We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“like visiting old friends at their elegant and comfortable home”
5 of 5 bubbles Review of Squire House

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Dorset
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Squire House
Ranked #3 of 7 Dorset B&B and Inns
Santa Fe, New Mexico, United States
Level Contributor
155 reviews
37 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 73 helpful votes
“like visiting old friends at their elegant and comfortable home”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 23 October 2012

Squire House is a tastefully furnished spacious home with warm and welcoming hosts. The grounds are spectacular and well maintained. Breakfast was tasty and graciously served, but not too much to eat. It was far and away the best place we stayed in Vermont.

Room Tip: Choose the room with the fireplace!
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank David P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

111 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    110
    1
    0
    0
    0
See reviews for
15
73
4
5
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (30)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Boston, Massachusetts
Level Contributor
17 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 9 August 2012

idyllic, private, immaculate, great food, lovely grounds and wonderful hosts with warmth and great senses of humor. roger and gay made my recent spontaneous visit entirely comfortable and the creme brulee french toast in the morning was unbelievable!

  • Stayed August 2012, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank landladyone
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Charlotte, NC
Level Contributor
13 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 9 July 2012

I surprised my husband with a trip to Vermont for a "Big Birthday" celebration over Memorial Day weekend. I was so fortunate to find Dorset and Squire House for our getaway! From beginning to end, the experience was perfect. Roger and Gay are wonderful hosts with whom we immediately felt comfortable. The setting is relaxed and peaceful, the house beautifully furnished, the grounds immaculate, the food delicious (I asked for two of their recipes). They graciously arranged to meet my advance requests to have balloons and champagne waiting for us upon our arrival. And Roger shared his "insiders" map of the state and gave us touring tips so we could enjoy the backroads. When you are eager to return at the end of the day to just enjoy the setting and have a glass of wine on the terrace, you know you made the right choice.

Room Tip: All the bedrooms are upstairs. We loved the Sally Cowles room, back side of the house, spacious, co...
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank nctravellers6152
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Monroe Twp.,Nj
Level Contributor
21 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 8 July 2012

All of the superlatives in the previous reviews are true: the house is immaculate, beautifully decorated, and perfectly maintained; the grounds are lush and beautiful; and the Squires are warm, welcoming and extremely helpful (and Roger's dry sense of humor is very entertaining). The breakfasts were delicious. My husband and I are very hard to feed because we each have a variety of dietary restrictions. Roger and Gay cheerfully accommodated us.

In addition to all of that, however, I have my own story of a very special experience. Upon our departure from the Squire House, we mentioned to Gay that we were headed to Williamstown, Mass. to go to a museum and then to a play at the Williamstown Theatre Festival. While sitting in the theater waiting for the performance to begin, Roger appeared and presented me with a bag containing a few items that we had left behind in the room. I was speechless. Roger said, "We thought you might need these things" and quickly disappeared. He had driven over an hour from Dorset to Williamstown and tracked us down to return our belongings! He then had to drive an hour plus back to Dorset. Among the forgotten items were my husband's dress shoes which he really did need over the next couple of days as he otherwise would have been forced to wear sneakers to some very elegant restaurants.

From beginning to end, our stay at the Squire House was truly an exceptional experience.

Room Tip: Every room is lovely - you can't go wrong!
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Judy M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Schenectady NY
Level Contributor
12 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 28 June 2012

We recently spent our 50th anniversary at the Squire House, and it was a really wonderful experience. The house is beautiful and the grounds, a brilliant green, make it a joy to sit and sip coffee either in their comfortable sitting rooms or the beautiful marble patio early in the morning -- but the best part is the feeling of welcome, almost a family-friend feeling, that we got from the hosts, Roger and Gay Squires. They pay attention to all the details, including a "Happy Anniversary" balloon in our room, they made dinner reservations for us at a very good restaurant, Mio Bistro, being sure to set the time early enough for us to get to the Dorset Theater for the night's play -- it was all just perfect. I have been telling friends about this place, and I know we'll go back there.

Room Tip: You can't go wrong.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank TravTwo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Gulfport, Florida
Level Contributor
15 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 23 April 2012

My husband and I, along with two other couples, 'took over' Squire House this past weekend. It is a simply gorgeous, elegant turn-of-the-century home beautifully decorated and maintained in pristine condition by its loving owners, Roger & Gay Squire. There are 3 bedrooms in the main house, each with their own updated baths and lovely views of the gardens and grounds. Breakfast is included and is a sit down feast, served on fine china in the formal dining room...we heartily recommend it to anyone visiting southern Vermont. Easy access to 'downtown' Dorset (!) a picture perfect New England village with two fabulous restaurants where we had dinner: Mio Bistro and The Dorset Inn. Quick ride into Manchester for visitng Hildene or shopping.

Room Tip: All 3 rooms are wonderful...one is a suite with sitting room.
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank SallyWoodstock
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Campton, New Hampshire
Level Contributor
135 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 40 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 29 March 2012

Wonderful time. Roger and Gaye booked us into local events, carted us around, and gave us wonderful suggestions about everything. A very people and a lovely place.

Room Tip: All three are excellent.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2011, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank DeaverB
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Dorset
5.8 mi away
Manchester View
Manchester View
#2 of 16 in Manchester
4.5 of 5 bubbles 560 reviews
6.6 mi away
Kimpton Taconic Hotel
Kimpton Taconic Hotel
#1 of 16 in Manchester
5.0 of 5 bubbles 262 reviews
6.7 mi away
The Reluctant Panther Inn & Restaurant
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.8 mi away
Barrows House
Barrows House
#1 of 7 in Dorset
5.0 of 5 bubbles 143 reviews
0.6 mi away
The Dorset Inn
The Dorset Inn
#2 of 7 in Dorset
4.5 of 5 bubbles 257 reviews
6.1 mi away
Palmer House
Palmer House
#6 of 16 in Manchester
4.5 of 5 bubbles 302 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Squire House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Squire House

Property: Squire House
Address: 3395 Dorset West Road, Dorset, VT 05251
Region: United States > Vermont > Green Mountains > Dorset
Amenities:
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 7 B&Bs / Inns in Dorset
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Number of rooms: 3
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Elegant but informal, built in 1918 and carefully restored, Squire House is a luxurious B&B on eleven private acres in a classic Vermont village. With only three guest rooms, Squire House is never crowded or commercial. Each guest room has a modern private bathroom, nine-foot ceilings, large windows and central air conditioning. There are five wood-burning fireplaces. Full three-course breakfasts are served on English china in our paneled dining room. ... more   less 
Also Known As:
Squire House Dorset, Vermont

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing