We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Love the location”
Review of Spa at the Essex

Spa at the Essex
Ranked #2 of 16 things to do in Essex
Certificate of Excellence
More attraction details
Attraction details
Owner description: Spa at The Essex is your ideal sanctuary. A visit to the only full-service spa in the Burlington, VT area is an invitation to treat yourself to the ultimate getaway experience. Our Recipe for Relaxation encourages our Spa guests to arrive early to unwind and enjoy all of the Spa’s numerous amenities: •Ten treatment rooms •25-yard indoor lap pool •Oversized outdoor hot tub (open year-round) •Steam rooms •Saunas •Relaxation lounges •Social lounge •Outdoor swimming pool (seasonal) •Full-service salon •Fitness center MASSAGES include Custom, Swedish, Deep Tissue, Reiki, Warm Stone BODY TREATMENTS include Deep Detox, Mineral Mimosa, Muscle Melt, Honey Bee Propolis FACIAL TREATMENTS include Essex Custom, Organic Glacial, Uplifting Facial PLUS MEN'S TREATMENTS, COUPLES TREATMENTS, AND PACKAGES SALON SERVICES include Manicures, Pedicures, Styling, Highlights/Color, Makeup, Waxing
Reviewed 15 April 2014

We are locals, and its great to have this spa so close. My massage and facial were average, nothing amazing. The employees were all friendly, and locker areas clean. My only complaint was the steam room, really needed a good cleaning- smelled of mold. The pool is wonderful, and outdoor hot tub a plus! I would recommend for a spa close by in Chittenden County.

Thank TravelShopGirlVT
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
EssexResort-VT, Director of Resort Operations at Spa at the Essex, responded to this reviewResponded 17 April 2014

Dear TravelShopGirlVT,

Thank you for your support of the spa. Karen Smegal, our Spa Director, has done a great job making it a world class facility and loves to hear praise of the amenities and associates that make lasting memories. However, she also appreciates hearing critiques as a way to constantly improve the products and services offered. The observations you have provided here will be put to good use and efforts will be made to correct them.
We hope to see you again soon,

Naz Jenulevich
Director of Resort Operations

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (115)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
All reviews
"steam room"
in 10 reviews
"hot tub"
in 10 reviews
"indoor pool"
in 8 reviews
"great massage"
in 5 reviews
"deep tissue"
in 3 reviews
"couples massage"
in 3 reviews
"beautiful facility"
in 2 reviews
"cup of tea"
in 2 reviews
"top notch"
in 4 reviews
"burlington area"
in 2 reviews
"facial"
in 16 reviews
"lounge"
in 12 reviews
"facilities"
in 10 reviews
"skin"
in 8 reviews
"lockers"
in 8 reviews
"relaxation"
in 7 reviews
"fireplace"
in 6 reviews
Filter

59 - 63 of 115 reviews

Reviewed 24 March 2014

Spa was very clean, modern and comfortable. Staff made you feel special and worked hard at their craft.

Thank Rob N
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
EssexResort-VT, Director of Resort Operations at Spa at the Essex, responded to this reviewResponded 27 March 2014

Dear Rob N,

Thank you so much for your complimentary words regarding the Spa and the associates who are dedicated to making it a great experience.

Naz Jenulevich
Director of Resort Operations

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 2 March 2014

The hot tub was a quick hop, skip, and jump (in single-digit temps) from the warm indoor pool, which was a short walk from the main inn building. Very convenient - and was the perfect temp!

Thank ChristinaK4444
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
EssexResort-VT, Director of Resort Operations at Spa at the Essex, responded to this reviewResponded 9 March 2014

Dear ChristinaK4444,

Our outdoor hot tub is heating to a comforting 104 degrees and is open year round. The deck surrounding it is kept clear of snow with underground radiant heaters. Sit back, relax and let the troubles and stress become a distant memory.

Naz Jenulevich
Director of Resort Operations

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 26 February 2014

We enjoyed using the spa and fitness facilities while we stayed at the Essex immensely!

On our two night stay, we used the gym and got massages one day, and came back the next to use the eucalyptus steam room, sauna outdoor hot tub and indoor pool the next.

We were both extremely satisfied with the massages that we received, which were customized for where we needed most attention.

The spa is sparkling clean and attractive. There is a fantastic spa menu for lunch, which we enjoyed by a fireplace on a cold February day.

We were thrilled to use the spa amenities that are available to the guests of the hotel, even if you do not have an appointment for a spa service. There is a resort fee charged when staying at the Essex, but there is a huge value for it! We were provided with spa slippers, robes and towels when we used the steam room / sauna / hot tub / pool on the day we did not have services scheduled. There are high quality, botanical shower products available to use.

There is no doubt that we will return to the Essex for a spa retreat, and we would absolutely recommend this spa to anyone!

1  Thank Jenlevity63
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
EssexResort-VT, Director of Resort Operations at Spa at the Essex, responded to this reviewResponded 9 March 2014

Dear Jenlevity63

I am delighted to hear you had such an enjoyable time and received the services, relaxation and comfort you so deserve.

Naz Jenulevich
Director of Resort Operations

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
See more reviews
Reviewed 25 February 2014

My husband and I had couples massages at the Spa and loved it. The Spa is so relaxing, the massages were great and sitting the relaxation room afterwards was a great quiet time together.

Thank Joy V
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
EssexResort-VT, Director of Resort Operations at Spa at the Essex, responded to this reviewResponded 9 March 2014

Dear Joy V,

Thank you so much for choosing to stay with us and for taking full advantage of the spa experience. Karen Smegal, our Spa Director has taken great care to make it a world class facility and an oasis of rest, relaxation and rejuvenation.

Naz Jenulevich
Director of Resort Operations

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Been to Spa at the Essex? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing