We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Perfect Quiet Getaway!!”
Review of Grafton Inn

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Grafton Inn
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Grafton
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 8 January 2012

We just celebrated our Anniversary at the Grafton Inn. We had 3 wonderful nights. We stayed in room 20, which was in the Homestead Cottage. It had a beautiful four poster king bed, the room had a nice sitting area with a bay window, wing back chairs and love seat. The wide plank wood floors really gave the room a historic feel. The bathroom was clean and had nice amenities, but is a little out of date (that may just be because I hate bath tubs with sliding glass doors). The Inn has two cozy rooms in the lobby area with fireplaces that were perfect for relaxing in front of in the evening. We eat dinner in the Inn our second night and it was good, i had the onion risotto, which was ok; a salad which was very good and my husband had the Ribeye special and soup which he really enjoyed. We then shared a flour less chocolate cake with was very good. The breakfast that they include was fabulous. Each entree that we had was delicious, i had french toast twice because it was so good, but the real treat was the homemade scones with locally made Jam. There are two covered bridges close by which was nice to walk to. We walked around the town and watched cheese being made, visited the town's history museum. This is the perfect place to relax and unwind. If you are looking for a small Vermont town with tons of charm and character then this is the perfect getaway.

Room Tip: Room 20 was perfect for a couple for a 3 night stay, the downside is that to get to the main Inn you...
  • Stayed: January 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank liza23star
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (336)
There are newer reviews for Grafton Inn
See the most recent reviews
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

262 - 268 of 336 reviews

Reviewed 3 January 2012

We had a great NYE weekend at the Grafton Inn. Sadly I wish there was more snow to report up in VT but that didn’t stop our fun. We have stayed at many B&B’s before and are usually greeted by the front desk staff/owner then given a tour of the space and shown to your room. When we arrived at the Inn we were handed a letter to read and find our room on own. Not a deal breaker but a little odd and service at the front desk was rather spotty. The rooms are very nicely decorated in period fashion (4 poster bed, wingback chairs, no TVs) and the breakfast every morning was delicious with a variety of hot entrees to select from. NYE evening we enjoyed a 4-course meal at the Inn that was reasonably priced and very good. The best part was a celtic band called Gypsy Reel that played in the Phelps Barn (which is a cute old Carriage House/Tavern available for drinks and pub food in the evenings and playing board games or just reading the paper quietly during the day) after dinner and rang in the New Year. We were a little disappointed that they finished at 12:15am and could have listened to them a bit longer – though most of the other guests left at 12:05 and we could have been in the minority on that thought. Behind the Inn is the Grafton Cheese Co which you can purchase cheese, wine and other local snacks to enjoy in your room (or I would guess for a picnic in the summer and fall). The Inn is also in close proximity to the Grafton Outdoor Center, which provides great service and the owner is terrific. The wine and cheese snowshoe is a lot of fun (we did this NYE 2010) and the trails are well groomed. Overall I would recommend the Inn to anyone (couples, families, etc) and could see a lot of weddings being held onsite. The other thing to note is that if you have Verizon cell service you will not get any signal in Grafton. We were told AT&T is the only provider that works – which actually ended up being nice not being able to be reached by anyone!

  • Stayed: December 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Golinda68
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 28 December 2011

Stayed at the Old Tavern for 1 night in October, as part of a road trip from the UK through New England and down the East Coast. As we were there for a month, we had tried to book cheap and cheerful accommodation but pushed the boat out with this inn as I had fallen in love with it online. We weren't disappointed! The torrential rain did nothing to spoil the charm and beauty of Grafton itself, and the hotel was wonderful. The owner was friendly and helpful, and the weather only served to make our lovely room feel even more comfortable and cosy. We enjoyed our walk through the village and even saw some very cute chipmunks (a pest for residents but a novelty when you're from the UK!) We had dinner in the restaurant and both food and service were excellent. The only thing that was slightly disappointing was Phelps Barn; we were looking forward to a couple of drinks but it was so cold (the only other family in there had bagged the fire!) we only stayed for 1! Otherwise, an excellent stay and we would definitely return.

  • Stayed: October 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank pandkuk
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 25 December 2011

Our visit to Grafton, VT, the weekend before Christmas was truly a step back in time to a peaceful, relaxing lifestyle not often experienced…not even the sound of planes, sirens or road traffic. The Old Tavern, now the Grafton Inn, was restored magnificently by the owners, the Windham Foundation. Grafton Village owes much of its beauty and charm to this Foundation for maintaining many of the properties including the Grafton Village Cheese Company. A primary goal was also to provide steady employment to area residents.

Grafton Inn is extremely clean, all of the help very friendly, and the Innkeepers always somewhere present during the day. It was quite evident that new Innkeepers (2 yrs) John and Kathy know how to manage this Inn. They both have extensive business and customer service backgrounds and are residents of the Village. They were chosen from over 100 applicants by the Windham Foundation and seem to have very positive results in such a short tenure.

We are basically B&B folks and try to stay in those on the Select Registry. Grafton Inn certainly compares favorably with many on this list, even for its large size. However, size might detract from the ability to make online reservations with individual room availability. The breakfasts are ordered from a menu and probably could be considered gourmet. And the dining is even better. Chef Smith has created a menu for all tastes and obviously takes pride in quality and presentation at reasonable prices. Most of the staff enjoy working at the Inn and will tell you so…typical comment was “I just love being in here.”

We too just loved being in the Inn, with all of its antiquity, period furnishings, operating fireplaces and best of all- the many guests sitting around the fireplaces sharing experiences over the many visits to the Inn. One couple was on their 45th visit and another 20+ years. In fact, we were the only first timers but I’m sure others were present.

The highlight of our stay was certainly a stroke of luck. Shortly after arrival on Friday, we heard that the Vermont Symphony Orchestra Brass Quintet and Counterpoint would perform a Holiday Concert in the White Church across the street Saturday evening. We wanted to attend but did not know it was a free, ticketed event for area residents, an event underwritten as a gift to the town of Grafton. Since Innkeeper Kathy Cray was so involved with a very busy time, she gave us her tickets. WOW. It made a great weekend perfect.

  • Stayed: December 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
5  Thank James G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
GraftonInnVermont, Public Relations Manager at Grafton Inn, responded to this reviewResponded 12 January 2012

Hi James G - thanks so much for your review! We share all our reviews with our staff. And we'll be sure to let Chef Jason Corrigan and his team know you enjoyed his culinary delights! Hope to see you back again soon.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 26 November 2011

My husband and I were married here at the beginning of the month. We had attended a wedding here last year, and loved the intimate feel of the Inn and so decided to book our wedding here too. The fact that our relatives (who had never met each other) could come for the whole weekend and have time to get to know each other made it that much more appealing. Having people coming from far and wide, we also wanted to be able to visit with them all weekend, as opposed to the typical wedding where you just see each other for about 5 hours at the reception and then go home again. We had enough guests that we were able to book all of the rooms, which definitely helped to increase the feeling of camaraderie and closeness.

We had a short engagement, but the planning of the wedding did not suffer as a result of this- Kathy and John and their team were extremely organized and they made it a completely stress-free planning process and weekend for us. Most brides say that their wedding was a blur and they don't remember most of it, but I had quite the opposite experience- I trusted that the team at the Inn knew how to take care of the details, and I was able to savor every moment of the weekend. From providing towels for a Polar Bear Plunge in the swimming hole, to setting up suite 1 to accommodate my elderly wheelchair-dependent father, the staff was very flexible. There was no request or detail too small for them to tackle. I have also had many of our guests tell me that it was the best food they have ever had at a wedding (the rack of lamb was phenominal). I cannot recommend the Grafton Inn highly enough- we will truly remember our wedding weekend as a highlight of our lives, and I think that we managed to create a memorable and fun experience for our guests as well.

Room Tip: The Inn has about 45 rooms. If you have additional guests who need near-by accommodations, some of o...
  • Stayed: November 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank KECMH
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 19 November 2011

My husband and I and other family members attended a most wonderful wedding at the Grafton Inn, November3-5. Aside from the fact the bride and groom are unbelievably fantastic hosts, the Inn supported everyone to the fullest throughout all the festivities. Our room was simply lovely. We stayed in Barrett 2. The bed was a like sleeping on a cloud. The pillows were soft but very supportive. There are antiques throughout the Inn and our rooms were no exception. The decor is very New England, 19th century and well cared for. The staff with the bride and groom had everything planned from a welcome gift on arrival, to sparklers after the wedding, a beautiful dinner and a great barn to dance the night away, which we did. During the stay, we were able to explore the Vermont countryside, so beautiful in the fall. We bought lots of maple syrup of course.. The town is off the beaten track which was very much to our liking. We were able to meet several of the other guests in this intimate atmosphere. Kudos to the Grafton Inn for making our stay so comfortable and memorable. A wonderful get away!

Room Tip: B1 has a jacuzzi
  • Stayed: November 2011, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Mapleonmillpond
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 18 November 2011

My husband and I have spent several anniversaries and other special occasions at this charming Inn which happens to be in a small town that is truly the essence of taking a step back in time. On Oct 31,after being without power for 2 nights,it was evident that we were not about to get it back for a couple more days,My husband called the Tavern and booked us for a couple of nights,but they assured us that we could stay through Thurs night,Nov,3. if need be. Unfortunately,we would have to vacate,if need be,Fri. A.M. as the entire facility had been booked for a weekend wedding. Fri AM arrived and it appeared we would be without power until Sun night and mentally prepared ourselves to depart-- and hoped the innkeepers could help us find another site. Sure enough,they did---right there in Room 50 , which had not been part of the wedding package. You see, this room is in the basement of the Windham Cottage, the 1st room we stayed in many years ago(pre air conditioned rooms) and was billed as the coolest room in the summer. The staff probably decided it was not quite up to the other rooms' standards Initially,I was not eager to "abandon" our small community in Ct ,but my husband said to me nightly at the dinner table in the beautiful dining room ,"I'm so glad you came with me." In retrospect, I'm glad I did .. We can't find enough adjectives to describe the manner in which all guests are treated ----and the innkeepers,John and Kathy Cray, couldn't have been more accomodating . It is truly one of our most favorite places to spend a night or two---or even a week ,as the case may be. And yes,we had fun watching the wedding festivities ---inconspicuously. .

Room Tip: They're all quaint and lovely in their own way.The only room we did not care for was the third f...
  • Stayed: November 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank RECR
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Grafton
23.3 mi away
Kimpton Taconic Hotel
Kimpton Taconic Hotel
#1 of 16 in Manchester
335 reviews
23.4 mi away
The Reluctant Panther Inn & Restaurant
21.4 mi away
Manchester View
Manchester View
#2 of 16 in Manchester
639 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
18.2 mi away
Jackson Gore Inn
Jackson Gore Inn
#2 of 5 in Ludlow
270 reviews
10.8 mi away
Holiday Inn Express Springfield
7.0 mi away
Windham Hill Inn
Windham Hill Inn
#1 of 2 in West Townshend
234 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Grafton Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Grafton Inn

Address: 92 Main St, Grafton, VT 05146 (Formerly The Old Tavern at Grafton)
Phone Number:
Region: United States > Vermont > Grafton
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Grafton
Price Range: £159 - £279 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Grafton Inn 3.5*
Number of rooms: 45
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Since 1801, this historic inn has been providing visitors with the finest comforts and amenities in a quintessential Vermont setting. The inn features 44 individually appointed rooms, including seven suites and four guest homes. The award-winning Old Tavern Restaurant features locally inspired American cuisine; open nightly for dinner. Pub menu at Phelps Barn Pub. Members of Distinctive Inns of New Englands. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, TravelClick, Hotels.com, Expedia, Odigeo and Agoda so you can book your Grafton Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Grafton Hotel Grafton
Old Tavern Grafton
Old Tavern Hotel Grafton
Grafton Inn Vermont

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing