We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“nice place to relax” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of The Essex, Vermont's Culinary Resort & Spa

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
The Essex, Vermont's Culinary Resort & Spa
Ranked #1 of 2 Hotels in Essex
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersSilver level
Montreal, Canada
Level Contributor
38 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
“nice place to relax”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 2 June 2012

If you are in the neighborhood the Essex is a great place to stay. Beautiful views and great food. there are outlet stores within walking distance plus a movie theater. In that mall you will also find a whole in the wall Thai restaurant with amazing fresh food. Been to the Essex for several years and it never disappoints.

  • Stayed May 2012, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank chefantoine
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,349 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    620
    392
    170
    111
    56
See reviews for
264
730
35
90
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (269)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Any
English first
New Haven, Connecticut
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 2 June 2012

We couldn't resist the Travelzoo deal, but we definitely would have paid more for the experience we had. The staff were friendly and helpful, and the spa and pool were wonderful. We brought our dog (toy poodle) with us and found two treats waiting in our room. I can't say enough about the Chef's Table at Amuse - we were the only ones there and it was a surreal experience. We were treated to a beyond delicious nine-course meal, and Chef Cameron described every step. We will definitely be going back!

  • Stayed June 2012, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Ted S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Succasunna, New Jersey, USA
Level Contributor
24 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 1 June 2012

This resort if absolutely wonderful. The cooking classes were great fun and the food is fabulous. All of the food is fresh and homemade. We took three cooking classes, and each one was delightful. The food that we cooked and then ate was like eating in a fine dining restaurant. The Tavern food was great too. The first night we arrived we ate in the Tavern and had Pork Chops. They were terrific. Breakfast each morning was also wonderful. Lots of different and unique dishes to choose from. All good. The Chefs Table was just OK. Not that the food was not good or the experience fun, we just didn't like what was served the night we went. Despite that, I would still recommend it for the experience. I found this gem by watching Wheel of Fortune. It was a prize puzzle so I though how bad could it be. I looked it up and booked it by calling the resort directly. Worth the trip. I was so glad that I was watching TV that night. Great choice. Book the cooking classes early. Have fun and enjoy.

Room Tip: We had a corner suite. It had two queen size beds and a living room with fireplace. We were on the s...
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2012, travelled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Judith G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
boston
Level Contributor
61 reviews
38 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 46 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 31 May 2012

Stayed here again with my mom (last stayed in October 2011), as there was another irresistible deal on Travelzoo. We love proximity to Burlington so decided to try it again. We had a room in the main house this time and it was much better. The furnishings were better quality and the roman shades were lovely. Loved the room hues (lavender) and the beds were super comfortable. Excellent water pressure in the shower. Plenty of room with a small sitting area with two wing chairs and a table. The flat screen TV was nice too.

Ate at the Amuse Restaurant which was much better than our previous visit at the Tavern. The food was outstanding, service excellent. The gardens were in bloom and the landscaping is beautiful.

We used the fitness center, very nice, love the TV/Ipod plug ins in the bikes/treadmills. One of these times we will use the spa, blikes, etc, but we really love going into Burlington, so spend most of our time there when at the Essex. We like the drive, and stopping at Sneakers in Winooski for breakfast! The Essex is a good base.

  • Stayed May 2012, travelled with friends
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank vacationerBoston
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Lake Worth, FL
Level Contributor
102 reviews
37 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 84 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 29 May 2012

Spent a pleasant four days at the Essex for a girls trip. The room was large but the bathroom was very small with absolutely no counter space. There were a few, small disappointing things about this hotel. First, every morning, the main lobby was vacuumed at 9am. This was when my friends and I met for coffee and every morning we were apolgozied to while the carpets were vacuumed. The pool was shut down, the spa looked semi-green and the steam room (or sauna) was also shut down. We received a credit for the inconveneince but it was still disappointing. While we were there, we did a cooking class. It was a lot of fun and the chef was very knowledgeable. The premises is probably very pretty in the summer.

  • Stayed April 2012, travelled with friends
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Fivez
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Genoa, Italy
Level Contributor
17 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 21 May 2012

Paid for a classic rooms for 2 nights in march 2012 from our travel agency, and being charged for a second time at the check in, for 820 $, as we had nothing paid before !!!

take care of the receptionists the don.t know the difference between a prepaid vuocher and a simple reservation!

to apoligize after my complaints they gave us a coupon for an acces for 2 at the SPA.
BUT: they even didn.t know that the SPA was comprehensive in the cost of our room. ( exept for the steam bath..... not usual with 91 temperature outside )

culinary resort ....no thank You!

  • Stayed May 2012, travelled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Federico B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
JGVT, General Manager at The Essex, Vermont's Culinary Resort & Spa, responded to this review, 23 May 2012
Dear Frederico B,
It is unfortunate that we were obviously not able to clearly communicate the difference between a credit card “authorization” and an actual “charge” while you were here. Despite the extended conversation we had at the front desk, it is apparent that you have left with the wrong impression as the things were clearly ‘lost in translation’.
To reiterate, an authorization for $820 was run on your credit card in the event you were to have incidental charges while staying here at the resort. This is merely an authorization and not a charge. This hold (as we mentioned upon your departure) has since been released from your credit card…and you were never double charged!
Had you checked with your bank before writing this review, I am certain you would have a clearer understanding (and a different impression). Again, I apologize for not being able to provide clear translation of the situation.
Jim Glanville
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Lynn, Massachusetts
Level Contributor
8 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 21 May 2012

My husband and I spent a peaceful romantic weekend at the Essex. The service was impecible. We had the pleasure of joining Chef Ben at the Chef's Table at Amuse for the most incredible meal we have ever eaten. I would highly recommend partaking in the Chef's Table. We enjoyed wandering around the beautifully landscaped grounds and a leisurely rock in one of the hammocks located around the property. It's a wonderful relaxing getaway for your body and soul!

  • Stayed May 2012, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank nancy d
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Essex
5.8 mi away
Green Mountain Suites Hotel
Green Mountain Suites Hotel
#2 of 13 in South Burlington
4.5 of 5 bubbles 633 reviews
14.8 mi away
Stowe Mountain Lodge
5.7 mi away
Sheraton Burlington Hotel
Sheraton Burlington Hotel
#4 of 9 in Burlington
4.0 of 5 bubbles 563 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
16.6 mi away
Trapp Family Lodge
Trapp Family Lodge
#4 of 24 in Stowe
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,225 reviews
7.0 mi away
Hotel Vermont
Hotel Vermont
#1 of 9 in Burlington
4.5 of 5 bubbles 701 reviews
7.1 mi away
Hilton Burlington
Hilton Burlington
#5 of 9 in Burlington
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,413 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Essex, Vermont's Culinary Resort & Spa? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Essex, Vermont's Culinary Resort & Spa

Property: The Essex, Vermont's Culinary Resort & Spa
Address: 70 Essex Way, Essex, VT 05452-3383
Phone Number:
Region: United States > Vermont > Essex
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 2 Hotels in Essex
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:4 star — The Essex, Vermont's Culinary Resort & Spa 4*
Number of rooms: 120
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Nestled on 18 acres between the vistas of the Green Mountains and the splendor of Lake Champlain, The Essex is Vermont's Culinary Resort & Spa. The Essex is a true destination, offering a full-service Spa and Fitness Center, cooking classes in the J.K. Adams and Chef's Kitchens of Cook Academy, and our two award-winning restaurants-- all of which perfectly complement our classic accommodations.The Essex is the premier choice for your next group event and is the perfect Vermont wedding destination for dozens of happy couples tying the knot each year. From our own Vermont Tennis Vacations to our wine list, ranked among the best in the world, The Essex offers you an experience unlike any other resort in New England. ...a true Recipe for Relaxation. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com and Odigeo so you can book your The Essex, Vermont's Culinary Resort & Spa reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Essex, Vermont`s Culinary Resort And Spa
The Essex, Vermont`s Culinary Hotel Essex
Essex Vermonts Culinary Junction
Essex Vermonts Culinary Hotel
Inn Essex
The Essex, Vermont's Culinary Resort & Spa

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing