We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“outstanding resort in beautiful location”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
The Essex, Vermont's Culinary Resort & Spa
Ranked #1 of 2 Hotels in Essex
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersSilver level
ontario
Level Contributor
8 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“outstanding resort in beautiful location”
Reviewed 1 November 2013

Lovely spot in Vermont with very comfortable rooms, outstanding food, and wonderful services.
Spent 3 nights here and enjoyed the meals, exercise, and pool facilities.
Can not think of anything but superlatives

Would come back without hesitation

  • Stayed October 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank ontariosnowbird60
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
EssexResort-VT, Manager at The Essex, Vermont's Culinary Resort & Spa, responded to this review, 2 November 2013
Thank you for choosing to stay with us and for sharing your experience.

See you again soon.

Naz Jenulevich
Director of Resort Operations
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,361 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    627
    395
    171
    112
    56
See reviews for
267
735
37
91
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (274)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Any
English first
Harwich, Massachusetts
Level Contributor
110 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 42 helpful votes
Reviewed 30 October 2013 via mobile

Everyone at this resort is extremely helpful, terrific service, very welcoming. Since it is a culinary school, the food is really amazing - great variety, great presentation... You can score sample goodies in the bakery during the day, the Spa is beautiful, especially love the outdoor hot tub... and the resort is easy to get to, off I-89 just outside of Burlington, VT.

I brought 13 other women with me, we had a terrific time. Lots of neat little wineries in the general area, plus Cabot cheese, Ben & Jerry's ice cream and VT Teddy Bears.

Lovely!

  • Stayed October 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Deb L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
EssexResort-VT, Manager at The Essex, Vermont's Culinary Resort & Spa, responded to this review, 31 October 2013
Dear Deb L,

I agree, Vermot in the Fall is wonderful and leads us into the magical winter season. Imagine all of those trees covered in snow. Your compliments regarding the friendly, courteous hospitality you received are much appreciated. Our team of culinary artists is led by Certified Master Chef, Arnd Sievers and inspired by Executive Chef Shawn Calley. Together they have created a truly unique experience. Including the lobby demonstration bakery where you watch our bakers put the finishing touches on the wedding cakes. Our world class Spa is an oasis of relaxation and luxury. Thank you for taking the time to post this review and for your support of The Essex Resort & Spa. See you again soon.

Naz Jenulevich
Director of Resort Operations
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hooksett, New Hampshire
Level Contributor
36 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
Reviewed 29 October 2013

Had an excellent ladies' weekend at the Essex. The food is fantastic. But more importantly the staff is wonderful and attentive. I have high praise for their customer service. Love the treats they have in the lobby especially the hot cider and fresh baked cookies!

Room Tip: Ask for a room with a fireplace!
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Robin V
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
EssexResort-VT, Manager at The Essex, Vermont's Culinary Resort & Spa, responded to this review, 30 October 2013
Dear Robin V,

Thank you for choosing the Essex Resort & Spa for your recent ladie's weekend and for your compliments regarding the culture of service and hospitality we are so proud of.
The hot cider and cookies offered in the lobby are just some of the amazing creations from our on site bakery led by Executive Pastry Chef Robert Alger. He and his team are responsible for all the tasty dessert delights and baked goods including our breads. You can also watch as they complete the cakes for our weddings in the lobby demonstration bakery.

Naz Jenulevich
Director of Resort Operations
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Newton
1 review
Reviewed 28 October 2013

The resort itself looked nice but i was only there for 1 night. The beds were comfortable enough and the room was clean. I did not realize that when i checked in at 10pm that the window in my room would be open and it got quite cold. I dont know if i was dreaming or if there was construction or heat pipes clanging but i heard some weird things that October night that confused me for an isolated resort.
The Bar was lovely and was filled with craft beer. Prices were to be expected for an upscale classy joint.

WATCH out for the double taxing. I got a great price on priceline and paid $17.42 in taxes through them. Then i paid $17.35 in taxes for their "Resort Fees".
In all i paid 33% of the price of the room in additional taxes.
Traveller be aware.

  • Stayed October 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank WRBWRX
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
EssexResort-VT, Manager at The Essex, Vermont's Culinary Resort & Spa, responded to this review, 29 October 2013
Dear WRBWRX,

Your praise of the cleanliness and comfort of your room will be shared and celebrated with the entire Housekeeping team. They are too often the unseen heroes and will appreciate the compliments. I will also be sure to remind them to close all windows when servicing a room. The air is fresh and clean but it is far too costly to heat the outdoors. I am not sure what the noises were that you heard. We have no construction projects overnight and, as far as I know, no ghosts :)
Please let me take a moment to clarify your mention of "double taxing". This might imply you were charged in a manner without integrity. The taxes you paid to Priceline are simply the taxes charged by the government we do not profit from this. The Resort Fee you paid is not an additional tax and is explained in the booking process through Priceline.
Hopefully, the savings you were able to take advantage of and the great experience will be the most memorable part of your visit to the Essex Resort & Spa

Naz Jenulevich
Director of Resort Operations
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
New Hampshire
Level Contributor
9 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 25 October 2013

This review is long overdue, but my husband and I went to The Essex in Sept 2012 for a long weekend for our anniversary last year. We arrived at the resort later than anticipated, but were pleasantly surprised to find a chilled bottle of champagne and a Happy Anniversary card waiting for us in our room upon our arrival. The room was wonderful - clean and inviting. The restaurant in the hotel is just impeccable! We ate there a few times (dinner and breakfast) and every time it was fantastic. Service, food, atmosphere - everything was awesome. The grounds are beautiful and the facilities (pool, spa, gym) were all easily accessible and clean! Because the resort is a few hours away, we aren't able to get there as much as we'd like, but will definitely be going back again - in fact, we'd like to renew our vows there in another few years. A huge thank you to the staff for a wonderful anniversary getaway!

  • Stayed November 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank travelingmom0124
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
EssexResort-VT, Manager at The Essex, Vermont's Culinary Resort & Spa, responded to this review, 25 October 2013
Dear Travelingmom0124,
Thank you so much for choosing the Essex Resort & Spa to celebrate your wedding anniversary and for sharing your positive experience with others. I will be sure to celebrate your review with all of our associates so they may enjoy this reward for all of their hard work.
Your mention of returning to renew your vows means a great deal and we would appreciate the honor of being a part of that important event.

Naz Jenulevich
Director of Resort Operations
nazj@vtculinaryresort.com
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
21 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
Reviewed 24 October 2013

We bought a package deal at the Inn for a Saturday night. It included a room in the mansion, 3 course dinner for 2 at Amuse, breakfast at Amuse, a bottle of maple syrup, and a bottle of chilled champagne upon arrival. We had a great stay. Here are the details.

Arrival: The front desk staff should win some kind of a customer service award. They are phenomenal. They are friendly, helpful, and always have a smile on their face. They walked us through the property, and made sure we knew about all the amenities the hotel had to offer.

Room: Beautiful corner room located on the 3rd floor of the mansion. The room was quiet, nicely decorated and had any of the amenities I would be looking for at a hotel including coffee maker, iron, robes etc. The room was very clean upon arrival! The beds were very comfortable and we both had an incredible nights sleep.

The Food:

Amuse was satisfying, but we definitely preferred the old Butlers better. We found the hostesses to be a bit frazzled upon arrival, like they weren't sure exactly what to do. Nonetheless they were pleasant and seated us on time for our reservation. Dinner was good, not great. I had the Risotto with Tiger Shrimp which was fantastic, followed by a chicken stuffed with apple stuffing, which was good. My wife had a beet salad which was lacking some flavor followed by the meat and taters which were also lacking some flavor. Amuse blew us away with the desserts. The maple cheese cake was outstanding and won the show!

Breakfast was good, with lots more choices than we would of imagined. I had the Philly Benedict and my wife had hash and eggs. No complaints here. This breakfast was better than any you'll ever get in a hotel and it was packaged in.

Overall this was a great stay. With the 2 meals, the champagne, the room, and the maple syrup this room package was well worth the price. The area is beautiful with lots to do. I will come back to the Inn when our travels take us back to the Burlington area.

  • Stayed October 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Dproskin1101
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
EssexResort-VT, Manager at The Essex, Vermont's Culinary Resort & Spa, responded to this review, 25 October 2013
Dear Dproskin1101,

Thank you so much for your honest feedback. Hearing from guests directly is of such great value. Positive comments are used to reinforce a culture of exceptional service and standards. Critiques are a tool used to improve our products and services.
Our Front Desk Agents are a wonderful team of hospitality professionals who enjoy what they do and it shows. The Associates in Housekeeping are so often the unseen heroes of a good experience and to provide them with recognition is a great boost to their morale.
Your comments regarding the experience in Amuse have been shared with Executive Chef Shawn Calley so he may use it as a training opportunity. Breakfast is the meal that sets the tone for the whole day and our breakfast chefs are amazing. They will be pleased to hear how they positively impacted your stay.

Thank you again and we hope to see you soon,

Naz Jenulevich
Director of Resort Operations
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Silver Spring, Maryland
Level Contributor
20 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed 21 October 2013

A last minute change in travel plans had me scrambling for an extra night in the Burlington area, and I found this hotel, sight and reviews unseen, through Hotwire. Check-in was friendly but not effusive, and my room was clean and cute. The spa facility was well-appointed and its staff professional and courteous.

But the highlight, truly, was a last-minute reservation at the Chef's Table at Amuse. This nine-course meal was *out of this world* and Chef Michael Clauss was so friendly and interactive with the diners, giving us insight into his preparation and his selection of the wines for the pairing. It is pretty reasonably priced (given how much one is eating and the artistry and quality of the food. I left full and happy.

Overall, a great find on short-notice.

  • Stayed October 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank C Z
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Essex
5.8 mi away
Green Mountain Suites Hotel
Green Mountain Suites Hotel
#2 of 12 in South Burlington
4.5 of 5 bubbles 643 reviews
14.8 mi away
Stowe Mountain Lodge
5.7 mi away
Sheraton Burlington Hotel
Sheraton Burlington Hotel
#4 of 8 in Burlington
4.0 of 5 bubbles 581 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
7.0 mi away
Hotel Vermont
Hotel Vermont
#1 of 8 in Burlington
4.5 of 5 bubbles 713 reviews
7.1 mi away
Hilton Burlington
Hilton Burlington
#5 of 8 in Burlington
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,467 reviews
5.4 mi away
Best Western Plus Windjammer Inn & Conference Center
Best Western Plus Windjammer Inn...
#3 of 12 in South Burlington
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,273 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Essex, Vermont's Culinary Resort & Spa? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Essex, Vermont's Culinary Resort & Spa

Property: The Essex, Vermont's Culinary Resort & Spa
Address: 70 Essex Way, Essex, VT 05452-3383
Phone Number:
Region: United States > Vermont > Essex
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 2 Hotels in Essex
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:4 star — The Essex, Vermont's Culinary Resort & Spa 4*
Number of rooms: 120
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Nestled on 18 acres between the vistas of the Green Mountains and the splendor of Lake Champlain, The Essex is Vermont's Culinary Resort & Spa. The Essex is a true destination, offering a full-service Spa and Fitness Center, cooking classes in the J.K. Adams and Chef's Kitchens of Cook Academy, and our two award-winning restaurants-- all of which perfectly complement our classic accommodations.The Essex is the premier choice for your next group event and is the perfect Vermont wedding destination for dozens of happy couples tying the knot each year. From our own Vermont Tennis Vacations to our wine list, ranked among the best in the world, The Essex offers you an experience unlike any other resort in New England. ...a true Recipe for Relaxation. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Expedia, Priceline, Booking.com, TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U., Cancelon, Evoline ltd, Hotel.de and HotelQuickly so you can book your The Essex, Vermont's Culinary Resort & Spa reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Essex, Vermont`s Culinary Resort And Spa
The Essex, Vermont`s Culinary Hotel Essex
Essex Vermonts Culinary Junction
Essex Vermonts Culinary Hotel
Inn Essex
The Essex, Vermont's Culinary Resort & Spa

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing