We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Room in poor condition.”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
The Essex, Vermont's Culinary Resort & Spa
Ranked #1 of 2 Hotels in Essex
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersSilver level
Reviewed 14 May 2014

My wife and I recently spent at night here and while we had a wonderful time using the hammock and pool, walking the grounds, and playing the outdoor checker game, we were not impressed with the condition of the room. The room had potential- it was a nice size and color and tastefully decorated, but in need of some work and cleaning. There were very noticeable (the room was purple so it stood out) areas with missing paint, a crack in the bathroom door frame, the lamp shade was ripped down one side, the chair in the room had a huge stain (coffee I think, and hope) on the arm, there were marks on the bathroom wall and a huge line of white paint or something across the headboard of the bed. The room also appeared to have not been vacuumed for a visit or two and there was a stain on the bedspread. Not the condition I would expect for a room in an establishment with this reputation or this price. We're stayed in little B&Bs that cost have as much and had room that was much well cared for. While their were some things we enjoyed we really could have gotten a room like this at any run of the mill hotel.

  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Sarah U U
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
EssexResort-VT, Director of Resort Operations at The Essex, Vermont's Culinary Resort & Spa, responded to this reviewResponded 16 May 2014

Dear Sarah U U,

Thank you for staying with us and please accept my apology for the issues you experienced with the quality of your room. I have shared this with our Facilities Director, Matt Whitman so he and his team may investigate. Matt has a preventive maintenance program in place that has shown great results in many areas but clearly his work is not done and requires constant attention. Additionally, our Housekeeping leadership team will be involved with this matter so they may take appropriate measures to ensure we are doing better.

Naz Jenulevich
Director of Resort Operations

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (1,415)
There are newer reviews for The Essex, Vermont's Culinary Resort & Spa
See the most recent reviews
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

596 - 602 of 1,416 reviews

Reviewed 14 May 2014 via mobile

Stayed for 3 nights.
Very clean and very professional. Customer service is top notch!
Close to the outlets.
Restaurant is a bit pricy. I tried the Tavern and food was OK. Nothing to brag about.
There are a lot of great places to eat in the area, you just need to look around and you will find it.

Stayed: May 2014, travelled on business
Thank Marc G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
EssexResort-VT, Director of Resort Operations at The Essex, Vermont's Culinary Resort & Spa, responded to this reviewResponded 16 May 2014

Dear Marc G,

Thank you for staying with us and for having a great time.

Naz Jenulevich
Director of Resort Operations

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 14 May 2014

This was a very unique resort. I have been to many Vermont areas and this is truly one of a kind. It is not right by a lot of stuff but once you are there, it is like a little city in and of itself. There is a Spa and top notch restaurants. We did a culinary experience which included a class where we made dinner with a chef and then ate the dinner we created. This was a lovely experience and even though we are very capable cooks - we got some great insight and tips from our mentors. The room was spacious - much bigger than your typical Vermont Inn. Burlington and other areas are nearby and worth a trip to see some sites. We stayed two nights and had a blast.

Room Tip: There are several buildings to stay in - stay in either the main building or the one that is connect...
  • Stayed: March 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank John W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
EssexResort-VT, Director of Resort Operations at The Essex, Vermont's Culinary Resort & Spa, responded to this reviewResponded 16 May 2014

Dear John G,

Thank you so very much for taking advantage of all the Resort has to offer and for your words of appreciation.

Naz Jenulevich
Director of Resort Operations

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 13 May 2014

We booked The Essex for a last minute birthday/Mother's Day weekend because of its central location. We had no idea that the food was so unbelievably delicious, or that the spa was such a luxurious escape. The staff is the most accommodating, courteous and helpful group we have ever encountered. The level of customer service at The Essex is far above and beyond any expectations. Dinner was amazing, but we especially loved the brunch, including "The Blueberry Explosion" which is so incredible it could produce happy feelings in rocks. We had an amazing time and cannot wait to go back for a longer stay.

  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank REALGrunge
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
EssexResort-VT, Director of Resort Operations at The Essex, Vermont's Culinary Resort & Spa, responded to this reviewResponded 14 May 2014

Dear REALGrunge,

Thank you so very much for this terrific review.

We hope to see you again soon,

Naz Jenulevich
Director of Resort Operations

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 3 May 2014

This was our second stay at The Essex. We brought back my girlfriends parents and our dog this time. As advertised this resort is extremely pet friendly. Upon check in you receive a welcome kit for your dog that includes a toy, foldable water bowl, treats and poop bags. The resort grounds are extremely pleasant and well kept with large walking grass and wooded areas. The rooms themselves are very quiet and we never heard any noise from anyone around us. I would suggest if you are in the main building to make sure to ask for rooms with a decent view if they have them. We were in 224 and 225 in the main building and 224 had a large tree and a wall view out the window, 225 looked over the garbage. It would have been pleasant to look at the grounds while drinking coffee in the morning. I am sure if they had the room they would not have minded moving us rooms since the customer service at this resort is outstanding. It was late when we arrived and it wasn't until the next morning that we realized the views so we didn't bother to ask.

Just be aware, there is a $45 dollar per night pet fee, which in my opinion is a little high. $25-$35 would be much more reasonable. Also there is a resort fee of $20 per night. The resort actually offers a lot of amenities that this $20 fee covers like bikes, the immaculate grounds, great pool and spa, bonfires, coffee, and much more. The location is very nice, just 10 minutes away from Burlington and a nice drive, making it easy to head into town for dinner and activities. Very nice grocery store near by for anything else you may need. We will be back again.

Room Tip: Ask for a room with a decent view if they have it.
  • Stayed: April 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Dustin H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
EssexResort-VT, Director of Resort Operations at The Essex, Vermont's Culinary Resort & Spa, responded to this reviewResponded 5 May 2014

Dear Dustin H,

Thank you for your continued support of the Essex Resort & Spa. There is no better compliment than a guest that returns and enjoys each visit to the fullest.

Naz Jenulevich
Director of Resort Operations

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 1 May 2014

My friend and I spent two nights at The Essex and we couldn't have chosen a better place to forget reality, pamper ourselves and enjoy fabulous food! Staff was consistently so eager to please, friendly, attentive and obviously loving their jobs! Spa was amazing! Peaceful and such a treat to hang out and relax in lounges as long as we wanted after services. WE WILL BE BACK! !

  • Stayed: April 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Patty0421
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
EssexResort-VT, Director of Resort Operations at The Essex, Vermont's Culinary Resort & Spa, responded to this reviewResponded 5 May 2014

Dear Patty0421,

Wow...what a fantastic compliment. Thank you so very much for enjoying your time away with us.

See you again soon.


Naz Jenulevich
Director of Resort Operations

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 30 April 2014

Helpful staff, beautiful surroundings, a chance to temporarily forget about work & other responsibilities. Culinary class is relaxed, educational, and fun. Spa area has a quiet and relaxed atmosphere.

Room Tip: Keep an eye out for savings on websites such as Tuango or Living Social.
  • Stayed: April 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Barbara M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
EssexResort-VT, Director of Resort Operations at The Essex, Vermont's Culinary Resort & Spa, responded to this reviewResponded 5 May 2014

Dear Barbara M,

Thank you for this and the other positive reviews you posted regarding your stay with us. I am so happy we were able to provide you with the get-away and escape you most certainly deserved.

Naz Jenulevich
Director of Resort Operations

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Essex
14.8 mi away
Stowe Mountain Lodge
5.8 mi away
Green Mountain Suites Hotel
Green Mountain Suites Hotel
#2 of 12 in South Burlington
676 reviews
5.7 mi away
Sheraton Burlington Hotel
Sheraton Burlington Hotel
#4 of 8 in Burlington
672 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
7.0 mi away
Hotel Vermont
Hotel Vermont
#1 of 8 in Burlington
763 reviews
7.1 mi away
Courtyard Burlington Harbor
7.1 mi away
Hilton Burlington
Hilton Burlington
#5 of 8 in Burlington
1,600 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Essex, Vermont's Culinary Resort & Spa? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Essex, Vermont's Culinary Resort & Spa

Address: 70 Essex Way, Essex, VT 05452-3383
Phone Number:
Region: United States > Vermont > Essex
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 2 Hotels in Essex
Price Range: £119 - £332 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — The Essex, Vermont's Culinary Resort & Spa 4*
Number of rooms: 120
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Nestled on 18 acres between the vistas of the Green Mountains and the splendor of Lake Champlain, The Essex is Vermont's Culinary Resort & Spa. The Essex is a true destination, offering a full-service Spa and Fitness Center, cooking classes in the J.K. Adams and Chef's Kitchens of Cook Academy, and our two award-winning restaurants-- all of which perfectly complement our classic accommodations.The Essex is the premier choice for your next group event and is the perfect Vermont wedding destination for dozens of happy couples tying the knot each year. From our own Vermont Tennis Vacations to our wine list, ranked among the best in the world, The Essex offers you an experience unlike any other resort in New England. ...a true Recipe for Relaxation. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Evoline ltd, 5viajes2012 S.L. and Cancelon so you can book your The Essex, Vermont's Culinary Resort & Spa reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Essex, Vermont`s Culinary Resort And Spa
The Essex, Vermont`s Culinary Hotel Essex
Essex Vermonts Culinary Junction
Essex Vermonts Culinary Hotel
Inn Essex
The Essex, Vermont's Culinary Resort & Spa

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing