We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“A small piece of heaven in Fair Haven!” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Half Moon State Park

Half Moon State Park
Attraction details
Summerside, Canada
Level Contributor
43 reviews
9 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
“A small piece of heaven in Fair Haven!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 27 July 2013

My husband and I just got home from 5 days at Half Moon State Park and we had an amazing time! We had campsite 13, right on the water. The people are so friendly and the scenery is gorgeous. It is tranquil and quiet, no loud parties. The air is so clean and fresh and the fish are healthy. We have to give special thanks to Chris for being so helpful. We will be back

Visited July 2013
Helpful?
1 Thank Marisa L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

36 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    24
    10
    0
    1
    1
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Japanese first
  • Any
English first
Rutland, Vermont
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Wonderful place to camp”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 28 January 2013

My husband and I used to load up our dogs and his hand held guitar amp and head over for a weekend of relaxing. He would entertain in early evening. The dogs, back then we had 4, loved it. The Rangers were the nicest people you ever met and the place is beautiful and quiet.

Helpful?
2 Thank Sharon F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Brandon, VT
Level Contributor
64 reviews
21 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 32 helpful votes
“FAVORITE state park for camping”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 27 September 2012

There is not a bad site at Half Moon. The people are so very nice. The park is clean. The only complaint I could come up with would be that the beach is "so far away" from the camp sites on the other side of the pond. Love the hiking trails. Nice & quiet, except for the bullfrogs & they don't respect the quiet hours. BEST park in my opinion.

Visited July 2012
Helpful?
2 Thank Beth P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
East Windsor, New Jersey, United States
Level Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“half Moon has it all”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 26 September 2012

Half Moon Pond state park (Vermont park of the year), is a quiet; secluded and beautiful state park that has everything you need to have a great vacation or just a quiet weekend. Choose from cabins; lean-to's; pond side camp or a nice open site for your RV (no hook ups though). Reasonable boat rentals; great hiking trails and a cheap supply ($4 pb) of nice dry firewood. We stayed in a lean-to the 3rd week of September so it was incredably quiet and serene yet is only 20 minutes from civilization. Nice clean bathrooms with hot showers. We had a great week.

Visited September 2012
Helpful?
Thank edmcon
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
New Jersey
Level Contributor
14 reviews
6 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
“Quiet and beautiful Vermont Park”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 4 September 2012

Half Moon State Park offered camping sites, cabins, boat rentals, fire wood and easily accessible rest rooms. Everything was clean, quiet and beautiful. The folks around us were respectful of the 'quiet' with reading/board games/paddling/hikes on nearby trails. The pond is not ideal for swimming, best used with canoe or kayak. Nearby is Glen Lake - a good swimming place.

Visited August 2012
Helpful?
2 Thank travelswithfamily09
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Half Moon State Park also viewed

 

Been to Half Moon State Park? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing