We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Wonderful Experience!”
Review of The Dorset Inn

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
The Dorset Inn
Ranked #3 of 7 Dorset B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 16 December 2013

I can't say enough about my experience at The Dorset Inn. From check in to check out the staff was attentive, courteous and committed to our comfort! We were given a thorough check in that explained the amazing amenities that our suite (The Dorset ) had to offer including the heated bathroom floor and towel rack which mad mornings totally awesome. We were then seated in the living room to relax after a long drive and enjoyed a glass of wine by fireplace while we browsed a dinner menu. The dinner from service to preparation was top notch. After a brisk night stroll around the charming town we were easily comforted by the in suite gas fireplace. The bed was extremely comfortable and spacious as well as the suite in general. The breakfast was truly the icing on the cake, our server Amy elegantly explained the daily specials while gracefully attending to our coffee and water! Myself I am a fan of plain old French Toast and bacon and The Dorset's, bar none was superb. Thank you Dorset Inn for a wonderful experience!!

  • Stayed: December 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank 10again10
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Dorsetinnkeeper, Owner at The Dorset Inn, responded to this reviewResponded 9 February 2014

Thank you very much for your lovely review. Dorset is definitely a little jewel of a village and we love being right on the village green. All of our rooms are lovely and unique, but the deluxe suites with the spa bathrooms and living rooms with fireplaces are really special. We love our chefs and are so happy that you enjoyed your dining experiences with us, as well. We will pass your nice comments along to Amy. It's so great when one of our staff gets an extra mention and some appreciation. We hope to see you again when you can sneak away to Vermont!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (269)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

129 - 135 of 269 reviews

Reviewed 20 November 2013

We had a room with a double bed and an adjoining room with a sofa bed. The bathroom had a walk inn shower and a jet tub. The room was comfortable and clean and we were given a warm welcome on arrival. Dinner was a sad disappointment, one meal was acceptable but the other was Inedible. Having left a full plate the waitress asked was everything OK, to which I replied no, it was awful. There was no follow up to this and consequently we didn't leave a tip. Still no response until check out when we were asked why we hadn't left a tip!!!!!!! At this point my meal was credited in full, but an example of not keeping an eye on the ball. Breakfast was OK at best.

  • Stayed: October 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Carole W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Dorsetinnkeeper, Owner at The Dorset Inn, responded to this reviewResponded 21 November 2013

Thank you for taking the time to write of your experience. Your dining experiecne should have been dealt with immendiately in the resturant and for that we are sorry. We always strive for 100% guest satisfaction and we are very proud of our culinary team, but obviously we fell short in your case. Luckily, this is not a situation we deal with often. Our policy is to replace the ordered item and/or remove it from the bill. We have made our dining room servers and all staff aware of the fact that if there is a problem, to please let a supervisor know immediately. Your review will help us do better in the future -- thanks again so much for your feedback.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 17 November 2013

We stayed here for one night; the place is charming and has an excellent breakfast but there are many other faults.

Room: the room is nicely decorated and it has enough space for luggage. However, the bed was terrible. The mattress was hard, "bumpy," and extremely bouncy. If you're staying with your partner, you'll be bound to wake up if the other moves. The pillows were also very hard. The bathroom is clean but needs some maintenance. The biggest issue was the lack of hot water in the shower. We called the front desk, and they told us to run it for a while (extremely wasteful). We did and still no hot water. When we called again, the person at the front desk had a big attitude about it and seemed annoyed that we were complaining. They said that they were going to send somebody to fix it but had to call again as nobody showed up after half an hour. At that point, they informed us that the boiler for that room wasn't working due to lack of oil -- clearly a sign of poor maintenance. They offered us another room to shower but we had to go (we braved the cold water!), so we asked for a discount instead which they agreed to.

Service: aside from the water issue, when we checked in I wasn't feeling well and needed to go to the room right away. This was a hassle -- the check-in person was not sympathetic at all and insisted on giving me a tour of the place. I had to insist to please have the key and let me go. And they wouldn't let my husband bring in the small suitcases through the front door. They made him bring the bags back to the car and park in the back. This was much farther and a hassle for him since he was carrying extra stuff as I was sick, and no help was offered except for another nice guest who jumped in when seeing my husband struggling. The check-in process was a poor experience; clearly, the people at the front desk don't care about their guests.

Breakfast: food was great but service slow and didn't have a good selections of teas (forget about asking for English Breakfast tea).

Overall, it's a charming place in a good location but with terrible service, awful beds, and no hot water. We would never stay here again unless the rate would be about $150 or less.

Stayed: September 2013, travelled as a couple
2  Thank Lily30
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Dorsetinnkeeper, Owner at The Dorset Inn, responded to this reviewResponded 21 November 2013

Thank you for your feedback. We are sorry that we did not make a good impression upon you. First of all, let us assure you that our Front Desk staff all have many years of hospitality experience and care very much about our guests and their comfort as you can see from other reviews. We do try to welcome our guests with a short tour of our Inn. For our first-time guests, we want you to know where breakfast is served and where amenities such as complimentary afternoon refreshments can be found. It is a big building and we do find that this gives us a chance to welcome our guests and take a minute to orient them to their surroundings. It often takes guests a little while to decompress from a long drive or airplane travel. Obviously, we did not mean to cause you any discomfort - we only meant well. We do always offer to help guests with their luggage but many men do not take us up on this. Our parking lot is in the back of the inn and that guest entrance is actually closer to most guest rooms for unloading luggage. Our Inn is located on the village green where there is limited parking. Of course, one of an Innkeeper's worst nightmares is not having hot water. Our oil company simply was not on top of it and neither were we. We know that a room discount can not make up for a cold shower!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 2 November 2013 via mobile

My wife and I needed a little down time we stayed in the sister Inn a 30 second drive down the road called The Barrows House. Both were amazing, service exceptional and the eggs benny for breakfast at the Dorset Inn was the best I have ever had. I had to indulge 2 days in a row. Highly recommend. Just note this time of year, no food served at Barrows House Monday and Tuesday. Call ahead as dining can be spotty. Quant New England charm.

Stayed: October 2013, travelled with friends
Thank tonedogg
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Dorsetinnkeeper, Owner at The Dorset Inn, responded to this reviewResponded 21 November 2013

So glad you enjoyed breakfast! Eggs Benedict are indeed the crowd pleaser. We do serve breakfast 7 days a week for our guests. In the non-peak season, we serve dinner five nights a week, but not to fear. Between both The Dorset Inn & Barrows House dinner is available all 7 nights in our village of Dorset.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 18 October 2013

The reivews I read were all true! Wonderful service, warm welcome and a great place to stay. Everyone that works there was friendly and willing to share stories and ideas of places to visit. Breakfast was great everyday. Dinner was amazing! Didn't expect gourmet food in a little town!

Weather was great and we were able to enjoy the nice porch atmosphere every afternoon. The Inn Serves Tea/Coffee/Hot Cider along with cookies every afternoon. Was great to come back from a long hike or a day of shopping and relax with nice warm cider or a beer from the bar area.

My husband and I will be sure to return again!

Room Tip: Very happy with our room on 2nd floor. It was in the front of the house but not as 'loud' a...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: October 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Boots772
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 14 October 2013 via mobile

Traveling down Rt30, we stopped in for some food and refreshment. Loved the location and Service. I am putting this place on my list of places to stop in. There is a great Vermont Country store across the street also.

  • Stayed: October 2013
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
Thank Generalwater
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Dorsetinnkeeper, Owner at The Dorset Inn, responded to this reviewResponded 3 November 2013

How nice that you stumbled upon Dorset and The Dorset Inn. We're always happy to hear that people just happened upon our quaint village. Our culinary team is exceptional and work hard on breakfast, lunch & dinner 365 days a year! Please come back and see us again soon.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 11 October 2013 via mobile

Friendly welcome by the man at the desk from the minute we walked in. Assumed he might be one of the proprietors. Accommodations were excellent, with the integrity of the past still being preserved . We had both dinner and breakfast there, and both were delicious. Friendly atmosphere in general.

Stayed: October 2013, travelled as a couple
Thank Bfrnk1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Dorset
5.3 mi away
Manchester View
Manchester View
#3 of 16 in Manchester
682 reviews
6.4 mi away
Kimpton Taconic Hotel
Kimpton Taconic Hotel
#2 of 16 in Manchester
362 reviews
5.9 mi away
Hampton Inn & Suites Manchester
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
5 mi away
The INN at Willow Pond
The INN at Willow Pond
#13 of 16 in Manchester
153 reviews
0.2 mi away
Barrows House
Barrows House
#1 of 7 in Dorset
162 reviews
6.6 mi away
The Equinox Golf Resort & Spa
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Dorset Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Dorset Inn

Address: 8 Church Street, Dorset, VT 05251
Phone Number:
Region: United States > Vermont > Green Mountains > Dorset
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 7 B&Bs / Inns in Dorset
Price Range: £127 - £181 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3.5 star — The Dorset Inn 3.5*
Number of rooms: 27
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Gracious lodging, gourmet dining, fine wines & great spirits - all trademarks of Vermont's oldest continually operating inn. Nestled on the green in a picturesque Vermont village,The Dorset Inn has offered traditional New England Hospitality for more than 200 years. 26 uniquely appointed guest rooms & three room luxury suites featuring fireplaces & whirlpool bathrooms. The Wine Spectator awarded restaurant serves dinner nightly. A long time favorite with locals, the Tavern offers microbrew & unique beers, extensive single malt scotch & Irish whiskey list & wide array of cocktails & aperitifs. From the quiet getaway to the outdoor adventure vacation...skiing at Bromley & Stratton, shopping Manchester's designer outlets, hiking & biking on local trails, golfing, kayaking & canoeing, antiquing, perusing museums...all these activities and more are located within minutes of The Dorset Inn. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Agoda and Ebookers so you can book your The Dorset Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Dorset Hotel Dorset
The Dorset Inn Vermont

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing