We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Want the lowest hotel prices? You're in the right place. We check 200+ sites for you.

“High hopes followed by disappointment” 3 of 5 bubbles
Review of Amuse - CLOSED

Amuse
Price range: US$20 - US$40
Cuisines: American, European
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Dining options: Dinner, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Waitstaff
Dining style: Casual Elegant
Description: Amuse offers sophisticated dining in a casual restaurant atmosphere. Our menu draws inspiration from the finest local, seasonal ingredients, provided by the region's finest purveyors and harvested from our own organic gardens. We take great care in preparing your selection, to highlight the textures and flavors inherent to each element. Reservations are suggested.
Los Angeles, California
Level Contributor
76 reviews
40 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 29 helpful votes
“High hopes followed by disappointment”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 7 October 2013

Amuse is housed in the Essex...a lovely set of buildings. If the cuisine could match the setting then we would be in for a treat. However, nothing quite reached those high expectations. The dining room was not special, the photos of fresh foods on the walls mundane and the noise level higher than it should be for a fine dining experience. The tasting menu looked promising but the execution was lacking especially considering this was a culinary resort. The touches of molecular gastronomy on several dishes was just that - touches without having a valuable impact on the dish itself. Maybe we hit the place on an off night? I always give a restaurant a second chance.

  • Visited October 2013
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank James L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
EssexResort-VT, Manager at Amuse, responded to this review, 8 October 2013
Dear James L

Thank you for taking the time to write a review. I am pleased that you enjoyed your stay at the resort. I am however, disappointed to hear of your less than positive restaurant experience. You mentioned that you would be willing to give Amuse another try and I am happy to hear that as I am certain we can provide the experience you were hoping for.
I highly recommend our Chef's Table offering. Available Wednesday through Saturday evening at 7pm. The Chef’s Table is an intimate, limited seating opportunity at our open kitchen. You will watch as a Chef prepares an 11 course meal right in front of your eyes. Each course is prepared with precision while using local ingredients as the Chef explains his innovative cooking techniques along the way. It is a highly enjoyable and we get rave reviews form diners nightly.
Please contact me personally prior to your next visit and I will personally handle the details of your reservation.

Mary Ingrisano
Restaurant General Manager
maryi@vtculinaryresort.com
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC

57 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    31
    10
    11
    4
    1
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Lynn, Massachusetts
Level Contributor
31 reviews
21 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 29 helpful votes
“Great food, bad service”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 27 September 2013 via mobile

The food at Amuse was great. We had the breakfast buffet and the food was pretty good for the price. The service needs some improvement, though. We waited for someone to notice us for a seat. The waitresses did look at us and one finally came over after a couple minutes. She took our order and got us beverages promptly. Then we went to the buffet where I attempted to order an omlete. Because I wasn't standing right at the omlete sign, (which was facing the opposite way that you walk along the buffet) the chef would look at me but not acknowledge that I was waiting to place an order. Finally, I asked the waitress walking by how to go about ordering and she said "oh, you have to stand by the sign". I was the only person standing at the buffet, by the way. So I walk 10 feet over and order and the chef said someone will bring it out. 15 minutes go by and I am done with my toast, homefries and juice. Waitresses were walking by but no sign of the omelet. There were 5 tables with 2 people at them each, it was not busy at all. Then I walked up and found it sitting on the counter. I would have just stayed at the counter had I known that it wasn't coming out. The restaurant needs to work on that particular protocol. Had that not happened, we would have gone back on day 2 for breakfast.

  • Visited September 2013
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank Mary0216
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
EssexResort-VT, Manager at Amuse, responded to this review, 28 September 2013
Mary0216

Thank you very much for your review. I appreciate feedback and always take comments such as this very seriously. I am delighted to hear you enjoyed the food during your visit. The buffet is new to our breakfast offering and we have had great overall feedback about it so far. Please be assured I have taken your comments to the entire team of associates as a training opportunity. I apologize for your experience and hope that when you return you will give us a chance to show you the type of service that we are so accusotmed to providing.

Mary Ingrisano
Restaurant General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
United States
Level Contributor
256 reviews
131 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 87 helpful votes
“Food Was Good, Hit My Pet Peve!”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 8 September 2013

Asked for slight change to preparation and was told by staff that the chef prefers to prepare as per the menu. This was both for dinner and breakfast. Since I am a picky eater, I would probably choose the tavern next time and simpler food.

Visited August 2013
Helpful?
Thank Traveler_200950
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
EssexResort-VT, Manager at Amuse, responded to this review, 14 September 2013
Traveler_200950

Thank you for your response. I would appreciate if you would write me personally and give me more specifics on your particular experiences. I am rather taken aback that we would deny you menu modifications. This day in age with all the gluten free, dairy free and severe allergies, we receive modification requests daily and happily make them. I apologize for your experience and look forward to hearing back from you so I may address it with my staff and management.

Best Regards
Mary Ingrisano
Restaurant General Manager
Maryi@vtculinaryresort.com
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Saratoga Springs, New York
Level Contributor
28 reviews
16 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
“Awesome breakfast before hitting the road.”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 30 August 2013

The Good

~ Biscuit Sammy : SO delicious and incredibly filling.
~ German Farmers Breakfast : Husband's choice and he LOVED it. Left nothing at all on his plate!
~ Service : Super nice staff and our coffee was always being refilled.

The Bad

~ I suppose my only complaint would be that the coffee isn't anything special - Green Mountain is solid coffee, but it wasn't very strong... granted we had just come from Quebec City where the coffee is much stronger and of a higher quality.

All in all a great breakfast and morning experience!

  • Visited August 2013
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
1 Thank SarahGrrl
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Boston, Massachusetts
Level Contributor
78 reviews
24 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 34 helpful votes
“A Special Dining Experience”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 28 August 2013

The dinner was beautifully prepared and served. The choices were adequate, The wine list was extensive. The desserts were very good as well. All in all a good meal for the price...a special meal to remember.

Visited August 2013
Helpful?
Thank Luv2travel601
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Amuse also viewed

 

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing