We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Wedding at The Grafton Inn at Grafton, Vt.”
Review of Grafton Inn

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Grafton Inn
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Grafton
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 29 June 2012

Best wedding one can ever imagine at Grafton Inn this past weekend. The staff was plentiful and kind and facilitated the housing, 2 brunches and logistics of 200 guests with grace and adeptness.

Kathy Cray helped to create a dream wedding with my kids. She guided them through the planning with great spirit and soothed nerves along the way . I can't say enough good things about this gorgeous, bucolic setting, the historic inn or each one of the staff members . Kathy lent her helping hand through every step before, during and after the planning, the rehearsal dinner and the wedding.

Room Tip: The rooms are charming and are air conditioned and clean. The Inn includes a number of houses in th...
  • Stayed: June 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Nancy P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (337)
There are newer reviews for Grafton Inn
See the most recent reviews
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

253 - 259 of 337 reviews

Reviewed 25 June 2012

Five miles from Grafton, the tire on our rental car went flat. With no tire iron and no cell phone service, my husband and I thought this was the end of our vacation. Happily for us, the chef at the Inn stopped and asked if we needed help. He loaned us a tire iron and when that tire iron didn't fit, he drove us into Grafton! We were both so grateful. We planned to eat lunch, but the restaurant wasn't open for lunch. Everyone at the Inn was incredibly kind. The next time we go to Vermont, we're heading here first.

Stayed: June 2012, travelled as a couple
Thank NycWheeler
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 25 June 2012

We love coming to Grafton Inn & have been visiting for the past 10 years or so with & without our daughter. This past March we invited some friends to join us & it was perfect for a reunion. We ate delicious breakfasts, skied at Okemo and either ate at Phelps Tavern or cooked for ourselves for dinner. Such a lovely setting - and our school age daughter enjoys herself too! So many great creatures to find & places to explore in the village. Grafton is an idyllic place to get outdoors and/or simply relax.

  • Stayed: March 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank TravelerEnFamile
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 13 June 2012

I have wanted to stay in a Vermont inn since the days of the Newhart show. The Grafton Inn was the first time I was able to do so and it was worth the wait! Driving up in the twilight and seeing the beautiful building and towns was a treat. I stayed in the main tavern in Suite 12 which was huge, beautiful, and very comfortable. I needed to do a few hours of computer work but did not mind at all, enjoying the luxurious sitting room with the windows open. Breakfast was scrumptious and plentiful, with several options served at individual tables in the gorgeous restaurant. The second-floor porch was relaxing and refreshing. I hope to visit again sometime.

  • Stayed: May 2012, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank NYYVA
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 5 June 2012

My sisters and cousin and I planned an action packed weekend of hiking and biking at Grafton Ponds but realized we would have to shift gears when the forecast called for heavy rain most of the weekend. If the weather had been more cooperative we would have missed the opportunity to relax and enjoy the White Gates House, situated just up the road from the Inn and Tavern. The river that runs back and forth through Grafton ran close behind the White Gates House and was a constant source of audio pleasure.
The house was so spacious we each had a bedroom and private bath. We kept a fire going in the living room and had a private yoga class there on Saturday morning. Although we didn't want to commit to cooking dinners, the kitchen was fully equipped and we enjoyed each others company preparing and lingering over lunch in our dining room. Dinner and breakfast at the Inn were exceptional and a wedding at the Inn on Saturday livened things up. The Inn restaurant was closed for the wedding so we headed to nearby Chester, Vermont for pizza, live music, and dancing.
I can't remember the last time I was able to relax so quickly. The friendly staff and tranquil setting made it possible.

  • Stayed: June 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank mavelo_10
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 7 May 2012

The Grafton Inn, formerly the Old Tavern, never ceases to disappoint. We were back for an early May special and had a great time. We even booked a stay next February for our 25th wedding anniversary.

  • Stayed: May 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank zen3344
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 30 April 2012

We stayed in a suite above the art guild across the street from the main building. Lots of privacy but could use a little redecorating as the accommodations felt more tired than charming. Service and food were ownly so so. The pub is only open Thursday through Sunday so the only dining option this time of year is the main dining room which was only OK. also felt that there was no real welcome feeling from the front desk as you generally find from a bed and breakfast. I guess that this place is so well known, they don't feel they need to go the extra mile that the smaller, less established places will provide.

  • Stayed: March 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Lcquinn
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Grafton
23.3 mi away
Kimpton Taconic Hotel
Kimpton Taconic Hotel
#1 of 16 in Manchester
335 reviews
23.4 mi away
The Reluctant Panther Inn & Restaurant
21.4 mi away
Manchester View
Manchester View
#2 of 16 in Manchester
643 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
18.2 mi away
Jackson Gore Inn
Jackson Gore Inn
#1 of 5 in Ludlow
270 reviews
10.8 mi away
Holiday Inn Express Springfield
7.0 mi away
Windham Hill Inn
Windham Hill Inn
#1 of 2 in West Townshend
234 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Grafton Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Grafton Inn

Address: 92 Main St, Grafton, VT 05146 (Formerly The Old Tavern at Grafton)
Phone Number:
Region: United States > Vermont > Grafton
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Grafton
Price Range: £160 - £280 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Grafton Inn 3.5*
Number of rooms: 45
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Since 1801, this historic inn has been providing visitors with the finest comforts and amenities in a quintessential Vermont setting. The inn features 44 individually appointed rooms, including seven suites and four guest homes. The award-winning Old Tavern Restaurant features locally inspired American cuisine; open nightly for dinner. Pub menu at Phelps Barn Pub. Members of Distinctive Inns of New Englands. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with TravelClick, Expedia, Hotels.com, Booking.com and Agoda so you can book your Grafton Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Grafton Hotel Grafton
Old Tavern Grafton
Old Tavern Hotel Grafton
Grafton Inn Vermont

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing