We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“George and Gayle R” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of The Dorset Inn

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
The Dorset Inn
Ranked #2 of 7 Dorset B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Williamsburg, Virginia, United States
Level Contributor
5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“George and Gayle R”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 20 September 2012

Our first time at Dorset Inn and it could not have been more pleasant, from front yard welcoming the fall season, to the back yard with lovely flowers and vegetables it was very charming. The food was exquiste, the wine flowing endlessly and our rooms comfortable and welcoming. It was truly a fine experience.

  • Stayed September 2012, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Gayle R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

255 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    189
    42
    13
    5
    6
See reviews for
32
166
7
9
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (79)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Portuguese first
  • Any
English first
Manchester, Vermont
Level Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 16 September 2012

This is one of the best restaurants in the area. The food is excellent, the ambiance is very nice-- very Vermontish-- and the service was excellent. If you are visiting this area, I highly recommend dining here.

  • Stayed July 2012, travelled with friends
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Reviewer2700
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Queensbury, New York
Level Contributor
100 reviews
28 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 47 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 14 September 2012

This was my husband and my third stay at the Dorset Inn and once again we experienced a wonderful time. We had a suite at the end of the second floor which included a king-sized bed, separate living room with gas fireplace and spacious bathroom with a large shower and spa tub big enough for two. The common areas on the first floor are furnished with a mixture of comfortable furniture and lovely antiques, very inviting to sit and chat with friends, read a book or simply relax. Upon arrival we enjoyed a cocktail on the front porch which is surrounded by a marble walkway and beautiful floors. Route 30 can be a bit noisy but you quickly drown out the din of the traffic with sounds of other guests enjoying themselves. The Tavern is a great place to go for a drink or dinner; Patrick has been the bartender at the Tavern for years and is a pleasure. We ate diner in the main dining room and it was delicious. Breakfast is served in a smaller, sunnier area of the Inn, or in good weather you can eat on the porch. But no matter where you eat or which meal(s) you will be served fresh, tasty fare. You can tell the owners take great pride in their business and value good staff, one of which was celebrating 40 years on the job. That speaks volume.

  • Stayed September 2012, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Scout11258
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Rupert, Vermont
Level Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 25 August 2012

I had dinner at The Dorset Inn a few days ago and absolutely loved it. We sat in the Tavern and enjoyed the cozy ambiance. There were a few outdoor tables as well which other diners seemed to enjoy. I highly recommend the calamari and dessert cocktails!

  • Stayed August 2012, travelled with friends
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank EBR0711
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Mahopac, New York
Level Contributor
13 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 20 August 2012

We bought a Groupon for 2 nights. The room was extremely comfortable. The staff was very attentive and the breakfasts were fabulous. Dinner was also very good. We liked it so much that we stayed for 2 extra nights. The location is very beautiful and quiet. We found some lovely lakes to swim in nearby.

  • Stayed August 2012, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Wendy W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Albany, New York, United States
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 12 August 2012

The Dorset Inn has everything you could want on your visit to Vermont. Beautifully appointed rooms, warm and cozy tavern, lovely dining room and very hospitable employees. Our room was very comfortable and we loved our dinner in the dining room. However, we loved eating in the tavern at the bar and talking with Patrick. If you are travelling to or through Southern Vermont, this is a great place to stay.

  • Stayed August 2012, travelled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Jeannep_12_12
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
New Jersey
Level Contributor
9 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 11 August 2012

The Dorset Inn is a well run establishment. Our room was top of the line with king sized bed, large HD TV, and jacuzzi tub. We arrived late, but were not rushed at dinner. Our service was professional. There were plenty of options, contrary to a prior review, and everything was excellent, including dessert. The wine list is extensive and VERY fairly priced. Breakfast in the morning (included in the price of the room) was very good as well.

Dorset is a much better base than Manchester as it is laid back and what we like about Vermont.

Give this inn a try and you will be back again.

  • Stayed July 2012, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank royle
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Dorset
6.4 mi away
Kimpton Taconic Hotel
Kimpton Taconic Hotel
#1 of 15 in Manchester
5.0 of 5 bubbles 250 reviews
5.3 mi away
Manchester View
Manchester View
#2 of 15 in Manchester
4.5 of 5 bubbles 551 reviews
6.4 mi away
The Reluctant Panther Inn & Restaurant
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
5.2 mi away
Olympia Lodge
Olympia Lodge
#3 of 15 in Manchester
4.5 of 5 bubbles 226 reviews
0.2 mi away
Barrows House
Barrows House
#1 of 7 in Dorset
5.0 of 5 bubbles 139 reviews
5.8 mi away
Palmer House
Palmer House
#6 of 15 in Manchester
4.5 of 5 bubbles 300 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Dorset Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Dorset Inn

Property: The Dorset Inn
Address: 8 Church Street, Dorset, VT 05251
Phone Number:
Region: United States > Vermont > Green Mountains > Dorset
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 7 B&Bs / Inns in Dorset
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:3.5 star — The Dorset Inn 3.5*
Number of rooms: 27
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Gracious lodging, gourmet dining, fine wines & great spirits - all trademarks of Vermont's oldest continually operating inn. Nestled on the green in a picturesque Vermont village,The Dorset Inn has offered traditional New England Hospitality for more than 200 years. 26 uniquely appointed guest rooms & three room luxury suites featuring fireplaces & whirlpool bathrooms. The Wine Spectator awarded restaurant serves dinner nightly. A long time favorite with locals, the Tavern offers microbrew & unique beers, extensive single malt scotch & Irish whiskey list & wide array of cocktails & aperitifs. From the quiet getaway to the outdoor adventure vacation...skiing at Bromley & Stratton, shopping Manchester's designer outlets, hiking & biking on local trails, golfing, kayaking & canoeing, antiquing, perusing museums...all these activities and more are located within minutes of The Dorset Inn. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Booking.com, Agoda, Odigeo and Ebookers so you can book your The Dorset Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Dorset Hotel Dorset
The Dorset Inn Vermont

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing