We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“great place to stay” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Grafton Inn

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Grafton Inn
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Grafton
Certificate of Excellence
Southbury, Connecticut
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“great place to stay”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 16 July 2011

Had a great time , food was excellent , staff was great and all the things to do were wonderful, Would go back in a minute....

Room Tip: very clean and comfortable
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2011, travelled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank pmuscolino
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

309 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    239
    48
    16
    3
    3
See reviews for
56
185
9
9
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (89)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
San Francisco, California
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 15 July 2011

Breathtaking views, amazing food, accomodating helpful staff. Had a beautiful affair for my sisters wedding and would recommend to anyone. Have been showing off pictures of the inn ever since!

  • Stayed July 2011, travelled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank shawna_dobson
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ct
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 14 July 2011

Kathy and John the Inn keepers were amazing. We were at the Inn for a wedding with about 80 other guests. From the time of our arrival, the Inn and the entire staff were welcoming, accommodating and went above and beyond so that the wedding weekend was perfect. I disagree with the previous posting. Their job was to make sure all guests were taken care of and when something occurred that would impact other guests, they handled it appropriately. I highly recommend this venue for a visit and as a wedding venue! First class all the way!!!!!

  • Stayed July 2011, travelled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank MdobCt
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Denver
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 12 July 2011

The town was very beautiful. The owners of the Inn were a little uptight and way too involved in our personal business to really enjoy the stay.

Skip the stay but check out the cheese shop and the deli behind the Inn.

  • Stayed July 2011, travelled with friends
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
5 Thank Dan1111132222
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Halifax, Canada
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 4 July 2011

"The Tavern" has been a favorite of ours for over 20 years.
Comfortable rooms, good food, great service

Room Tip: We have had many different rooms - all excellent
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2011, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Bluenoser64
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Boston, Massachusetts
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 1 July 2011

We have been to the Old Tavern many times and even had our wedding there in June of 2010. This is my favorite place in the world and even in terrible weather, we recently had a great time that has us looking forward to our next trip in October. The best thing to happen to the OT was the hiring of John and Kathy Cray as the Innkeepers. They really seem to get it, and in a big way. As great as the place had become by our wedding in June of 2010, we were shocked to STILL see a huge overall improvement a year later! The staff is incredibly warm and welcoming and obviously enjoy their job. You won't find a more beautiful and historic setting anywhere. When I first ventured to Grafton in 1994, I remarked "Oh, this is where the postcards come from". See you in October!

Room Tip: Just make sure you book well in advance.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2011, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank DavidBurd
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Middlebury, Connecticut
Level Contributor
125 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 50 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 23 June 2011

This was our 4th visit to the Grafton Inn, as we call it, and the first since the new innkeepers, John and Kathy Clay, took charge. The Inn has been where we go to unwind; it is definitely "away", always comfortable, great food at dinner and breakfast, and an accomodating staff. While all that is still true, the Clays have changed the atmosphere somehow so that it's more vibrant. Rooms are spacious and clean with some updated furnishings and "to die for" Cuddledown linens. Afternoon tea and cookies are always a welcome treat. The dinner menu offers an excellent selection including the best diver scallops I have ever eaten anywhere, including RI, MA and ME! The chef offers small plates of several menu entrees making it possible to enjoy one of his terrific appetizers as well as an entree--a nice touch. Meal prices are at the upper end, however, the wine list has many fine offerings at nice prices. Service could not be better. Enjoy!

  • Stayed May 2011, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank billie88
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Grafton
23.4 mi away
The Reluctant Panther Inn & Restaurant
21.4 mi away
Manchester View
Manchester View
#2 of 15 in Manchester
4.5 of 5 bubbles 550 reviews
14.8 mi away
The Pointe at Castle Hill Resort
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
23.3 mi away
Kimpton Taconic Hotel
Kimpton Taconic Hotel
#1 of 15 in Manchester
5.0 of 5 bubbles 247 reviews
10.8 mi away
Holiday Inn Express Springfield
23.4 mi away
The Equinox Golf Resort & Spa
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Grafton Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Grafton Inn

Property: Grafton Inn
Address: 92 Main St, Grafton, VT 05146 (Formerly The Old Tavern at Grafton)
Phone Number:
Region: United States > Vermont > Grafton
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Grafton
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Grafton Inn 3.5*
Number of rooms: 45
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Since 1801, this historic inn has been providing visitors with the finest comforts and amenities in a quintessential Vermont setting. The inn features 44 individually appointed rooms, including seven suites and four guest homes. The award-winning Old Tavern Restaurant features locally inspired American cuisine; open nightly for dinner. Pub menu at Phelps Barn Pub. Members of Distinctive Inns of New Englands. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Odigeo, Expedia, Agoda, Priceline and Hotels.com so you can book your Grafton Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Grafton Hotel Grafton
Old Tavern Grafton
Old Tavern Hotel Grafton
Grafton Inn Vermont

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing