We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great Food!”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
The Essex, Vermont's Culinary Resort & Spa
Ranked #1 of 2 Hotels in Essex
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersSilver level
rhode island, USA
Level 5 Contributor
38 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 33 helpful votes
“Great Food!”
Reviewed 5 June 2011

We recently stayed there with a deal we got from TravelZoo. Beautiful Inn, very clean, friendly and knowledgeable staff, beautiful pools and rooms. The best part was the food. Think about french toast stuffed with cranberries and marscapone cheese, just for an example. There is not enough room to write about all the food, but it was all good. We would definately return.

  • Stayed June 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank freeneasy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,383 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    634
    402
    177
    112
    58
See reviews for
278
744
37
92
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (279)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Any
English first
Lake George, NY
Level 4 Contributor
28 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
Reviewed 2 June 2011

Several months ago my mid 20's son asked me to suggest a nice place to bring his girlfriend for the weekend. Having been to the Essex, I felt confident in my recommendation.
Several days before the trip he was forced to cancel. He was told he could not receive any refund whatsoever, and was offered a limited time to reuse a room credit.
This week, feeling bad that he had laid out this money and not been able to get off work to use his credit, I offered to pay him for it, and use it myself.
When he called early this week to make the arangement, he was told the credit had already expired, and there was nothing they could do.
Not you need to pay a extra fee, or additional abount because of the time of week or month of the year, but it was too late, and they could not help him.
Since he is not the kind of person to question hotel policy or even try to get a partial credit, he hung up.
I once again decided to try and help him out, with not one, but two attempts to get the email address of the hotel manager.
The response has been zero.
The moral of the review is this.. The entire process would never have taken place if not for my recommendation he stay at this hotel.
Now, because this hotel saw fit to take my sons money without some type of partial or reasonable cancellation accommodation, they not only will not receive another recommendation from myself, but they have now have someone who will not recommend the Essex Inn, and he never even got to stay there.....

  • Stayed February 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
Helpful?
6 Thank KandNLakeGeorge_NY
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
JGVT, General Manager at The Essex, Vermont's Culinary Resort & Spa, responded to this review, 3 June 2011
Dear KandNLake ,
I am terribly sorry to read your review and can assure you that I, nor any of my staff, unfortunately ever received any request to extend your son’s voucher.
Even though your son’s voucher has expired, we do offer extensions beyond the guaranteed travel dates and only require a small additional nightly fee. It would be my pleasure to assist you with this, and I can be reached directly at jimg@VTCulinaryResort.com. I apologize for any miscommunication that may have occurred.
We look forward to having you or your son with us!
Warm regards,
Jim Glanville
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
montreal
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed 31 May 2011

Positives:
The staff are excellent. When called they respond immediately and provide excellent service with a smile. The hotel is located in a beautiful setting and the amenities are top notch including a gorgeous indoor pool, outdoor pool, hot tub and nearby professional level golf course designed by Jack Nicholas, which guests are permitted to play even though it's a private course. We stayed in room 352 and it was huge with everything one could want for a short or long stay.
Negatives:
Not enough attention to detail in cleaning - shower has lots of black mold around the brass frame of the two glass panels and in the door frame. We ran out of toilet paper in the middle of the night (negative); although the staff responded within minutes with replacement supplies (positive). The lighting could use additional wattage especially above the dining table and in the foyer of the suite. We booked our stay through Travel zoo and were happy with how everything was handled and the value we received..

  • Stayed May 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank poie44
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level 3 Contributor
15 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
Reviewed 31 May 2011

Great culinary place, food is great at the restaurant. And if you like golf, you should definitely try the facing course.

Staff is pretty friendly and quite helpful. The pool, jacuzzi are sooo awesome! I didn't try the spa but it was appealing! The gym is good too. Alround sweet.

I wasn't impressed by the nearby shopping though.

  • Stayed April 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Moryl P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Albany, New York
1 review
Reviewed 26 May 2011

Cooking class with Kerri was extraordinary..Hands on experience in great teaching kitchen...Room (106) excellent...Spa well set up and massage very good...

  • Stayed May 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank hubcap35
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Montreal
Level 5 Contributor
61 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 30 helpful votes
Reviewed 25 May 2011

We had bought a Travelzoo voucher and stayed over on sunday and monday night. Reading some of the negative reviews we were not too sure about what to expect but were very pleasantly surprised. The grounds, pool, room are all very lovely and clean. Did not use the spa facilities but walked through it and it smelt heavenly. Had dinner at the Tavern restaurant. Mitch our waiter explained everything and we had plenty of choices and it was all delicious. Lucas at the bar was also very friendly. The next day we ate dinner at the Chef's Table with chef Kerri Bouffard. This was a lovely experience. It does end up being a bit expensive but definitely worth it and we were glad we decided to do that instead of going out for dinner someplace else. There was a group of 7 people and everyone seemed to love the food and wine. I would love to go back there in the fall when the colors are changing. I hope Travelzoo can repeat the same offer soon. We would definitely take advantage of it again.

  • Stayed May 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Vahishta
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Singapore, Singapore
Level 4 Contributor
36 reviews
29 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 29 helpful votes
Reviewed 23 May 2011

We went for a weekend stay and loved it! The room we got was SUPER. It was clean, smells fresh and waking up to the chirping birds were great for us city dwellers. We took a culinary class and thoroughly enjoyed it. We were given our own aprons and we could sit with the other "students" and sample our creations. The staff there were very friendly and warm. The outlet mall/ cinema was also very close by. We would definitely return again in the fall and stay for a few more days.

  • Stayed May 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Sabsters
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Essex
5.8 mi away
Green Mountain Suites Hotel
Green Mountain Suites Hotel
#2 of 12 in South Burlington
661 reviews
14.8 mi away
Stowe Mountain Lodge
5.7 mi away
Sheraton Burlington Hotel
Sheraton Burlington Hotel
#4 of 8 in Burlington
636 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
7.0 mi away
Hotel Vermont
Hotel Vermont
#1 of 8 in Burlington
737 reviews
7.1 mi away
Hilton Burlington
Hilton Burlington
#5 of 8 in Burlington
1,537 reviews
7.1 mi away
Courtyard Burlington Harbor
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Essex, Vermont's Culinary Resort & Spa? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Essex, Vermont's Culinary Resort & Spa

Property: The Essex, Vermont's Culinary Resort & Spa
Address: 70 Essex Way, Essex, VT 05452-3383
Phone Number:
Region: United States > Vermont > Essex
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 2 Hotels in Essex
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:4 star — The Essex, Vermont's Culinary Resort & Spa 4*
Number of rooms: 120
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Nestled on 18 acres between the vistas of the Green Mountains and the splendor of Lake Champlain, The Essex is Vermont's Culinary Resort & Spa. The Essex is a true destination, offering a full-service Spa and Fitness Center, cooking classes in the J.K. Adams and Chef's Kitchens of Cook Academy, and our two award-winning restaurants-- all of which perfectly complement our classic accommodations.The Essex is the premier choice for your next group event and is the perfect Vermont wedding destination for dozens of happy couples tying the knot each year. From our own Vermont Tennis Vacations to our wine list, ranked among the best in the world, The Essex offers you an experience unlike any other resort in New England. ...a true Recipe for Relaxation. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Priceline, Booking.com, Expedia, Odigeo, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, 5viajes2012 S.L., Evoline ltd, HotelQuickly and Cancelon so you can book your The Essex, Vermont's Culinary Resort & Spa reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Essex, Vermont`s Culinary Resort And Spa
The Essex, Vermont`s Culinary Hotel Essex
Essex Vermonts Culinary Junction
Essex Vermonts Culinary Hotel
Inn Essex
The Essex, Vermont's Culinary Resort & Spa

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing