We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Very nice, traditional inn!”
4 of 5 bubbles Review of Grafton Inn

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Grafton Inn
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Grafton
Certificate of Excellence
New York City, New York
Level Contributor
47 reviews
43 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 71 helpful votes
“Very nice, traditional inn!”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 28 September 2011

We stayed one night at the Old Tavern at Grafton, and really enjoyed it. We did not have reservations (we were on a driving-through-New-England trip!), we were glad to find that they were able to accommodate us upon our arrival. Our room was large and quiet and was located on the corner in the back of the building. It had a large, walk-in closet, a four-poster king size bed, lots of windows, and was clean and comfortable. The room did not have a TV, which was fine for us but might not be for everyone. The only minus is that the bathroom, although very clean with the usual amenities, was slightly outdated, with old florescent lights and old fixtures. While the bathroom may have lost a few points on our rating, the overall cozy, friendly feel of the inn more than made up for it. It's important to also mention the excellent dinner we had in their restaurant. The food was terrific - very fresh and well-presented (I had chicken, he had the pasta!). The service in the restaurant was also excellent, and helped continue the feel of welcoming tavern hospitality. We hope to be back soon!

P.S. The cheese shop right next door was also delightful!!

  • Stayed September 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank Princess1043
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

313 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    242
    49
    16
    3
    3
See reviews for
57
188
9
9
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (91)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Nashua, New Hampshire
Level Contributor
9 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 12 September 2011

I have officiated weddings both at the White Gates location and in the Chapel and each venue has it's special beauty. The Chapel lends a grandeur to the event with the polished wood and well kept building. The White Gates location can be a little hot on a sunny day, but there is a good spot under the trees for the wedding ceremony to be a little more shaded. I have stayed in the Homestead and loved the room. The antiques beds are large and very comfortable. I have been fortunate enough to experience many aspects of their catering. Buffet supper, breakfast, outdoor cocktail hour by the pond, a seated meal in the White Gates location, and a full service seated meal in the Tavern itself. Local produce, great menus and delicious food. Every year I cross my fingers that another couple will choose me to share in their event at the Old Tavern. The staff are professional and friendly, the accommodations first rate, and be prepared to gain a few pounds!

  • Stayed July 2011, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank RevDebi
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
roma
Level Contributor
245 reviews
79 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 101 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 31 August 2011

In Grafton - a charming and tiny village in Vermont, a little hard to reach but surely worthwhile visiting - the Old Tavern is a really comfortable accommodation in the old style and charm. Upon arrival we found the room, clean and comfortable, with a complimentary plate of local cheddar cheese and apples. The structure, highly suggested by the guides, deserves all the positive evaluations that has. The dinner in the restaurant of the Tavern is also recommended as it is the breakfast. Extraordinary and exciting then the chorus of old men, after dinner, in the small village church.

  • Stayed August 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank marcello41
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Port Chester, New York
Level Contributor
14 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 28 August 2011

We spent 4 relaxing days at the Inn. We arrived a little early but we were able to check into our room in the main building, which is mostly adults=quiet! The weather was perfect, although cooler than we expected,we still enjoyed the pond across the street to sit and read. Be sure to walk around the area, look at the beautiful homes and walk down to the cheese factory. The cheese shop is located across the Inn's parking lot where they sell lots of treats and wine.The staff at the Inn is friendly and professional. I'm always surprised to read a review that's not at least a 4 rating! Although we traveled with an adult son, there is plenty to do for young children.

  • Stayed August 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank simplepleasures10573
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
New York City, New York
Level Contributor
16 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 16 August 2011

We stayed at the Barrett House for 3 nights. The house is very old, the floors squeaky and uneven, but it has such a charm that I eventually fell in love with it. It has a nice kitchen complete with a microwave, fridge, coffee maker, all plates and cups and glasses neatly stacked in the cupboards. When we arrived we found a plate with local cheddar cheese and apples on the kitchen table. There were also plenty of tea and coffee bags, sugar and sweet-n-low, and splenda packets that were replenished daily. Barrett house has 3 beautifully furnished bedrooms each with a full bathroom ensuite. There is also a powder room on the first floor. The house has 3 fire places, two of them work. It took my husband and my son almost two hours to finally get the fire going. The logs were apparently not very dry. However, once it was on, it totally made our evening!
The beds are very soft and comfortable, a bit high, all three of the beds are four poster beds. The blankets and all bedding are of good quality. The house is nicely decorated, looks like a real home. Since the house was not available for the third night we had to move to a suite. The suite was tiny compared to the house, of course, and it took some time to adjust to it. It is, however, well decorated and nice. Unlike Barrett's house, the suite does not have a TV. The breakfast is included. It is not a buffet, you order one entree from the menu. The food was good. We also had dinner at their restaurant. It is not a gourmet cuisine, but it was decent. Their steaks are simple and nice. Do not order the fish (Sole), it is overcooked and tasted bland. The whole atmosphere at The Old Tavern was pleasant, no one is rushing anywhere, people take their time. There is a swim pond across from the Tavern. The water was cold, so I did not go in, but my kids did enjoy it. There are lounge chairs by the pond, and the towels are picked up at the front desk. There is also a Phelp barn that is open for dinner from Thurday to SUnday. I did not like the food there, but enjoyed the ambiance. There is a grand piano there that my son went up to and played for while. Since there were only 4 more customers in the restaurants, no one from the staff objected to his playing. That was nice. Oh, there is cheese shop right next to the Old Tavern, which is really nice.

  • Stayed August 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Bellaepoka
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Woodstock, Vermont
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 30 July 2011

For us it is a 2 hr drive south from Woodstock, VT. For those of you that know Woodstock...along RT 4...the Old Tavern at Grafton is just the opposite. Tucked away in a quiet valley...Grafton has no equal in Vermont. I have traveled the state over...and I have found no more peacful place than Grafton.

Truth be known...we have never stayed overnight at the Old Tavern. But, hear me out.

If you want a romantic dinner...and a village where you can walk the street... before or after your meal... this is the place. We once ventured into a nearby cemetery one evening. It was like...welcome. Welcome to the quiet side. Strolling up and down the very quiet street is ....refreshing. So few places like this exist anymore.

In the Dinning Room you will be welcomed with....respect. No matter your appearance, or if you have a toddler. These people know class. They are class.

Once seated, ask for a "Trapist Monk". Tell them Skip sent you. Trust me, you'll like it.

The staff is....the staff is....they are not "staff". They are immediatly friends. I don't know how they do it. They just do. That's why we keep going back.

So sorry you will have so much trouble picking from the great menu items. Tough. Deal with it...!

By now the sun is down...the street is empty. Walk down to the bridge. Past the General Store and the Fire House. Enjoy the peacful brook. Ok, we once encountered a skunk. Even he/she could not erase the mystique of Grafton. (wink)

Life in Grafton is good. Especially at the Old Tavern. Even just for an evening.

Be sure to be with someone you love,

Skip

  • Stayed July 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Service
Helpful?
5 Thank chw17
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London
Level Contributor
83 reviews
26 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 57 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 26 July 2011

We stayed here for one night only, and the rest of the family were mighty unhappy that it was only the one night! I'd wanted two rooms and after several quickly responded to emails it was deemed that The Woodard House would be suitable for our needs, the rate was good, and I thought nothing further of it. Imagine our delight when we turn up and are shown this huge, and I mean massive, house all to ourselves. Bigger than even the second house we ever owned, 3 huge bedrooms all with good sized bathrooms, large sitting room, diningroom, kitchen, and even a lovely veranda to sit out on. My two teenage kids were in heaven. The husband couldn't believe his eyes! There was a large platter on the dining room table with apples and even slabs of the local cheese on it. We had to tear ourselves away to have a walk around, Grafton, but what a delight. Two covered bridges, a lovely little river, a wobbly little wooden pedestrian bridge over that. Rolling countryside. Deeply pretty. A small selection of shops. We stayed for supper, which was lovely, although we were the only people there (a very quiet time apparently, early July). Breakfast however was a little more busy, and lovely for it. The food was delicious, and quite the best breakfast we had all holiday, and what's more included in the rate. We will most certainly come back here. I loved the area, I loved the people. Grafton is charming. The Woodard House was simply amazing - I almost don't want to tell you how good incase the prices go up because it gets so popular and we can't afford to stay there again! Before leaving we went to the little cafe across the road from the main part of the Old Tavern in order to get some sandwiches for lunch (we had a longish car journey). The sandwiches turned out to be delicious - I'd certainly recommend going there. All in all an absolutely terrific place.

  • Stayed July 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank BalhamBlonde
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Grafton
23.4 mi away
The Reluctant Panther Inn & Restaurant
14.8 mi away
The Pointe at Castle Hill Resort
21.4 mi away
Manchester View
Manchester View
#2 of 16 in Manchester
4.5 of 5 bubbles 560 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
23.3 mi away
Kimpton Taconic Hotel
Kimpton Taconic Hotel
#1 of 16 in Manchester
5.0 of 5 bubbles 262 reviews
14.7 mi away
Castle Hill Resort And Spa
6.4 mi away
Inn Victoria
Inn Victoria
#1 of 9 in Chester
5.0 of 5 bubbles 469 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Grafton Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Grafton Inn

Property: Grafton Inn
Address: 92 Main St, Grafton, VT 05146 (Formerly The Old Tavern at Grafton)
Phone Number:
Region: United States > Vermont > Grafton
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Grafton
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Grafton Inn 3.5*
Number of rooms: 45
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Since 1801, this historic inn has been providing visitors with the finest comforts and amenities in a quintessential Vermont setting. The inn features 44 individually appointed rooms, including seven suites and four guest homes. The award-winning Old Tavern Restaurant features locally inspired American cuisine; open nightly for dinner. Pub menu at Phelps Barn Pub. Members of Distinctive Inns of New Englands. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Odigeo, Traveltool, S.L.U., Agoda, Hotels.com, Hotel.de, Priceline and HotelQuickly so you can book your Grafton Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Grafton Hotel Grafton
Old Tavern Grafton
Old Tavern Hotel Grafton
Grafton Inn Vermont

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing