We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Small cafe, big favors” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of Firebird Cafe

Firebird Cafe
Ranked #2 of 68 Restaurants in Essex
Certificate of Excellence
Cuisines: American, Cafe, Mexican, Healthy
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Child-friendly, Cheap Eats, Kids
Dining options: Brunch, Breakfast, Lunch, Seating, Takeout, Wheelchair Accessible
Harwich, Massachusetts
Level Contributor
110 reviews
59 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 42 helpful votes
“Small cafe, big favors”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 30 October 2013

Just happened to drive by, 6 of us for lunch. Not much seating so gets crowded quickly. Food was delicious, everyone got something different, the tomatillo sauce on the fish tacos was amazing, and the steak and cheese divine.

The only low point - the hot specialty drinks were disappointing... Not hot enough, some drinks were barely even warm, and the chai tea was very watered down, I brought it back twice and finally gave up.

  • Visited October 2013
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank Deb L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

95 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    56
    33
    5
    1
    0
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Any
English first
Altamont, New York
Level Contributor
10 reviews
5 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
“Great little cafe”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 26 October 2013

Cute little cafe with good homemade food. If you are looking for a casual lunch with good quality (non cookie cutter) food, this is a great spot.

  • Visited August 2013
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank Sandra R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Colchester, VT
Level Contributor
37 reviews
22 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
“Great food and nice atmosphere”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 11 October 2013

I stopped in here to grab a late lunch just before closing. I hate doing this but they insisted it was okay. I tried the pesto sandwich with the mozzarella and basil I believe, and another turkey sandwich. I cannot remember what exactly but all were delicious. I also took a cup of the daily soup which was a thai inspired coconut basil soup and it was as good as the real thing. The iced tea was fresh and so yummy. I didn't sit but it looks like a cozy atmosphere for a relaxing lunch.

Visited January 2013
Helpful?
Thank aprilmae419
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Colchester, Vermont
Level Contributor
31 reviews
25 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
“Great spot for lunch, etc.”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 2 October 2013

I have to admit I am stuck on their Philly Cheese Steak. It's out of the box delicious with a bit of a kick. Their sandwiches are also very good but now that I've found that cheese steak I find it difficult to choose anything else.

  • Visited September 2013
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank cseis
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Waterbury, Vermont
Level Contributor
26 reviews
17 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
“Excellent Food and Fantastic Service Really Wonderful Eatery”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 23 September 2013

I have been by this establishment many times and I wish I had stopped in sooner.
My wife and daughter and I stopped in today for lunch and I could not believe how good the food was and how nice the staff were. It is a very homey atmosphere and the food was fantastic. I had the chicken taqcos, my wife had the BLC and my daughter had the Persephone. We all loved it. I am so glad we stopped in. We will be going back now that we know what a nice place it is.
You are in for a pleasant treat if you go here.

  • Visited September 2013
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank josh l
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Firebird Cafe also viewed

 

Been to Firebird Cafe? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing