We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“the best B&B in vermont”

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Fair Haven
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Haven Guest House Bed & Breakfast
Ranked #1 of 3 Fair Haven B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 29 August 2013

we came accross haven guest house by accident and im so glad we did the owners are wonderful and kind and just plain nice !! rooms awesome clean wonderful ...beautiful landscape in and around the cute swedish house i absoulutly loved the whole experience ...breakfast another #10 i cannot say enough about the whole experience ..im going back for foiliage season ..you will not be disappointed ....pam capp

Room Tip: all the room's a #10 awesome !!!!!!
See more room tips
  • Stayed: August 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank patchieWorcester
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (195)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

133 - 139 of 195 reviews

Reviewed 24 August 2013

Staying at the Haven Guest House was a wonderful gift. Gisele and Werner were the best! They are a charming and delightful couple who enjoy making your stay a memorable experience. We can't thank them enough for their hospitality.

  • Stayed: August 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Annruble
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 20 August 2013

We booked a room at Haven at the last minute for an overnight trip to Vermont and couldn't have been happier with our choice. Gisela and Werner are the most friendly, helpful and cheerful hosts you could ask for. Our room (The Marigold) was spacious with a very comfortable queen bed. The porch and garden offered lovely outdoor seating opportunities. The dining and living rooms were nicely decorated and comfortably furnished. The living room provided us a cozy spot to have an impromptu chat with our hosts and other guests at the end of our long travel day. Gisela's fresh baked goods and Werner's cooked to order breakfast (french toast/mushroom omelette with fresh chives) with a starter of fresh fruit were superb! Haven is wonderfully clean and well maintained. A wonderful charming,gem in Vermont. We were sorry to have to leave so quickly and look forward to staying with our gracious hosts again. Go there, you'll love it!

  • Stayed: August 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank dorsham
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 2 August 2013

My wife and I decided to travel East to visit an old Navy buddy of mine that lives in Whitehall, New York, whom I hadn't seen since 1970, so I called him and asked for a recommendation about a place to stay. He and his friends all said that Haven Guest House in Fair Haven, Vermont was the best place to stay in their area. Upon arrival we found that the Haven Guest House was even more beautiful than any of the pictures that I had seen posted on the internet. Upon arrival Werner insisted on carrying our luggage from our car up to our room. We had booked the Apple Blossom Room because it is the biggest room and has a King-sized bed. It is a spacious room with a large bathroom and a view of the gardens and fish pond in the back yard. We stayed with Gisela and Werner for seven days and six nights and within two days we started referring to the Haven Guest House B&B as home. Each evening guests are given a breakfast menu and can choose from a variety of delicious options that are made to order and served in a beautifully decorated dining room. Gisela bakes all of her own breads and serves something slightly different every day. Our time at Haven Guest House ended all too soon and we were saddened by the fact that we had to leave. My wife and I have stayed at a number of B&B's over the years but none of them can compare with Haven Guest House. We enjoyed traveling through the Vermont countryside and visited many interesting places ranging from Danforth Pewter and Fort Ticonderoga to the North,
to Robert Lincolns Home and the Vermont Country Store to the South. No matter where we were we always said the same thing at the end of the day, "lets go home". I highly recommend Haven Guest House to anyone who wants a really nice place to stay.

Room Tip: All of the rooms are great. The only choice to be made is whether you prefer twin beds, a king size...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Stephen P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 2 August 2013

This is a must stop on your travels in Vermont! The hosts, Gisela and Werner, are warm and welcoming to ensure your stay is perfect. Elegant rooms and wonderful breakfast menu with lovely fountain pond in the shaded backyard or an easy chair on the beautiful front porch make this a romantic getaway or just a getaway from it all. Beautifully restored mansion with attention to detail and the guest's preferences will make you want to extend your stay.

  • Stayed: July 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Sherry S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 23 July 2013

We also chose to stay at Haven Guest House based on Trip Advisor reviews. We could not have been happier. We were in the area to pick up our son at a camp at Green Mountain College in Poultney, and the stay proved to be very convenient.

When we arrived, we received a warm welcome from Gisela and Werner. We arrived during a heat wave, and Gisela had thoughtfully started the air conditioning in our room before our arrival. The house is beautiful and beyond immaculate! The rooms are interesting, and I was quite fond of our room (I believe it was the Apple Blossom room with the king-sized bed).

Although we didn't have much time during our stay, it was very nice to relax in our room. The bed was unusually comfortable, and we had a very restful night.

As noted by others, we had a menu from which we made choices for breakfast for the following morning. The breakfast choices were very good, and my husband and I shared entrees. The omelet was made with local eggs and from herbs grown in the backyard. The breakfast consisted of several courses and very good coffee! It was served promptly at the time we requested.

Gisela and Werner did an outstanding job of being attentive without hovering. It was a perfect mix for us. I only wish that we had been able to stay longer. If we end up going back next summer, I would definitely stay again.

I wish that I could find something negative to say about the stay to show that I am not sugarcoating the stay, but I just can't think of a single thing that could be improved. The smallest touches were considered (soda and water for guests in the refrigerator upstairs as an example). The setting and the hosts were truly lovely!

  • Stayed: July 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Connormom88
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 23 July 2013

The moment my daughter and I stepped into Haven Guest B & B, we were pleasantly greeted by Gisela and Werner who made us feel immediately welcome. We felt like we were entering a friend's home and they were happy to see us! This beautifully restored home is perfect in every way. Our room with the twin beds was as comfortable as could be, clean and charming, with a new bathroom and all the amenities of home. We opened the windows during the night and woke up to the sound of the fountain from the pond and the birds outside. We went to the Lakehouse Pub and Grille overlooking Lake Bomoseen, only a short drive away. A perfect choice for dinner! Amazing views! The complete breakfast was such a treat! Delicious homemade scones and bread with fresh berries and omelets or pancakes and New England coffee. Can't get better than that! Thank you for a wonderful stay on our way up to Salisbury. Hope to see you again, such wonderful hospitality!

Room Tip: no pool or fitness but a lovely garden, pond, and porch to relax
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Cecnic
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Been to Haven Guest House Bed & Breakfast? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Haven Guest House Bed & Breakfast

Address: 1 4th St, Fair Haven, VT 05743-1109
Phone Number:
Region: United States > Vermont > Fair Haven
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 3 B&Bs / Inns in Fair Haven
Price Range: £82 - £105 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Number of rooms: 4
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Haven Guest House B&B Offers 4 lovingly decorated rooms with private bath, AC, TV...and much more. We provide Garage for Motorcycles and Bicycles, private acces to VAST snow mobil trail. Breakfast, your choice from our menu, it's included. The B&B is located in Central Vermont. Close to Lake Bomoseen, Lake Champlain, Lake George NY. 6 miles to Castleton College or Green Mountain College and close to Killington Ski Area. ... more   less 

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing