We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“warm conviviality”
Review of The Dorset Inn

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
The Dorset Inn
Ranked #2 of 7 Dorset B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 31 January 2009

The town of Dorset is one of those picturesque secretly exclusive New England villiages with white clapboard buildings and green shutters. The Dorset Inn anchors the entire scene, partly because it's right in the center of town, partly because Southern Vermont insiders know that the D.I. tavern is the center of the diamond for the local country club scene. The atmosphere features warmth all around: fireplaces glowing in the dining room, living room, tavern, and guest suites. The staff will remember you if you become a regular too. The new owners have taken over from a thirty year chef-owned operation, so their still tweeking the food options, but they've taken the rooms from a 1980's holiday Inn to the modern world of flat screen tv's, marble bathrooms, and jacuzzi's. It's a winner as a hidden getaway.

  • Stayed: January 2009
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
1  Thank roux2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (265)
There are newer reviews for The Dorset Inn
See the most recent reviews
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

252 - 258 of 265 reviews

Reviewed 5 November 2008

When my Husband & I booked the Dorset for the first time last May, we thought we had died & gone to heaven! The former ownwer, Sissy, the staff, Missy, & Amy to name a few were so caring, we always felt like we were the only guests, that discribes the personal attention you received at this inn. For this reason we became fast regulars. We also booked the holidays and a Grand event for this coming season.
Here's where it goes bad. The inn was in the process of being sold, during this time we saw a small decline at the Inn point speaking at reception, every time we made a reservation, there always seemed to be problem, they booked the wrong date, forgot to send email confrimations, that sort of thing. When the kinks were ironed out with the new owner things would get better,we thought, well they didin't. We continued getting "tude" from one person at reception, when we wanted correct confirmation on booking dates, for this we were called " Anal" from said person. The icing on the cake was when we returned once again in October, we were informed that the kitchen was closed due to cleaning , we had booked their gourmet get away package which included dinner, ONCE AGAIN WE WERE NEVER INFORMED OF THIS! We spoke to "tude" reception a week prior to make reservation, which once again she screwed up, again called back to fix the dates AND STILL WAS NEVER INFORMED !!!!!! we were told that night when we arrived that we could not get the gourmet get away package for one of th nights we were ther, went to an overpriced restaurant down the street instead, and had to NEGOCIATE THE PRICE OF THAT NIGHT'S STAY DOWN!!!!!!!!!!!!!!! When "tude" receptionist returned for the morning shift , she said to us "I was going to send you an email about the kitchen, guess I Forgot"
My Husband & I will NEVER BE BACK

  • Stayed: October 2008, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Service
8  Thank Patents
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Dorsetinnkeeper, Owner at The Dorset Inn, responded to this reviewResponded 11 November 2008

We strive to make every guest stay a memorable one. While striving for 100% satisfaction, we sometimes fail to meet individual guests' expectations. This is most unfortunate.

In this particular situation, we had several calls from the guest to change the existing reservation date. We try our best to accommodate guest itinerary changes. Unfortunately, the change made had the guest staying at the inn the 1 night its restuarant closes for the annual and mandatory hood cleaning. We tried with several attempts to contact the guest to remind them of this with the phone number on file. We were never able to reach them nor was there a voicemail to leave a message. This led to obvious disatisfaction. We booked a table at a restaurant 1 block from the inn and adjusted the room rate accordingly.

Our front desk staff is professional and courteous with many years of hospitality experience. This particular staff member has apologized verbally and in writing to the guest. Some comments made appear to have been taken out of context. We welcome constructive feedback from our guests and always welcome ideas that would make The Dorset Inn a better and more comfortable place to visit.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 24 October 2008

The staff are extremely gracious and accommodating and available to make your visit as pleasureable as possible. Rooms are spacious, immaculate, and beautifully decorated. Consider booking the rooom with meals package as the cuisine is gourmet and top notch. Breakfast isn't the usual continental type, instead there is a wide offerring such as Eggs Benedict, omelettes, corned beef hash, fresh squeezed O.J., etc. Dinner is equally as fine.

  • Stayed: October 2008, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank BLR22
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 16 August 2008

My husband and I just enjoyed a quintessential VT experience. Anchoring the village green, the inn is exactly what you expect a country inn to be - warm and inviting. Our 2 room suite was spacious and luxuriously apointed with all the important amenities and niceties. We didn't have to go further than down the stairs to enjoy a scrumptious meal in the dining room. The food was some of the best we've had and we love that the menus focus on local Vermont products. The wine selection is terrific, as well. Although the bed was very comfortable, make sure to be up for breakfast. It was a real treat!

  • Stayed: August 2008, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
1  Thank innfan1796
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 25 July 2008

My husband and I stayed at the Dorset Inn for our anniversary, and it was absolutely amazing. We stayed in one of the newly renovated suites, and the jacuzzi tub and steam shower were quite a plus. The staff were very helpful and friendly, the dinner and breakfast were both delicious, and the play we saw at the Dorset Playhouse was also great. I would definitely do it again as a great getaway for a special occasion!

  • Stayed: July 2008, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank ophilia13
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 16 June 2008

The Dorset Inn is an amazing find in the sleepy town of Dorset, Vermont. I have now been to this inn twice, once in February for a ski weekend and most recently in late May for a spring getaway. I believe a visit in either season is worthwhile. Spring in Vermont, which was apparently the offseason, is lush, green, warm and welcoming - a nice break from the humidity and hustle of the city.

A few miles from the outlet shopping in Manchester, Dorset is a quaint village with a mix of lovely homes, farms and inns. The Dorset Inn, with its white exterior and classic Greek revival architecture, its period furnishings, the garden and the welcoming front porch, embodies all the charm of the traditional New England B&B. It has been recently renovated by new owners. We stayed in one of the deluxe suites during our latest visit. The suite had separate living and sleeping quarters and was very cozy, with a warm, neutral decor, flat screen tvs and a beautiful new bathroom (including a jacuzzi tub). Other rooms are smaller and more "charming" than "luxurious" - but I would recommend staying elsewhere if you are looking for more of a high-end atmosphere.

The breakfast (which is included for guests) is amazing! I always get the pancakes (buttermilk, strawberry, blueberry). My fiance had the eggs benedict one morning and the waffles the next. Everything tastes fresh, home-made and straight from the farmer's market. Other reviews describe the food as "comfort food". Even if you don't stay here, I recommend stopping in for a meal!

The staff is amazingly sweet and gracious and went out of their way to help make us comfortable. They even sent us a postcard after our trip thanking us for our stay!

For dinner, we've also eaten at the Perfect Wife and the Reluctant Panther, both of which are nice if you'd like to go out.

2  Thank Elli2222
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 30 March 2008

The Dorset Inn's new owners, like some precient gamblers, seem to have thrown "all in" at the right time, perhaps knowing that the little town and its rather rich locals and guests might appreciate an upgrade to its rooms. For about thirty years, the DI has been known as the local hub in this area, mixing friendly service with the kind of food you wish you could find while traveling, but somehow never do. It's rooms are now up to snuff for couples hoping to mix solitude with a jacuzzi tub, a fireplace, and some proper cocktails. Bravo to the new developments! Looking forward to the new season at the Theatre down the road!

  • Stayed: March 2008, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
1  Thank sirbSanFrancisco
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Dorset
6.4 mi away
Kimpton Taconic Hotel
Kimpton Taconic Hotel
#1 of 16 in Manchester
335 reviews
5.3 mi away
Manchester View
Manchester View
#2 of 16 in Manchester
639 reviews
24.8 mi away
Hampton Inn Bennington
Hampton Inn Bennington
#1 of 8 in Bennington
725 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
5.2 mi away
Olympia Lodge
Olympia Lodge
#4 of 16 in Manchester
242 reviews
0.2 mi away
Barrows House
Barrows House
#1 of 7 in Dorset
152 reviews
6.6 mi away
The Equinox Golf Resort & Spa
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Dorset Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Dorset Inn

Address: 8 Church Street, Dorset, VT 05251
Phone Number:
Region: United States > Vermont > Green Mountains > Dorset
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 7 B&Bs / Inns in Dorset
Price Range: £141 - £231 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3.5 star — The Dorset Inn 3.5*
Number of rooms: 27
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Gracious lodging, gourmet dining, fine wines & great spirits - all trademarks of Vermont's oldest continually operating inn. Nestled on the green in a picturesque Vermont village,The Dorset Inn has offered traditional New England Hospitality for more than 200 years. 26 uniquely appointed guest rooms & three room luxury suites featuring fireplaces & whirlpool bathrooms. The Wine Spectator awarded restaurant serves dinner nightly. A long time favorite with locals, the Tavern offers microbrew & unique beers, extensive single malt scotch & Irish whiskey list & wide array of cocktails & aperitifs. From the quiet getaway to the outdoor adventure vacation...skiing at Bromley & Stratton, shopping Manchester's designer outlets, hiking & biking on local trails, golfing, kayaking & canoeing, antiquing, perusing museums...all these activities and more are located within minutes of The Dorset Inn. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Booking.com, Agoda and Ctrip TA so you can book your The Dorset Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Dorset Hotel Dorset
The Dorset Inn Vermont

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing