We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Awesome food”
Review of Marble Mansion Inn

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Marble Mansion Inn
Ranked #3 of 3 Fair Haven B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Niverville, New York
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
“Awesome food”
Reviewed 12 March 2013

Me and my husband wanted a romantic get away and this was that. It is amazing that the entire face of the mansion is actually Marble. The Tea Time was awesome and you have to request it. The breakfast was so good!!! The hosts where great to talk to and the other guest were such a delight as well. The only reason I didn't give it a 5 is that the Inn needs some work, minor jobs, like painting the porch and touching up the rooms, but it was still beautiful and clean. The price is right. The fireplace was so nice as well, romantic and warm for a freezing winter weekend. (Also, I highly recommend going to the Greek restaurant down the street for dinner.)

Room Tip: I recommend a room with a working fireplace. Some rooms do not have TV's, which I liked, but...
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank WellfillJess
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

132 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    107
    19
    1
    4
    1
See reviews for
32
61
3
7
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
  • Location
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (35)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
New York City, New York
1 review
Reviewed 10 March 2013

I chose the Marble Mansion Inn based on the following:

1) location - 15-20 minute drive from where we needed to go

2) amenities - cable tv, fireplace, private bathroom;

3) charm - wanted it to be romantic, as I was going with my boyfriend;

4) breakfast - all the reviews said it was a wonderful breakfast; and

5) price - it was much less costly than similar offerings in the area.

The inn did not disappoint in any way. It was a really wonderful stay. I really liked the room. It was so well-appointed, with every detail thought of: Everything was in excellent condition. The bed was very comfortable and clean. Beautiful linens, fluffy comfortable blankets and pillows. Loads of pillows! the bathroom contained a shower stall, not a tub, which was absolutely fine with us. I was struck by the thoughtfulness and care paid to every aspect: there was a small space heater in the bathroom, to keep even the bathroom a cozy temperature in the winter.

The fireplace was such a charming feature. We bought the optional duraflame logs, and had a fire going each night. We loved it.

Breakfasts lived up to the reviews. Again, there was such thoughtfulness there. Such generous variety with the offerings: range of teas, croissants, bagels, popover, 3 kinds of berries, 5-6 different kinds of cereals, 2-3 kinds of juices, yogurt . . . AND individual egg souffles, with sausage on the side. Absolutely wonderful. In my opinion, the thoughtfulness went above and beyond what was required - styrofoam cups were also provided, in case you wanted to take a cup of coffee or tea "to-go" once breakfast was over. Details like that really show such care, attention, and generosity.

And that was just the first day. Second day - baked french toast! crunchy caramelized top, covered with chopped walnuts or pecans, in addition to all the fruits, berries, juices, bagels, etc. Second day, we had sausage links.

Wish we had had the opportunity to enjoy the afternoon tea, but our schedule did not permit it.

Second day, before we left, the owner/caretaker gave us a tour of the mansion. We really enjoyed that. It is such an interesting mansion, both in terms of history, and architectural detail. We loved seeing all the rooms, the beautiful trimwork and such, the decor.

I don't know how to drive, and my boyfriend had to do all the driving, 4 hours, both ways. Because of the driving burden on him, I wanted to treat him to a really nice place to stay. A place that would be a real treat. The Marble Mansion Inn really fit the bill. I was so happy to treat him to such a wonderful place. He liked it as much as I did! : )

We would definitely return. And next time, I hope we can enjoy the afternoon tea as well!

p.s. Some previous reviewer mentioned that there were a lot of animals on the premises - birds, dogs and cats, and that the placed smelled like animals. I swear - there was no smell of animals. There was a cage of pretty birds in the front room, one really calm small dog, and two cats . . . and I loved that. We love animals, and love seeing animals around. It makes a place homey. The mansion was very clean, and there was no smell of animals.

  • Stayed March 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank JCTraveler825
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Manchester, New Hampshire
Level 3 Contributor
18 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed 21 January 2013

I had business in Fair Haven ,Vt. 1-20-21,2013. My friend and I were the only visitors this night.We were given a tour of the mansion (which is beautiful) at our registration.Our room was spacious but warm and homey.The queen bed was well appointed and very comfortable .

Our breakfast was elegant.The sun room dining table was set with lovely china and glassware reflective of the season.The white linens were a sparkling backdrop to the lovely silver serving pieces and flatware.
Our individual cheese and ham omelets were served in individual ramekins-piping hot.The fresh popovers were light, airy and warm;served up with a choice of fresh berries,cream cheese,jams and yogurts.Coffee ,tea and juices were plentiful and fresh,fresh,fresh.

Yes-fresh is the best word to describe our experience.The host Greg and his wife Sharon Hostess are bright,cheerful as well as knowledgable about the area..The house is within 30 min. of skiing and alot more value for the money than a motel at the ski areas.In summer a horse ranch has rodeos every week not more than 20 minutes away.

I would recommend Marble Mansion to my friends as well as return again.

Room Tip: One room has no TV which is a good option for a reader. A ground floor room is suitable for disable...
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank DonnaCB586
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
NYC
Level 6 Contributor
133 reviews
44 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 88 helpful votes
Reviewed 7 December 2012

This is an interesting building and we had a nice visit. You must love animals though, because there are cats, dogs and birds on the premises and there is a bit of an odor. They quoted me a price via email then told me later that the price was actually higher. I was surprised they didn’t honor their quote, and then when I booked, it was another $10 higher. Very odd. Our bathroom was tight... small shower stall and small toilet in a narrow corridor. The afternoon tea and morning breakfast were lovely and delicious.

Stayed August 2012, travelled on business
Helpful?
Thank ReneeRon
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Kingsbury, Maine
Level 4 Contributor
27 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 27 November 2012

I was very pleasantly surprised by the Marble Mansion Inn. It had the elegance and taste of a byegone era, very appropriate to the Mansion itself! The decor and scattered books were very tasteful. The beds were absolutely beyond comfortable. It was clean and comfortable.
The breakfast was superb and the hostess very friendly and accomodating to what you wish to have.
I would love to return--it was wonderful!

Room Tip: Some have cable TV and some do not. Choices in bed sizes.
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Linnea M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Clarkstown, NY
Level 3 Contributor
12 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 11 September 2012

Had to write and add to the wonderful and well deserved reviews the Marble Mansion B&B has received. My husband (dog!) and I have been to the inn 3 times and plan to return as we have family in the area. Sharon and Greg are incredible hosts, the home is fabulous and immaculate. Kudos to the owners for keeping this historic, beautiful home in the shape it is. Breakfast is yummy - always an array of staples (cereals, waffle batter, berries, bagels, juice....) and, a surprise hot, fresh egg dish. Great way to start the day. Stay there - you won't be disappointed! (Beds and pillows comfy too!)

  • Stayed August 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank SueClarkstown_NY
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
New Jersey
Level 3 Contributor
21 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed 6 September 2012

What a wonderful place to stay! Greg and Sharon were kind and helpful. The breakfast was delicious, they accommodated all of our dietary needs. Their tips on where to eat, etc. where perfect. The shower was amazing, one of the best we have used! We will be back to visit this lovely home, couple and town.

  • Stayed August 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank dodadoop
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Fair Haven
14.9 mi away
Hampton Inn Rutland/Killington
15.1 mi away
Days Inn Rutland/Killington Area
14.9 mi away
Holiday Inn Rutland-Killington Area
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
20.0 mi away
Best Western Plus Ticonderoga Inn & Suites
15.0 mi away
Comfort Inn Trolley Square
19.5 mi away
The Stone House Motel
The Stone House Motel
#4 of 6 in Ticonderoga
32 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Marble Mansion Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Marble Mansion Inn

Property: Marble Mansion Inn
Address: 12 W Park Pl, Fair Haven, VT 05743-1224
Phone Number:
Region: United States > Vermont > Fair Haven
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 3 B&Bs / Inns in Fair Haven
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Marble Mansion Inn 3.5*
Number of rooms: 12
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Experience historic elegance in this circa 1867 French Second Empire Vermont Bed & Breakfast on the village green in Fair Haven, Vermont. You are invited to come enjoy and unwind in the opulence of a 19th century marble mansion and marvel at twelve foot high ceilings decorated with intricate Georgian style plaster crown moldings & ceiling medallions, and the twin marble fireplaces in the double-parlor with gleaming herringbone pattern wood floors and crystal chandeliers. In the morning, dine like royalty with our gourmet buffet breakfast served on antique Havilland china from Limoge, France and Lunt sterling silver. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com and Expedia so you can book your Marble Mansion Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Marble Mansion Hotel Fair Haven

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing