We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“A Piece of Heaven on Earth” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Inn at Mountain View Farm

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in East Burke
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Inn at Mountain View Farm
Ranked #5 of 5 East Burke B&B and Inns
new york
Level Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
“A Piece of Heaven on Earth”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 5 November 2012

If you want to literally "get away from it all" this is the place to go. Cait & the rest of the staff make you feel like your part of the family. A very warm & welcoming place. The views are amazing no matter where you are on the farm. Rooms are beatutfully decorated and clean. The wedding we attended there was one of the best & original I have ever been to to. The breakfasts were out of this world.It was very hard to leave this Little Piece of Heaven on Earth!! We will return next year.

  • Stayed October 2012, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
4 Thank tweetygirlnewyork
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

59 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    48
    4
    3
    0
    4
See reviews for
15
31
1
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (8)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Any
English first
Berlin, Vermont
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 5 November 2012

Mike and I had our beautiful wedding on the grounds of the Inn and we were able to have our family and closest friends stay with us on site. Despite the gray and sometimes rainy weather that weekend, we had a spectacular stay. Cait, the wedding coordinator of the Inn, effortlessly made everyone feel welcomed and a part of our day. From the rehersal dinner on the front patio, to the fires with smores afterhours, to the ceremony and the reception, the Inn provided something truly special and unmatched by other venues. The personal touches, and the fact that it is still a working farm made a huge difference. We were also able to mountain bike the Kingdom Trails each day, which is one of our favorite network of trails. A huge thank you to Cait, who made it all come together, the cat we have doubed "paco" for welcoming and entertaining our guests, Emma the donkey for making us smile, the chef of the delicious breakfasts, and the beautifully kept grounds with sweeping views of pristine landscape. Some of our guests have already said they will be going back, and so will we!!!! If you are looking for a relaxing stay and experiencing a slice of heaven, the Inn at Mountain View Farm is the place!

  • Stayed October 2012, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank 242SarahRichardson
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Baltimore, Maryland
Level Contributor
657 reviews
192 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 259 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 24 October 2012

It's hard to overstate how sweeping and beautiful the views are from Mountain View farm -- it's a great spot for leaf peeping in the fall. The farm itself adds to the scenery, with multiple buildings adding to a classic landscape. We stayed in the Creamery, which houses the breakfast room and common area on the first floor. Our room (Westmore) was spacious, nicely appointed, and included a couch as well as a bed; while the bathroom was large, it contained a very small shower. Breakfast was a little disappointing. The choices were fine, but the hot food was not well prepared. Cold, wet weather prevented us from using the web of trails around the farm, but in better weather they would have been very appealing.

Room Tip: If you're staying in the Creamery, choose a corner room: they have more windows and more space.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, travelled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Wanderlust777
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Greenlawn, New York
Level Contributor
6 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 30 September 2012

This was our second time staying at the inn. It is a beautiful, gracious place, homey, comfortable and classy.
Being there for foliage was exceptional!
Cait at the front desk was very personable and helpful.
Thank you for a tasty breakfast Sylvie.
VIEWS!

  • Stayed September 2012, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Richard P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Salem, New Hampshire
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 22 August 2012

The purpose of our trip was to MTB on the Kingdom trails (amazing I might add) and this location has direct access to many of the trails which is what brought me to the Inn; I really did not focus as much on the place itself. What we found, however,was a truly beautiful and relaxing spot. The views from the property are amazing. The staff was wonderful and the home cooked breakfasts are just the way to start the day with several choices available and cooked to order. Each morning after breakfast we walked the property enjoying the gardens, animals and historic structures. The rooms, simple, clean and comfortable; all we needed for a good night’s rest after a day of cycling. Evenings, post dinner, were spent by the fire pit, gazing at the stars. It really was a slice of heaven and one of the most memorable weekends we have had. Thanks to Kate, Sylvie and Mike for everything you did to make our stay a great one.

  • Stayed August 2012, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank luv2cycle98
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bayport, New York
Level Contributor
35 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 16 August 2012

The Inn at Mountain View Farm is in a stunning location in the Northeast Kingdom of Vermont. The grounds are beautiful with georgeous gardens everywhere. Our suite "Danville" was lovely and spotless. All staff were so friendly and accomodating. On our first night a bonfire was prepared for just ourselves and the one other couple staying as well.
The breakfast were scrumptous and served with a smile and friendly conversation. We even enjoyed the company of a cat greeting us each day on the porch of the farmhouse. My suggestion to the owners would be to update their website because the current information on the Animal Sanctuary is not accurate. There are far fewer animals and you are not allowed to interact with them. This is definitly not for families with children (not much for kids) as their focus seems to be more on weddings and catering events.
I would also mention that the mattress was wrapped in a plastic cover that was then covered with another plastic mattress pad. Unless you are in your later stages of pregnancy and afraid your water will break, I can't imagine the need for something so hot and uncomfortable to be on a bed. My husband and I removed it or we would have never been able to sleep on the bed.

Room Tip: The Danville and Peacham suite are tastfully appointed.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2012, travelled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank LizzyB14
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Vermont, USA
Level Contributor
31 reviews
22 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 28 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 25 July 2012

My husband and I spent two nights here last week to celebrate our anniversary and to do some biking on the Kingdom Trails. They have a mid-week bike special that is a very good value. You can bike right from the inn. Being mid-week, we had the place to ourselves one of the nights. The views are beautiful and the property itself is gorgeous. The rooms are nice, but we hardly spent any time in ours. The staff was really friendly and helpful. Special thanks to Michael for bike route advice and a shuttle to a trailhead! I'd stay here again in a heartbeat.

Room Tip: If you want a view from your room, try to stay in the farmhouse. The Creamery rooms, while very nice...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2012, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank laurensvt
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near East Burke
13.4 mi away
Comfort Inn & Suites Near Burke Mountain
21.1 mi away
Hampton Inn Littleton
Hampton Inn Littleton
#1 of 5 in Littleton
4.5 of 5 bubbles 712 reviews
1.0 mi away
The WilloBurke Inn and Lodge
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.3 mi away
Wildflower Inn
Wildflower Inn
#1 of 5 in Lyndonville
4.5 of 5 bubbles 158 reviews
16.5 mi away
Rabbit Hill Inn
Rabbit Hill Inn
#1 of 4 in Saint Johnsbury
5.0 of 5 bubbles 1,216 reviews
12.4 mi away
Fairbanks Inn
Fairbanks Inn
#2 of 2 in Saint Johnsbury
4.0 of 5 bubbles 210 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Inn at Mountain View Farm? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Inn at Mountain View Farm

Property: Inn at Mountain View Farm
Address: 3383 Darling Hill Rd., East Burke, VT 05832
Phone Number:
Region: United States > Vermont > Northeast Kingdom > East Burke
Amenities:
Free Parking Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly )
Hotel Style:
Ranked #5 of 5 B&Bs / Inns in East Burke
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Number of rooms: 14
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
An historic 440 acre farm estate with miles of scenic trails that are at the heart of Kingdom Trails, one of America's premier mountain biking venues. ... more   less 
Also Known As:
Inn At Mountain View Farm East Burke, Vermont

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing