We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Is this Vermont or have we gone to Heaven?”

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Dorset
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Inn at West View Farm
Ranked #6 of 7 Dorset B&B and Inns
Beaverton, Oregon
Level 6 Contributor
246 reviews
193 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 225 helpful votes
“Is this Vermont or have we gone to Heaven?”
Reviewed 17 June 2008

Stayed here for unfortunately only one night, but we loved the inn, the restaurant, the lovely town of Dorset, and the warm owners. Traditional, classic New England inn in every respect. We stayed on one of the hottest, most humid days of the year, and while the upstairs was roasting, our room A/C had been turned in and was a cool oasis. We loved our room with the ultra comfortable king bed, and the grounds of the inn are small but lovely, tree-filled and serene. There's ample common area on the first floor, plus chairs on the front porch and back porch, and a cute, European-style little tavern as well.

Other reviewers are correct -- you MUST - repeat, MUST -- have dinner here, even if you are staying somewhere else. Do go out of your way for dinner--you'll come away as one of the highlights of your trip! It was one of the most incredible meals we ever have had, and we dine out frequently. The owners are a lovely couple, and the husband is a chef. The dining room is very quaint and intimate, and the food is beyond wonderful. Perfect for a romantic dinner for two, or dinner with friends/relatives. Best short ribs I've ever had in my life, as were the scrumptious appetizers. And the breakfast was equally delicious.

The little town of Dorset was quite lovely, just about 3-4 mins down the road. And the inn is maybe 10 minutes from Manchester center/village -- away from the congestion yet very close to all the attractions. If going in summer, be sure to take a dip in the marble quarry down the road a few minutes--refreshing if not quite chilly!

Stay at the Inn at West View Farm -- and certainly have dinner too -- you won't regret it!

  • Liked — Everything
  • Disliked — Nothing, it was all great
  • Stayed June 2008
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank hotelreviewer333
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

33 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    19
    11
    2
    1
    0
See reviews for
3
17
Solo
0
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (5)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Los Angeles
Level 4 Contributor
31 reviews
25 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 93 helpful votes
Reviewed 7 January 2008

On the recommendation of a local friend we went in for dinner. The Inn is located in the village of Dorest very picturesque and charming.
I had one of the most outstanding dinners I have ever had. There is a huge difference in most inns where Mom is in the kitchen trying to feed all the guests and this inn. Everything presented bore the mark of an internationally recognized chef. I would go back to tiny Dorset just to eat at The Inn at West View Farms once again.

  • Stayed January 2008
    • Value
Helpful?
1 Thank Stanleyps
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Lexington, Ma
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 18 October 2007

My friends and I stayed at the inn this past weekend on our annual shopping trip. The Manchester shopping outlets are only 5 minutes away.

The inn was perfect for us. The rooms were clean, relaxing and comfortable. The innkeeper, Christal, is friendly and always around to answer questions and help guests enjoy their visit. We enjoyed two delicious and filling breakfasts in the main dining room.

We ate in the restaurant Saturday night. We come from the Boston area, and I must say the dinner was as good as any I've had at Boston's better restaurants. In fact, it was more memorable than most. I can't stop thinking about the sushi-grade tune springroll appetizer! I almost want to drive back to Dorst, 3 hours, to get another. Amazing! If you've read up on the inn you probably know that the owner/chef, Raymond Chen, trained in some of Manhattan's best restaurants. What a treat to find his talent in Dorset, VT. We can't wait to return next year.

  • Liked — location
  • Disliked — could use a fresh coat of paint inside
  • Stayed October 2007, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Mama5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
A TripAdvisor Member
Reviewed 15 April 2004

Fantastic meal as always.......... never disappoints.

Helpful?
1 Thank A TripAdvisor Member
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
A TripAdvisor Member
Reviewed 15 September 2003

The service and cuisine are excellent. We are so fortunate to have such a wonderful restaurant right in our back yard!

Helpful?
Thank A TripAdvisor Member
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
A TripAdvisor Member
Reviewed 8 July 2003

I stayed at the Inn at West View Farm in Dorset a few weeks ago. The Inn is charming, with lovely comfortable bedrooms and private baths.
It's a great place to go and get away from it all and relax. There is a restaurant on the property which is chef owned. The food is outstanding and we really enjoyed our meal - everything from start to finish was prepared excellently, great inventive touches to the dishes. The meal was the highlight of our trip and we recommend it to anyone who appreciates excellent food and a great wine list. They also serve 'ten little dishes' in the tavern which appeared to get rave reviews. We will be back *********

Helpful?
1 Thank A TripAdvisor Member
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
A TripAdvisor Member
Reviewed 16 April 2002

Had the pleasure of staying and eating dinner here one weekend. Food is superb and the rooms are lovely and cosy. The best nights sleep in a long time, great place.

Helpful?
3 Thank A TripAdvisor Member
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Dorset
4.8 mi away
Manchester View
Manchester View
#2 of 16 in Manchester
621 reviews
6.0 mi away
Kimpton Taconic Hotel
Kimpton Taconic Hotel
#1 of 16 in Manchester
322 reviews
4.7 mi away
Olympia Lodge
Olympia Lodge
#4 of 16 in Manchester
238 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
6.0 mi away
The Reluctant Panther Inn & Restaurant
0.5 mi away
The Dorset Inn
The Dorset Inn
#2 of 7 in Dorset
263 reviews
0.2 mi away
Barrows House
Barrows House
#1 of 7 in Dorset
152 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Inn at West View Farm? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Inn at West View Farm

Property: Inn at West View Farm
Address: 2928 Route 30, Dorset, VT 05251-9633
Region: United States > Vermont > Green Mountains > Dorset
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Restaurant
Hotel Style:
Ranked #6 of 7 B&Bs / Inns in Dorset
Number of rooms: 10
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Recommended Vermont inn. ... more   less 
Also Known As:
Inn At West View Farm Hotel Dorset
Inn At West View Farm Dorset, Vermont

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing