We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Very nice stay at the Dorset Inn”
4 of 5 bubbles Review of The Dorset Inn

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
The Dorset Inn
Ranked #2 of 7 Dorset B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
North Attleboro, Massachusetts
Level Contributor
161 reviews
23 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 67 helpful votes
“Very nice stay at the Dorset Inn”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 5 August 2012

Just returned from a mid-week stay that we found on Groupon - two nights for the price of one.
The inn is very nice. The main common areas show the age of the inn with creaky floors, but rooms are in tip top condition with HD TV and the bathrooms was newly tiled.

The stay comes with breakfast that was well above average; includes your choice of a dozen menu options with juice, coffee, bacon or sausage and a little fruit cup.

We also had a nice evening meal in the dining room. Menu is a little limited, but both choices were prepared well and service was good.

Very easy to recommend, especially on this groupon offer.

  • Stayed August 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Ed_Kal99
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

257 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    191
    42
    13
    5
    6
See reviews for
32
168
7
9
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (80)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Portuguese first
  • Any
English first
Level Contributor
25 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 19 July 2012

Just to clarify...this is an Inn not a B&B. Much much nicer than a hotel, but not the same warmth as a B&B. The room was lovely, breakfast was delicious, but I missed the personal attention. But it was a lovely place to stay.

  • Stayed July 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Zisahmom
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Lake George,NY
Level Contributor
54 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 17 July 2012

My husband and I decided to get away for an overnight stay at the Dorset Inn because we had heard about the great food and it was close to the outlet shopping in Manchester. We had a nice room on the ground floor, but right next to busy road. It would have been a problem with noise except we had the air conditioner on all night. Don't know if it would be a problem in winter. We ate lunch and dinner on the front porch which was nice. Did have a small issue with landscaper mowing at dinnertime 10 feet from our table, but staff spoke to him and he left. Food was outstanding as was the wine list. After dinner we sat in their cozy bar for a drink. The three rooms were pretty full for dinner as I think this is a favorite with the locals. Breakfast was included with a nice selection and some seasonal offerings. Disappointed only in our trip over to Manchester which used to be a wonderful shopping destination. Most stores are vacant and now the only draw would be the Northshire Bookstore and Orvis except it is a bit far to make a trip just for that. All in all it was a relaxing and enjoyable stay. Take advantage of the onsite spa, but book well in advance.

Room Tip: Try to get a higher level room away from road. We used travelzoo coupon and upgraded, but didn't...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank LakeGeorge_NYHappy1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Manchester, Vermont
2 reviews
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 10 July 2012

I brought my mom and two sisters to the Dorset Inn for lunch. It was so pleasant sitting outside the Inn. We received a warm welcome and excellent service. Each of our lunches were presented beautifully and had top quality meat and produce. Very impressed! I proud to call Dorset home. Thank you Dorset Inn staff. L.M.

  • Stayed July 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Lindial
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Dorsetinnkeeper, Owner at The Dorset Inn, responded to this review, 11 August 2012
Thank you so much for taking the time to write your lovely comments. We appreciate the positive feedback so much! We are delighted that you and your family enjoyed a lovely outing at The Dorset Inn. Our front porch is very popular in the summer time. The Dorset Inn enjoys being in the center of the village and a place that our local residents can frequent and be proud of. We look forward to your next visit with us!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hartford, Connecticut
Level Contributor
17 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 3 July 2012

Lovely king size room with a room air conditioner that we were most grateful for as we were there during an unusual hot spell. A full breakfast served in the "breakfast room" is included in the room rate. Staff is most accomodating. We used a social network travel voucher that included a $50 dinner credit and were very pleased with the gourmet food, service and atmosphere. There are two rooms with comfortable seating near the lobby where you can sit and enjoy the afternoon lemonade or iced tea and cookies. Good selection of magazines, books and board games. Unfortunately, it was too hot to enjoy the hammock in the backyard. Easy drive to Manchester, VT where there is plenty of shopping and restaurants. No Verizon cell service so we learned to live without our phones for 2 nights - and found that we survived.

Room Tip: Our room was on the first floor and close to everything yet there was no noise from the hallway or d...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank iristraveler
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Rexford, New York
Level Contributor
16 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 2 July 2012

We stayed for 2 days using a living Social Voucher for a standard room. Staff is tremendously helpful, decor in the room was lovely and inviting.. Same with the bathroom. Loved the Subway tiles. Would suggest, due to space available in bath, that a couple shelves be put up to allow for storage of cosmetics, shave kit etc. We used the large baseboard to store these items. We ate in the Restaurant on our first night as we had tickets for the Dorset Theater. We were delighted with our dinner. Scrumptious!Great production at the theater. Something to add if you stay in the summer.
We sat outside in the Adirondack chairs before and after dinner on our second night. It was so relaxing. We would certainly return. Wonderful experience!

  • Stayed June 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank MoTroy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Rutland, Vermont
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 26 June 2012

One of the finer dining locations in Southern Vermont, the Dorset Inn Restaurant boasts a sophistocated menu with a quiet, tasteful decor and superb flavors. My dining experiences at this delightful Inn have been consistently delicious and well presented; a treat for the eyes, as well as the palate. The wine list is extensive and the assorted desserts are heavenly. My favorite experience there was the Kentucky Derby gala, complete with Mint Juleps with proceeds donated to local charities.

  • Stayed June 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Kathi C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Dorset
6.4 mi away
Kimpton Taconic Hotel
Kimpton Taconic Hotel
#1 of 16 in Manchester
5.0 of 5 bubbles 262 reviews
5.3 mi away
Manchester View
Manchester View
#2 of 16 in Manchester
4.5 of 5 bubbles 560 reviews
5.2 mi away
Olympia Lodge
Olympia Lodge
#3 of 16 in Manchester
4.5 of 5 bubbles 226 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
6.4 mi away
The Reluctant Panther Inn & Restaurant
0.2 mi away
Barrows House
Barrows House
#1 of 7 in Dorset
5.0 of 5 bubbles 143 reviews
5.8 mi away
Palmer House
Palmer House
#6 of 16 in Manchester
4.5 of 5 bubbles 302 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Dorset Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Dorset Inn

Property: The Dorset Inn
Address: 8 Church Street, Dorset, VT 05251
Phone Number:
Region: United States > Vermont > Green Mountains > Dorset
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 7 B&Bs / Inns in Dorset
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:3.5 star — The Dorset Inn 3.5*
Number of rooms: 27
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Gracious lodging, gourmet dining, fine wines & great spirits - all trademarks of Vermont's oldest continually operating inn. Nestled on the green in a picturesque Vermont village,The Dorset Inn has offered traditional New England Hospitality for more than 200 years. 26 uniquely appointed guest rooms & three room luxury suites featuring fireplaces & whirlpool bathrooms. The Wine Spectator awarded restaurant serves dinner nightly. A long time favorite with locals, the Tavern offers microbrew & unique beers, extensive single malt scotch & Irish whiskey list & wide array of cocktails & aperitifs. From the quiet getaway to the outdoor adventure vacation...skiing at Bromley & Stratton, shopping Manchester's designer outlets, hiking & biking on local trails, golfing, kayaking & canoeing, antiquing, perusing museums...all these activities and more are located within minutes of The Dorset Inn. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Booking.com, Agoda and Odigeo so you can book your The Dorset Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Dorset Hotel Dorset
The Dorset Inn Vermont

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing