We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Fall venture”
1 of 5 bubbles Review of Lake Morey Resort

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Lake Morey Resort
Ranked #1 of 2 Fairlee B&B and Inns
Winslow, Maine
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Fall venture”
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 19 November 2011

Recently my family stayed at this hotel for a family wedding. The scenary was beautiful and the resort would have been as beautiflu yet the attitude of the staff really spoiled our time. The wait staff serving at the wedding were incredibily rude to the guest. Very disappointing. Our family room was clean yet needed updating. Unfortunately we will not return to this hotel , shame really the area is so lovely.

  • Stayed October 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank cathbec
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Mark A, General Manager at Lake Morey Resort, responded to this review, 6 December 2011
Dear Cathbec,
I sincerely apologize for your recent experience with our banquet servers at a wedding your family attended. I find this behavior completely unacceptable and will never be tolerated. I will discuss your experience with our Director of Food Services and will make every effort to prevent this in the future. Guest service is the sun of our industry and I can assure you we will always strive to be the closet orbit to our sun.
Once again please accept my sincerest apologies and thank you for taking the time to share your experience.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

228 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    87
    83
    27
    17
    14
See reviews for
61
71
5
35
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (85)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Portuguese first
  • Any
English first
Marlboro, New York
Level Contributor
114 reviews
32 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 50 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 7 November 2011

We stayed here over an early November weekend. The staff was very pleasant (desk staff, housekeeping, etc.). There is a smal indoor pool, an auditorium (where movies were shown while we were there), restaurant, right on a lake and adjacent to a golf course. The walls in the room let in a lot of sound from our neighbors and from the hall. The location is pretty, and it's close to White River Junction and I-91.

  • Stayed November 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank dengaro
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
9 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 12 September 2011

We stayed at the resort for a friend's wedding. The resort was very pretty, very clean, and well-located. We only wish we had planned to stay longer - we were unaware that our room fee included use of kayaks, bikes, etc. It seemed to be a great place to take a family vacation!

  • Stayed July 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Traveler2635
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
20 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 12 September 2011

Beautiful property, clean but small rooms. Smaller venue. Staff was very friendly.

Room Tip: As for Lake view room
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank JadeWinterXO
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
massachusetts
Level Contributor
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 3 September 2011

This was our second trip to Lake Morey.. We are six women 70 and over who enjoy golf and swimming .Lake Morey is a perfect spot with large beautiful terrace rooms that have a deck overlooking the lake .The golf course is user friendly except for the 12th and 13th holes.. We would like to see ladies senior tees on those holes..
Our one complaint this year was the food. The menu had many options all sounding tasty and involved but in fact the meat was tasteless almost as if it had been frozen thawed and refrozen the fish was not good and one night we had gnocci as a side and truthfully no one knew what we were eating and I love gnocci! I think the menu is too ambitious .We would have preferred comfort food that was homemade and edible . The breakfast buffet was not much better as the eggs were scrambled, tasteless and chewy..,Cereal choices slim .Muffins and breads were good however even at the evening meal. Desserts were mediocore looking better than they tasted .We would have liked a choice of ice cream .
Our first visit was the exact opposite. The food was very good.. Better than we had expected.. Obviously something in the kitchen has changed and hopefully will change again soon for the better..We will definitely go back as the service and golf personnel is helpful and very friendly and the views and atmosphere lovely..

Room Tip: ask for terrace rooms with a deck
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2011, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank nana16
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
boston area
Level Contributor
117 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 36 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 23 August 2011

We've returned again this year for golf and relaxation. For golfers, it's a great destination - all the golf you want. The family-run Inn is a great family destination and very popular wedding and golf-group destination. Inn guests can use kayaks and canoes on the lake and bikes to take the 5 mile trip around the lake. Pontoon boat ride around the lake in the evening is very relaxing and informative. Meal plan (breakfasts and dinners) make it perfect. Our favorites include the evening movies (in their own movie theater), a couple of games of pool, and the nightly entertainment. They also have a kids camp that we've used in years past. Love this place and the staff (in the Inn and at the course) is welcoming and all-around terrific. Other amenities include tennis, horseshoes, card rooms, full-service spa and a workout room overlooking the lake. Great historic nuances to the buildings brings out some great charm.

Room Tip: just ask the staff, lots of room variations - again, adds to the charm. lake-view, garden-view each...
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Susan S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Atkinson, New Hampshire
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 20 August 2011

We went Weds & Thursday Aug 17th &1 18th. Resort is right off the highway! As soon as we pulled in we saw how beaufiful the grounds were with beautiful flowers & the Lake was breath taking. We had a beautiful room with a gorgeous panoramic view of the lake the windows took up an entire wall it was like looking at beautfiul picture! The front desk was very accommodating with anything we needed! We had a great time as soon as we walked into the resort! We played ping pong, billards, went swimming in the lake, swimming in the indoor pool, relaxed in the hot tub, canoeing, kyaking! We didn't have to leave the resort to have a great time! When you do leave the resort the sites are so breathtaking in VT so much green beauty! The resort was very accommodating gave us a nice list of restuarants near by with directions and attractions! The last night we had a blast in the lounge with the DJS Starlight they were great we all danced the night away they made it so much fun with props for each song! No place is perfect there was one thing that was confusing to us the dinner in their restuarant they list a 3 course meal but with no prices so we weren't sure how much it would cost and we skipped the appetisers we didn't know it was one price but they did minus it from the normal $29.95 price But they did Over charge us for kids meal of chicken fingers of $19.95 our fault for not asking! We did pay more they would should have but the food was good! Overall I want to Thank you Lake Morey for a Great Vacation and a Great Family Memory! We are going back next year and bringing more of our family members with us!

  • Stayed August 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank tina f
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Fairlee
7.0 mi away
The Lyme Inn
The Lyme Inn
#1 of 1 in Lyme
5.0 of 5 bubbles 116 reviews
21.1 mi away
Fireside Inn & Suites
Fireside Inn & Suites
#3 of 7 in Lebanon
4.0 of 5 bubbles 343 reviews
17.1 mi away
Courtyard Hanover Lebanon
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
20.7 mi away
White River Inn and Suites
White River Inn and Suites
#5 of 8 in White River Junction
4.0 of 5 bubbles 208 reviews
20.7 mi away
Holiday Inn Express Hotel & Suites White River Junction
Holiday Inn Express Hotel & Suit...
#2 of 8 in White River Junction
4.0 of 5 bubbles 277 reviews
20.4 mi away
Comfort Inn
Comfort Inn
#6 of 8 in White River Junction
3.0 of 5 bubbles 175 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Lake Morey Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Lake Morey Resort

Property: Lake Morey Resort
Address: 1 Clubhouse Rd, I-91, Exit 15, Lake Morey, Fairlee, VT 05045-9805
Region: United States > Vermont > Fairlee
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 2 B&Bs / Inns in Fairlee
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Lake Morey Resort 3.5*
Number of rooms: 133
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Lake Morey Resort is located in the picturesque Connecticut River Valley directly off I-91 (exit 15) in Fairlee, VT. The resort sits right on the shores of Lake Morey offering breathtaking views. The resort, originally built in 1905 offers 133 guest rooms with many different room types to choose from. In addition to clean, comfortable guest rooms the resort boasts an 18-Hole Championship Golf Course, boating, biking, hiking, and tennis for the warmer months. When winter arrives guests can enjoy the Lake Morey Skating Trail, the longest maintained skating trail in the U.S. In addition to the 4.5 mile skating trail the resort also has a full line of Nordic skate rentals along with figure and hockey skates. Snowshoeing, cross-country skiing, sledding, access to the VAST snowmobile trail system round out the winter fun. The Lakeside Dining Room with spectacular views of Lake Morey and the surrounding mountains serves breakfast and dinner daily during season and most weekends and school vacation weeks in the winter months. We work closely with local vendors to provide our guests with the freshest ingredients possible. The Steamboat Lounge is open daily during the season and most weekends and school vacation weeks in the winter months. Many nights you will find live entertainment from some of the area's most talented musicians. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Agoda, Odigeo and Priceline so you can book your Lake Morey Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Lake Morey Hotel Fairlee
Lake Morey Resort Fairlee, Vermont

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing