We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Mixed impressions”
Review of The Fair Haven Inn

The Fair Haven Inn
Ranked #1 of 8 Restaurants in Fair Haven
Certificate of Excellence
Cuisines: American, Greek, Seafood, Soups
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Special Occasion Dining, Groups
Dining options: Reservations
North Clarendon, Vermont
Level 6 Contributor
119 reviews
77 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 43 helpful votes
“Mixed impressions”
Reviewed 24 June 2014

Reserved a table for 6:30 for Father's Day dinner for 3. Arrived right on time and was kind of surprised when we had to wait in the hallway almost 10 minutes while they "got our table ready". Loved the tasty relish tray and then salad that they bring right away. We all ordered different fish selections for entrees and while the salmon and scallops were quite delicious, they served what looked and tasted like frozen mixed corn and peas instead of the fresh vegetable you would expect from a quality restaurant. Wine list was decent. The dessert trolley looked tempting but we didn't try it.

  • Visited June 2014
    • Value
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank lizinvt
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

135 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    89
    32
    12
    2
    0
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Rockland, Maine
Level 4 Contributor
32 reviews
24 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
“Always a Family Favorite”
Reviewed 18 June 2014

Love this place! Jimmy, the Owner is very personable and hands on. Service is great. I like the seafood offerings very much. excellent squid.

  • Visited June 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Luv2dineout12
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Granby, Massachusetts
Level 5 Contributor
74 reviews
25 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 33 helpful votes
“Romantic Greek”
Reviewed 8 June 2014

Loved that it was romantic, music,decor, waitstaff and food all excellent! Will go again and tell all my friends about it.

Visited June 2014
Helpful?
Thank sar8158
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Boston
Level 5 Contributor
77 reviews
57 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 66 helpful votes
“Who else but Fair Haven serves warm towels after dinner?”
Reviewed 6 June 2014

From the first moment you see this place til the last moment you drive away you will be impressed by the level of service and attention to detail. The front porch is filled to the brim with beautiful baskets of flowers. The entry and dining rooms are sparkling clean and well-decorated.
The food is American and Greek but all delicious. I had Cod with a Mediterranean flair while my husband had the pork special, both excellent. This place has a team of waitstaff who all help each other out so the service is very attentive.
Who else serves crackers and relish AND bread and butter? Who served warm towels after dinner?? This place is special, yet not terribly expensive.
We don't live in the area, but if we did this would be our go-to dinner spot!

  • Visited June 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank BostonVickie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Flagstaff, Arizona
Level 4 Contributor
30 reviews
24 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
“Great service and food”
Reviewed 17 May 2014

Our 2nd visit to The Fair Haven Inn and 2nd time to have Cassandra as our server. She is very attentive and knowledgeable. Food is hot, delicious and service is prompt!

Visited May 2014
Helpful?
1 Thank brposada
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed The Fair Haven Inn also viewed

 

Been to The Fair Haven Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing