We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A memorable October destination”
Review of Lake Morey Resort

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Lake Morey Resort
Ranked #1 of 2 Fairlee B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Ithaca, NY
Level 2 Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“A memorable October destination”
Reviewed 20 October 2013

The key to the beauty of this resort is Lake Morey itself, a real gem in Vermont's crown. We had upgraded to a lakeside room and it was definitely worth the extra money. The room was "big-city" small however, with an odd choice of questionably placed over-sized furnishings in an awkward space. The bathroom required a certain amount of grace in negotiating the entering and exiting of the room. Logistics aside, there are so many things outside of the room that will make your stay here so enjoyable. The amenities are free for the guests: Boats, bikes, a pool and hot tub, a pool table, a large gym, and a movie theater (sadly, only during the summer...). The golf course is beautiful and apparently includes a driving range. We found the dining room to be somewhat lacking in personality and found the food to be average, but that gave us a chance to explore other interesting options in the area the next night. We will remember our stay here with great fondness. It was a quiet and peaceful retreat.

Room Tip: Request a lakeside room.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank kjhansen88
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Mark A, Owner at Lake Morey Resort, responded to this review, 21 October 2013
Thanks for the review. Just to correct, though we formally schedule movies in the theater during the summer and certain weeks during the winter, we do show movies whenever a guest desires during these 'other' times.

Enjoy,

Mark Avery
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

242 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    96
    86
    29
    17
    14
See reviews for
63
73
6
42
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (88)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Portuguese first
  • Any
English first
Albany New York
Level 3 Contributor
16 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed 15 October 2013

A beautiful romantic place on the lake. We had a beautiful room with a view of the lake.( the rooftop put a little damper on it but still nice) The room was large & well decorated. The bed was comfortable. As much as the view of the beautiful fall foliage & the cozy room we also enjoyed our dinner in the restaurant, the only disappointment was that the only choice was the evening buffet ( I am not a big fan of buffets but this one was quite pleasing) The meats were of a high quality and well prepared, with a great view of the lake and grounds. As usual I did over eat, trying one of each of the decadent desserts.Yum. A trip on the lake in a canoe and a round of golf completed our very enjoyable weekend. We will go again to use the pool, Jacuzzi and gym (not time this trip) and spend more time on the water.

Room Tip: Get a Lake view room with a King size bed preferably 2nd or 3rd floor.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Micki88
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Mark A, Owner at Lake Morey Resort, responded to this review, 18 October 2013
I am pleased you had a memorable stay.
Thanks for taking the time and hope to see you again.

Until then,
Mark Avery
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Shrewsbury, Vermont
Level 5 Contributor
51 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed 14 October 2013

A beautiful romantic place on the lake. When we checked in my wife and I were not happy with the room. It was a little small. We asked if we could up grade to a larger room. The front desk staff was very accommodating and found us a larger more spacious room- for no extra charge! Dinner was delicious and the wait staff very pleasant.. We even got to make our own apple cider. That was fun. The hotel reminded us of an old ocean liner. As we sat in the lounge next to the windows we expected to see the water go by. It was wonderful. We will certainly consider going back. Maybe this time we'll bring the kids as there is so much to do as a family.

  • Stayed October 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Lou B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Mark A, Owner at Lake Morey Resort, responded to this review, 15 October 2013
Thanks for the pictures. Looks like you received an upgrade to rm 215- quite a sizable room indeed. My father used to show reel to reel movies in the theater- its where I watched Jaws as an 8 year old; absolutely terrified me.

Anyway, hope to see you again

Mark Avery
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level 3 Contributor
13 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
Reviewed 13 October 2013

We had a lovely room with a view of the length of the lake. The room was spotless & well decorated. The bed was comfortable. As much as the view & the cozy room we enjoyed our dinner in the on sight restaurant. The meals were of a high quality, well prepared, in an an environment with a not to be beaten view. We thought the food was very reasonably priced for a meal of this caliber. It was a perfect place for a quiet fall escape.

  • Stayed October 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank kaisgranny
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Mark A, Owner at Lake Morey Resort, responded to this review, 15 October 2013
Glad you had a nice stay and hope to see you again.

Have a nice day,

Mark Avery
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Erie, PA
Level 4 Contributor
47 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 44 helpful votes
Reviewed 9 October 2013

We enjoyed our stay but one needs to be prepared to visit a rustic inn. OUr floors were tilted a bit and the door was squared off with a gap under the door and there were visible pipes in the room for sprinklers. The lake was beautiful and dinner was very good. We thought the golf course was a C-. The greens were decent but the tees and fairways need help.

  • Stayed October 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank staylor838
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Mark A, Owner at Lake Morey Resort, responded to this review, 11 October 2013
Thanks for the review. I will speak to my brother (course superintendent) regarding the tees/fairways and investigate your concerns.

Enjoy your day,

Mark Avery
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Georgetown, Massachusetts
Level 3 Contributor
15 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed 3 October 2013

Just spent 3 days 3 nights at the Resort although the Resort may seem a bit dated don't let it fool you my bed was wonderful Marriot quality . 60 of us golfed, ate and had a great time. Parked our cars on Thursday night and had everything we needed within walking distance till Sunday. Staff very good! Meals very good! Golf very good! Weather perfect!!! Thank you ( Didn't use room service or Spa heard they were good)

Room Tip: Garden View rooms were very big and comfortable, had a second floor room looked out over front entra...
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank KRich17
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Mark A, Owner at Lake Morey Resort, responded to this review, 4 October 2013
I am pleased your group had a wonderful stay. We greatly appreciated your patronage and were equally honored at your groups level of respect exhibited while at Lake Morey. We would love to see you again.

Thank you,

Mark Avery
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
New York
Level 4 Contributor
22 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
Reviewed 2 October 2013

GOOD

The entire staff was very friendly and accommodating.

There are so many great activities included in the price of your stay: canoeing, tennis, billiards etc.

Dinner was amazing! The chef went beyond what we expected. Succulent steak cooked to perfection, tasty and juicy shrimp. I love the addition of maple syrup to the butter and I’m still thinking about those dinner rolls. The drinks were great too! Try the Black Margarita or the Vermont Russian. We had breakfast at the nearby Fairlee diner. It was terribly overrated. The only thing we enjoyed was the blueberry pancakes. We should have tried the resort breakfast. There is another place nearby called North Woods Café in Bradford. If you must eat outside the hotel, I would recommend trying their breakfast first.


BAD

We received great dinner service on both nights. On night one we were served by Karen we and tipped her 20+ %. (Tipping on the full value of the dinner not just the total after subtracting our dinner voucher).On night two Suzanne gave us excellent service so we were appalled when she added the gratuity. We didn’t mention this to the server, but if this is the restaurant/resort policy it should be stated clearly on the menu. We are well aware of tipping procedure and proper percentages so we thought it was very tacky to have it added automatically when we were such a small party.

UGLY

We stayed in a deluxe lake front room. I’m sorry but there was nothing deluxe about it. The view of the lake was lovely. However, the rooms are very small, the furniture and finishing were outdated, the bathrooms are so small the average person can barely turn around and the shower pressure is so low it took forever to rinse the shower gel. Wifi is slow. We were surprised because there were not a lot of guests the weekend we stayed. For the most part, the rooms were very clean.

Overall, I would recommend this hotel for a short weekend getaway. I would possibly come back but I'd have to be guaranteed a better room.

Room Tip: It's nice to have the lake view but the rooms are just too small. I have not segn the garden vie...
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Tara S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Mark A, Owner at Lake Morey Resort, responded to this review, 4 October 2013
Tara,

The leaves are changing, mornings are cool, with winter on our doorstep. And with winter knocking, it's time to get amped for skiing- and what better way with an old school ski movie. You see, growing up in the 1980's we had Warren Miller and Greg Stump. Greg Stump was my choice, and with your review reminding me of one of his flicks, well I just can't help myself....

So a homage to the "Good, the Rad, and the Gnarly"; and everything about the late 1980's when skiing ruled my world and nothing else mattered.

The GOOD

I will let Geoff know of your complete satisfaction with your meals. Please give the Fairlee diner another chance. It's been an institution here in Fairlee; and while business seems to come and go along main street Fairlee, they have been a constant for decades. There is also another breakfast/lunch establishment on main street- The whistle stop cafe. Also very good.

The RAD

I have spoken with Michelle regarding a consistent gratuity procedure for Travelzoo reservations. It is our policy to add gratuity for these vouchers and we will ensure all future guests are aware of this. I apologize for the miscommunication, but do appreciate your comments as it serves as to immediately rectify our procedures.

The GNARLY

Trust me on this- we have so many rooms with different shapes and sizes that the term "cookie cutter hotel" does not apply. My Grandfather was responsible for much of the additions to this hotel, and he refused to include architects in his plans. The end result are rooms of varying sizes, some that encompass a tennis court to some that mirror a NYC hotel room- you may have had the later of the two. Though not aware of water pressure issues, I will investigate a correct if necessary.


So a thanks to Greg Stump and the G.the R.& the G for making snow so magical,

and a special Thank you for you for sharing your experience.


My Best,

Mark Avery
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Fairlee
7.0 mi away
The Lyme Inn
The Lyme Inn
#1 of 1 in Lyme
124 reviews
15.9 mi away
Hanover Inn Dartmouth
Hanover Inn Dartmouth
#1 of 2 in Hanover
459 reviews
21.1 mi away
Fireside Inn & Suites
Fireside Inn & Suites
#4 of 7 in Lebanon
358 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
20.4 mi away
Comfort Inn
Comfort Inn
#6 of 8 in White River Junction
184 reviews
20.7 mi away
White River Inn and Suites
White River Inn and Suites
#5 of 8 in White River Junction
217 reviews
17.0 mi away
Residence Inn by Marriott Hanover Lebanon
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Lake Morey Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Lake Morey Resort

Property: Lake Morey Resort
Address: 1 Clubhouse Rd, I-91, Exit 15, Lake Morey, Fairlee, VT 05045-9805
Phone Number:
Region: United States > Vermont > Fairlee
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 2 B&Bs / Inns in Fairlee
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £££
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Lake Morey Resort 3.5*
Number of rooms: 133
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Lake Morey Resort is located in the picturesque Connecticut River Valley directly off I-91 (exit 15) in Fairlee, VT. The resort sits right on the shores of Lake Morey offering breathtaking views. The resort, originally built in 1905 offers 133 guest rooms with many different room types to choose from. In addition to clean, comfortable guest rooms the resort boasts an 18-Hole Championship Golf Course, boating, biking, hiking, and tennis for the warmer months. When winter arrives guests can enjoy the Lake Morey Skating Trail, the longest maintained skating trail in the U.S. In addition to the 4.5 mile skating trail the resort also has a full line of Nordic skate rentals along with figure and hockey skates. Snowshoeing, cross-country skiing, sledding, access to the VAST snowmobile trail system round out the winter fun. The Lakeside Dining Room with spectacular views of Lake Morey and the surrounding mountains serves breakfast and dinner daily during season and most weekends and school vacation weeks in the winter months. We work closely with local vendors to provide our guests with the freshest ingredients possible. The Steamboat Lounge is open daily during the season and most weekends and school vacation weeks in the winter months. Many nights you will find live entertainment from some of the area's most talented musicians. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Expedia, Odigeo and Agoda so you can book your Lake Morey Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Lake Morey Hotel Fairlee
Lake Morey Resort Fairlee, Vermont

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing