We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Wonderful food excellent service”

The Dorset Inn Restaurant
Reserve with OpenTable
The Dorset Inn Restaurant is not available for your requested time. Choose another time, or search restaurants with availability.
The time you selected has already passed.
Ranked #1 of 5 Restaurants in Dorset
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: US$30 - US$30
Cuisines: American
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Special Occasion Dining, Local cuisine, Groups, Romantic, Business meetings, Child-friendly
Dining options: Brunch, Dinner, Lunch, Accepts American Express, Accepts Discover, Accepts Mastercard, Accepts Visa, Free Off-Street Parking, Free Wifi, Full Bar, Highchairs Available, Outdoor Seating, Parking Available, Private Dining, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Street Parking, Waitstaff, Wheelchair Accessible, Wine and Beer
Dining style: Casual Dining
Description: The Dorset Inn...always a treat! All of us here love food and enjoy sharing that with you. The warm and welcoming ambiance of the historic red dining room and cozy New England tavern allows guests to relax and enjoy the food, the wine and the friendly hospitality. As a member of Vermont Fresh Network, we support as many local farms and businesses as possible. Our cuisine is an uncomplicated, bistro-style that demonstrates classic culinary techniques and traditions with regional influences and reflects the freshest ingredients available. To showcase Vermont's four unique seasons, the menu changes frequently.
Mendon, Vermont, United States
Level Contributor
78 reviews
63 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
“Wonderful food excellent service”
Reviewed 19 July 2014

We decided to have a special dinner and chose The Dorset Inn. Really all that we hoped for, super food friendly and efficient service and a selection do beverages that is truly incredible, great wine list ,a selection of single malt scotch that I challenge anyone worldwide to match all topped off by deserts that were awsome. If you enjoy great food and hospitality you have to experience The Dorset Inn.

  • Visited July 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Charlie R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

200 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    132
    49
    10
    4
    5
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Portuguese first
  • Any
English first
scarsdale, ny
Level Contributor
141 reviews
69 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 83 helpful votes
“Ye Olde Tavern Experience”
Reviewed 9 July 2014

It's a solid standby that delivers good food in a fairly stifling environment. The value is good if not outstanding though (like most of the places up here) the real action seems to take place in the tavern where the locals hang. Good mussels, interesting (and typically overpriced) wine list.

Visited July 2014
Helpful?
Thank rangersfans
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Brooklyn, New York
Level Contributor
313 reviews
236 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 108 helpful votes
“Lovely dinner”
Reviewed 2 July 2014

We had a great dinner at the Dorset Inn. The dining room is filled with antiques and fresh flowers, really lovely. The menu has something for everyone, ranging from seafood to fried chicken to a few more casual choices like lobster roll and black bean burger. There is also a large wine list and a menu of specialty cocktails. My main course - fried chicken, was served with mashed potatoes, kale, and mixed vegetables - a heaping-full plate of tastiness. My dining companion enjoyed the lobster roll, which was filed with large hunks of meat. We had no room for dessert, which was regrettable because the dessert menu looked excellent! This is a place for relaxed dining. We arrived at 6:15 and left just in time for the 8 pm curtain call at the Dorset Playhouse, so plan accordingly!

  • Visited July 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Bookistan5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
New Yorker
Level Contributor
13 reviews
5 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
“Very homey”
Reviewed 1 July 2014

We were there in the fall and the first thing we noticed was the wonderful scent from a pumpkin candle. We even bought one. The atmosphere is very warm and cosy. The food was delicious and the prices fairly reasonable. I would definitely recommend this restaurant.

  • Visited October 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank sincereNewYorker
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
2 reviews
“For complimentary breakfast for staying at the Barrow's house”
Reviewed 30 June 2014 via mobile

As part of my package a complimentary breakfast was provided at the Dorset inn which was a short walk away from the barrows house inn. The food was delicious and appeared lovingly prepared. Like my granny was in the kitchen. Homemade sausage patties topped off my meal of French toast. The ambience was very country inn meets city chic. Service was impeccable and I was treated like a paying customer.

  • Visited April 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Persuasion B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed The Dorset Inn Restaurant also viewed

Manchester, Green Mountains
 
Manchester, Green Mountains
 

Been to The Dorset Inn Restaurant? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing