenities:
Restaurant
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 2 B&Bs / Inns in Danville
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Number of rooms: 4
Also Known As:
Danville Hotel Danville

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing