We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Wonderful visit” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of The Essex, Vermont's Culinary Resort & Spa

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
The Essex, Vermont's Culinary Resort & Spa
Ranked #1 of 2 Hotels in Essex
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersSilver level
2 reviews
“Wonderful visit”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 21 November 2013

having just returned from a retreat at the Essex, I cannot say enough about the quality of the food, the professional and friendly help and the most comfortable accommodations. It started with the airport shuttle and continued through the entire stay.
I have become a fan. Can't wait to return for a social visit and take advantage of the Spa and other amenities.

  • Stayed November 2013, travelled on business
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank vfreeman1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
EssexResort-VT, Manager at The Essex, Vermont's Culinary Resort & Spa, responded to this review, 22 November 2013
Dear vfreeman1,

Thank you for choosing the Essex Resort & Spa for your recent business trip to Vermont. I am delighted to hear you had a great stay and look forward to your return for a relaxed leisure visit.

Naz Jenulevich
Director of Resort Operations
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,346 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    618
    391
    170
    111
    56
See reviews for
264
729
34
89
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (268)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Any
English first
Sparks, Nevada
Level Contributor
63 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 18 November 2013

Our experience at the Essex was two years ago December 26th. It was a wonderful experience. As I am now living on the West Coast it was a great time to have my children come and visit. We actually had lots and lots of snow which made it even better for skiing . Shopping in downtown Burlington was simply the best.
As December and the holidays are approaching, I am missing Vermont and holding onto those memories.

  • Stayed December 2012, travelled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank hopeful9195
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
EssexResort-VT, Manager at The Essex, Vermont's Culinary Resort & Spa, responded to this review, 19 November 2013
Dear Hopeful9195,

Thank you for staying with us. I am happy to hear the Essex Resort & Spa could be a part of the fond memories you have of your visit to Vermont.
Come again soon,

Naz Jenulevich
Director of Resort Operations
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Carmel, Indiana, United States
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 14 November 2013

My wife and I were visiting Burlington from Indiana and couldn't pass up the opportunity to stay at such a beautiful property. Our original reservation was for only 3 days / 2 nights but we and our dog really enjoyed the grounds of the property (walking trails, gorgeous views, frequent naps in hammocks, the bonfire, and watching the stars in the hammocks), so we ended up extending our stay for 7 full nights. Both restaurants were great as we expected from a culinary resort. Property is also close enough to Burlington for daily outings on Church St or the weekend farmer's market.
The rooms have a full kitchen and fridge, so it was great to bring back delicious fruits and other goodies from the farmer's market that require refrigeration.

We will definitely go back!

Room Tip: We had a corner room near the spa. We slept with the windows open, so in the morning, you could hea...
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Tbd_Drew
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
EssexResort-VT, Manager at The Essex, Vermont's Culinary Resort & Spa, responded to this review, 15 November 2013
Dear Tbd_Drew,

Thank you for choosing to stay with us and for taking the time to share your experience with other travelers. Your support is much appreciated.

See you again soon,

Naz Jenulevich
Director of Resort Operations
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Eden Prairie, Minnesota
Level Contributor
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 13 November 2013

The Essex was the best way to start my vacation. The buildings and grounds are picture perfect. Every single staff member we talked to provided the highest quality customer service. The warm cider and cookies available in the lobby were a wecome touch. And, the food at Encore and the Tavern was outstanding! The spa was tranquil, our 90 minute Swedish massages were well worth it, and the fresh juice in the common area was an excellent way to refresh. Thank you for the best way to start my vacation!

Room Tip: We had a corner room on the top, 3rd, floor in the building to the left of the main building. It wa...
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2013, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank JAS123456
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
EssexResort-VT, Manager at The Essex, Vermont's Culinary Resort & Spa, responded to this review, 13 November 2013
Dear JAS123456,

Thank you for choosing to stay with us and for giving us the opportunity to be a part of the memories and experiences of your vacation.

See you again soon,

Naz Jenulevich
Director of Resort Operations
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
6 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 11 November 2013 via mobile

This place is amazing! Warm welcoming environment, and obviously a very busy place by looks of the parking lot. Yet you were never aware that so many people are there. Beautiful spa getaway with fantastic culinary cuisine. Definitely will be returning to this treasure

Stayed November 2013, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
4 Thank Afbutts
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
EssexResort-VT, Manager at The Essex, Vermont's Culinary Resort & Spa, responded to this review, 11 November 2013
Dear Afbutts,

I am pleased to hear you had the relaxing stay you were hoping for and deserve. Additionally, I cannot thank you enough for taking the time to post this wonderful review. Not only does it help to support this locally owned Vermont business but it serves to encourage and reinforce the culture of service you experienced.

Naz Jenulevich
Director of Resort Operations
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
South Deerfield, Massachusetts
Level Contributor
54 reviews
32 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 36 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 10 November 2013

We spent two nights using a TravelZoo coupon. Everything was wonderful including the service, the food, and the free included massage for both of us. What a wonderful bargain.My wife enjoyed the nearby discount malls.

  • Stayed October 2013, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank joe d
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
EssexResort-VT, Manager at The Essex, Vermont's Culinary Resort & Spa, responded to this review, 11 November 2013
Dear Joe D,

Thank you for posting this wonderful review and for sharing your experience with other travelers.

I am happy to hear you were able to take advantage of the great values available on Travelzoo and similar sites. Keep your eyes open for our next great deal. See you again soon.

Naz Jenulevich
Director of Resort Operations
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Dover, New Hampshire
Level Contributor
65 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 5 November 2013

We had a destination wedding here at the Essex for about 120 people. The location was perfect, the staff was wonderful and the four day stay was a delight. The wedding itself was in the Atrium room, the reception was at their location up on a mountain called the Pond.
The Essex, being a Culinary resort, had wonderful food and snacks. Could not have been better. While the location by some would be considered remote we had guests from as far away as CA, TX and MT and the connections to Burlington made it easy.

Room Tip: All Rooms are first class
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2013, travelled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Cliffordmte
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
JGVT, General Manager at The Essex, Vermont's Culinary Resort & Spa, responded to this review, 6 November 2013
Cliff,
Thank you so much for the kind words! It was wonderful having your family with us last weekend and we appreciate you choosing The Essex to host this special occassion. We look forward to seeing you for years to come!
Warm regards,
Jim
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Essex
5.8 mi away
Green Mountain Suites Hotel
Green Mountain Suites Hotel
#2 of 13 in South Burlington
4.5 of 5 bubbles 633 reviews
14.8 mi away
Stowe Mountain Lodge
5.7 mi away
Sheraton Burlington Hotel
Sheraton Burlington Hotel
#4 of 9 in Burlington
4.0 of 5 bubbles 559 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
16.6 mi away
Trapp Family Lodge
Trapp Family Lodge
#4 of 24 in Stowe
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,222 reviews
7.0 mi away
Hotel Vermont
Hotel Vermont
#1 of 9 in Burlington
4.5 of 5 bubbles 699 reviews
7.1 mi away
Hilton Burlington
Hilton Burlington
#5 of 9 in Burlington
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,411 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Essex, Vermont's Culinary Resort & Spa? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Essex, Vermont's Culinary Resort & Spa

Property: The Essex, Vermont's Culinary Resort & Spa
Address: 70 Essex Way, Essex, VT 05452-3383
Phone Number:
Region: United States > Vermont > Essex
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 2 Hotels in Essex
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:4 star — The Essex, Vermont's Culinary Resort & Spa 4*
Number of rooms: 120
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Nestled on 18 acres between the vistas of the Green Mountains and the splendor of Lake Champlain, The Essex is Vermont's Culinary Resort & Spa. The Essex is a true destination, offering a full-service Spa and Fitness Center, cooking classes in the J.K. Adams and Chef's Kitchens of Cook Academy, and our two award-winning restaurants-- all of which perfectly complement our classic accommodations.The Essex is the premier choice for your next group event and is the perfect Vermont wedding destination for dozens of happy couples tying the knot each year. From our own Vermont Tennis Vacations to our wine list, ranked among the best in the world, The Essex offers you an experience unlike any other resort in New England. ...a true Recipe for Relaxation. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Hotelopia and Odigeo so you can book your The Essex, Vermont's Culinary Resort & Spa reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Essex, Vermont`s Culinary Resort And Spa
The Essex, Vermont`s Culinary Hotel Essex
Essex Vermonts Culinary Junction
Essex Vermonts Culinary Hotel
Inn Essex
The Essex, Vermont's Culinary Resort & Spa

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing