We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Really enjoyed our stay except for one thing.”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
The Essex, Vermont's Culinary Resort & Spa
Ranked #1 of 2 Hotels in Essex
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersSilver level
Gatineau, Canada
Level Contributor
7 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Really enjoyed our stay except for one thing.”
Reviewed 29 July 2011

Beautiful setting, gardens, pool(s) and hot tub and delicious 'American' food by which I mean, as a Canadian, huge portions and items not seen on menus in the Ottawa-Gatineau area. I love to eat and this is the place. The staff was so very friendly and helpful. Couldn't shut off the air conditioning in first room and immediate attempt to solve problem which didn't work so a room transfer was done right away. We were on a TravelZoo very affordable package and so I should not mention this but I will. Our room was in the older section which I requested and had we been paying full price I would have been sorely disappointed. The room was comfortable but very tired furnishings; that fake pine look from the 70's. But the use of wall colour was imaginative and the linens were excellent. We hope to return in the fall to enjoy Vermont's incredible scenery and the friendly people.

  • Stayed May 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank GatineauQuincy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,362 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    627
    396
    171
    112
    56
See reviews for
268
735
37
91
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (274)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Any
English first
New Hampshire
Level Contributor
9 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed 28 July 2011

I booked a spa weekend for myself to enjoy before starting back to work and the Essex Resort gave me exactly what I was looking for. Check-in was a very pleasant experience as I was treated to lemonade and freshly baked cookies as well as a mini box of decadant chocolates. I was welcomed warmly and felt like a "VIP." There is an olympic sized indoor swimming pool and lovely ladies changing area. There is a hot tub outside which can be enjoyed at night "under the stars." On Saturday evening, guests were treated to smores around a roaring fire that was also a special treat for young and old alike. When you schedule a massage, you can spend the day in their lounge relaxing and reading. There is also a steamroom with eucalyptus aromatherapy. I didn't leave the resort as I had all my meals in the restaurant on-site. Although the resort was only two hours from my home, I came home feeling like a new person-relaxed, rejuvenated, and with many, many pleasant memories of a wonderful stay. I would recommend the Essex Culinary Resort and Spa enthusiastically and am looking forward to a return visit. The resort also offers cooking classes that is an added plus. I think the resort is perfect for couples, families, and also for solo travelers.

  • Stayed August 2010, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank jeaninnh
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Exeter, New Hampshire
Level Contributor
38 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
Reviewed 28 July 2011

I stayed at The Essex about 15 years ago for a cooking class and had a great experience, so I was delighted to return for a two night stay with my husband. I found the hotel to be in very good condition and we were upgraded to a suite with a full kitchen, eating area, living room area and separate bedroom with a very comfortable king sized bed and nice linens. I read some of the reviews tonight upon our return and was very surprised at the negative comments, we experienced none of the issues raised in the reviews.
We enjoyed dinner at the Chef's Table with Executive Chef Kerri. A great meal, well prepared. The grounds are lovely with a nice outdoor pool in addition to the indoor pool located at the fitness center and Spa. The fitness center is compact, but very well equipped so I don't understand the negative comment about it being a "closet". We did not book any treatments at the Spa, so I cannot review it, but it looked very nice. I also can't comment on any of restaurants since our stay was brief and after our wonderful dinner at the Chef's Table, we opted for a light meal the next evening.
I think this hotel is great value for the cost. It is family and pet friendly, yet quiet. Don't be put off by the negative comments. Give this a chance for a brief stay. My sister was there for a week and loved it.

Room Tip: Look for value offers on travel sites.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Runner03833
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Pembroke, Massachusetts
Level Contributor
254 reviews
44 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 85 helpful votes
Reviewed 28 July 2011

Lovely property. pet friendly. Clay tennis ,pools, trails and delicious cooking class.
Undergoing some renovations so it will be even lovelier in the near future.
We didnt get a chance to sample the spa but it looked and smelled great.

  • Stayed July 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank caryn1958
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Toronto, Canada
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 27 July 2011

Here are my comments about The Essex, Vermont's Culinary Resort and Spa
Essex Junction, Vermont where we stayed from Jul 20, 2011 to Jul 22, 2011.

We have used Hotwire several times and have always been pleased with our accomodations however, this time we were most unhappy. The room was perhaps at a 2 star level and far from 4 stars. The following are the reasons why this was not a 4 star room:
- an air conditioner unit in the window
- cardboard placed on the sides of the AC unit and a towel underneath it
- musty smelling elevators
- dirty bedspread
- some mold in the bathroom
- stains on the chair at the desk in the room
- the springs in the other two chairs were finished.
- no menus regarding the restaurants. Upon check out, we found out that the restaurants were just about to re-open.
- checking in, we were given coupons to the outlet stores in the area...this is not something a 4 star hotel would do
- extremely dated decor including an old TV and not a flat screen
- pleasant staff

I am now wondering what we will experience the next time we use Hotwire.

  • Stayed July 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank teresabt
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ottawa, Canada
1 review
Reviewed 26 July 2011

I can definitely recommend The Essex (http://www.vtculinaryresort.com/) for a high-end short-stay trip such as is needed for a honeymoon. The Chef's Table dinner at which you get to see your dinner prepared and served by Chef Kerri Bouffard or one of her team is especially good. Mind you, we had a Groupon coupon for 2 nights, 3 days + 2 Swedish massages) and that was excellent value. Got me gold points for a romantic vacation and that's priceless.

  • Stayed July 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank JAC944
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Westfield, NJ
Level Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 24 July 2011

We booked a midweek special thruough Travelzoo, which was a very good value.
The first room we were given in the main building had a noisy ac unit, they immedialryly switched us to an efficiciency in the Manor building which was even nicer and alot more convenient. If you travel to The Essex you must be tolerant of the smell of food which seems to waft through the buildings, but not into the individual rooms. The rooms were very clean, good bed, oldish TV (didnt go there to watch). Nice pools and workout area overall the place is lovely. We had a great meal at The Tavern restaurant which was part of our booking packaage, absolutely delicious one of the best meals we had on our trip.
Everyone who worked there was sooo nice and helpful. I left my make-up bag in our bathroom when we left, it arrived 3 days later at my home in perfect condition. Its all good i am so pleased with our overall experience.

  • Stayed July 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank ArchitectmomNJ
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Essex
5.8 mi away
Green Mountain Suites Hotel
Green Mountain Suites Hotel
#2 of 12 in South Burlington
4.5 of 5 bubbles 644 reviews
14.8 mi away
Stowe Mountain Lodge
5.7 mi away
Sheraton Burlington Hotel
Sheraton Burlington Hotel
#4 of 8 in Burlington
4.0 of 5 bubbles 584 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
7.0 mi away
Hotel Vermont
Hotel Vermont
#1 of 8 in Burlington
4.5 of 5 bubbles 715 reviews
7.1 mi away
Hilton Burlington
Hilton Burlington
#5 of 8 in Burlington
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,471 reviews
5.4 mi away
Best Western Plus Windjammer Inn & Conference Center
Best Western Plus Windjammer Inn...
#3 of 12 in South Burlington
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,275 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Essex, Vermont's Culinary Resort & Spa? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Essex, Vermont's Culinary Resort & Spa

Property: The Essex, Vermont's Culinary Resort & Spa
Address: 70 Essex Way, Essex, VT 05452-3383
Phone Number:
Region: United States > Vermont > Essex
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 2 Hotels in Essex
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:4 star — The Essex, Vermont's Culinary Resort & Spa 4*
Number of rooms: 120
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Nestled on 18 acres between the vistas of the Green Mountains and the splendor of Lake Champlain, The Essex is Vermont's Culinary Resort & Spa. The Essex is a true destination, offering a full-service Spa and Fitness Center, cooking classes in the J.K. Adams and Chef's Kitchens of Cook Academy, and our two award-winning restaurants-- all of which perfectly complement our classic accommodations.The Essex is the premier choice for your next group event and is the perfect Vermont wedding destination for dozens of happy couples tying the knot each year. From our own Vermont Tennis Vacations to our wine list, ranked among the best in the world, The Essex offers you an experience unlike any other resort in New England. ...a true Recipe for Relaxation. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Expedia, Priceline, Booking.com, TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U., Cancelon, Evoline ltd, Hotel.de and HotelQuickly so you can book your The Essex, Vermont's Culinary Resort & Spa reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Essex, Vermont`s Culinary Resort And Spa
The Essex, Vermont`s Culinary Hotel Essex
Essex Vermonts Culinary Junction
Essex Vermonts Culinary Hotel
Inn Essex
The Essex, Vermont's Culinary Resort & Spa

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing