We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“The ultimate Vermont experience.”
Review of Grafton Inn

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Grafton Inn
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Grafton
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 29 September 2012

Words can not describe how satisfied we are with the Grafton Inn. Everything about the venue, from the beautiful scenery, delicious food and friendly and professional staff has made for multiple stress free and amazing weekends, including our wedding. From our first meeting with Kathy (the Inn Keeper and Wedding planner) we were treated with a personal touch that you don't find at other venues. Kathy made sure that our wedding went off with out a hitch and made herself accesible for any issue we had, something that was made all the more important as we had to plan the wedding from Arizona. We consider ourselves beyond to lucky to have discovered the Grafton Inn and could not recommend the venue with any more enthusiasm, whether it be for a relaxing weekend or a large scale event. We have experienced both and each time were left with nothing but a great experience. After our visits and wedding we consider ourselves customers for life and look forward to returning to the Inn for many more visits to enjoy the amazing service, food, rooms and of course, Kathy. For anyone who ever wanted to experience Vermont, or just have the ultimate in relaxation, this is a place you have to experience.

Room Tip: During our trips we have stayed both in the Main Inn as well as in the various houses on the propert...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: August 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Rachel B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (348)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

251 - 257 of 348 reviews

Reviewed 17 September 2012

Very nice place with the charm. The whole town of Grafton is small and beautiful, and Grafton Inn is perfectly located to experience New England Vermont style. Grafton cheese company is located in the same town about a mile down the road from the hotel. Cheese and wine shop located right next to the hotel and carries good selection of local Vermont wines in addition to cheese.
Rooms are very nicely appointed, each one in a slightly different style. We had room #38, which is highly recommended - it is spacious, with an extra sitting space. Bathroom is clean and fresh, with a lot of different toiletries. Whole room carries very pleasant and relaxing atmosphere.

We had dinner at the Grafton Inn restaurant - all the dishes were very fresh and well made, with the focus on local seasonal ingredients.

Grafton Inn is highly recommended and we will gladly come back and stay there again.

  • Stayed: August 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank TravelerFromStamford
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 13 September 2012

We stayed at the Grafton Inn for the first time and were so pleased with everything. I can't say enough about the staff who are welcoming, helpful and thoughtful. The room was gorgeous, spacious and comfortable and our dinner at the Tavern was the best meal I can recall having in quite awhile.

The Inn is very well maintained and staff are on top of every detail from the Grafton Cheese Factory cheese and crackers wating in the room on arrival to the variety of daily newspapers wating to be read in the parlor. Can't wait to go back!

  • Stayed: September 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Bostonbarb1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 8 September 2012

What a great location and not so very far away. We always feel that we have left the modern world behind (except for our electronic devices, which we could not live without). The inn has internet access but except for that it is a trip into the past. The rooms are, almost all, spacious and charming with locally crafted beds and antiques. The cross country ski center makes snow, which some years is a must. There are several dining venue so you can have a casual meal. The staff without exception are helpful and friendly. A large country breakfast is included in the price of the meal and, without exception, it is always good and satisfying. We love this place.

Room Tip: Call the inn. The staff will guide you to the best available room.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: August 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Pat E
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 8 September 2012 via mobile

Gee, where do I start?? I researched for months to find the perfect place for our very intimate wedding. It took five minutes on the phone with Kathy Cray to know I'd made the right decision. Living in Illinois and planning a wedding in Vermont could have been difficult, but Kathy and her staff made the process so easy. They took care of everything. We only had to find a photographer (Herve was perfect) and get our marriage license. Since we had no one standing up with us, I needed help being laced into my dress, Kathy jumped in to help. Neither of us will ever forget that experience, but that's another story. The wedding took place in the village garden, and Kathy and her staff were there for every step, even helping us during photos and carefully getting me to the garden. After the ceremony, a wonderful intimate dinner complete with a three-tier wedding cake and champagne for a toast awaited us at the inn. So lovely. We felt like royalty. Kathy took a few photos at the wedding and printed them out for us. Such a nice surprise! we stayed in the Cricketer Suite, which was so spacious and wonderful. It is located apart from the inn and is perfect for honeymooners. The staff was great, the food was terrific, and we have the memories of a perfect wedding! Many thanks!

  • Stayed: September 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Nancy N
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 29 August 2012

We spent a night in the Grafton Inn with our daughter, our newborn son and a dog. We were informed over the phone that we will be placed in a room in the basement.
When we got there we were directed to our MOLDY dark room. even though there were 2 dehumidifiers working, it didn't feel healthy to stay there with a newborn, but by the time we were there it was too late to find another hotel.

The drain in the bathtub got plugged, we notified the receptionist, which didn't do anything about it. My husband had to fix it himself so we could take a shower in the morning.

I think that a hotel that respects itself shouldn't rent every piece of its property just in order to make money (although I'm sure they had some vacancy in the garbage room). And if they do so, they shouldn't charge $180 + $50 pet fee for it.

Room Tip: room #50 in the basement is moldy.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: August 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
7  Thank ravitile
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 27 August 2012

My husband and I stayed here to celebrate our first anniversary. We got married here last fall and absolutely love it. We've stayed in a few different suites and they are all charming. The beds are handcrafted with VERY comfortable mattresses, and some of the suites have jacuzzi tubs. It's a short walk down the road to Grafton Ponds for skiing or hiking, and we like to visit the sheep barn at the Windham Foundation.

The food here is AMAZING. The chef is top-notch and very creative. Breakfast is included in the cost of your room and always a treat. If you don't feel like having a fancy dinner in the dining room, we also love ordering off the pub menu in the barn.

Grafton is the sort of magical Vermont place that makes you feel like you're transported into a different time with a slower pace of life. Bring some books and your hiking boots and enjoy a luxurious and relaxing weekend here!

Room Tip: Ask for a room with a jacuzzi tub!
See more room tips
  • Stayed: August 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank LaurenFW
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Grafton
14.8 mi away
The Pointe at Castle Hill Resort
23.3 mi away
Kimpton Taconic Hotel
Kimpton Taconic Hotel
#2 of 16 in Manchester
362 reviews
18.2 mi away
Jackson Gore Inn
Jackson Gore Inn
#1 of 5 in Ludlow
280 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
23.4 mi away
The Reluctant Panther Inn & Restaurant
21.4 mi away
Manchester View
Manchester View
#3 of 16 in Manchester
682 reviews
14.8 mi away
Castle Hill Resort And Spa
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Grafton Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Grafton Inn

Address: 92 Main St, Grafton, VT 05146 (Formerly The Old Tavern at Grafton)
Phone Number:
Region: United States > Vermont > Grafton
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Grafton
Price Range: £157 - £237 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Grafton Inn 3.5*
Number of rooms: 45
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Since 1801, this historic inn has been providing visitors with the finest comforts and amenities in a quintessential Vermont setting. The inn features 45 individually appointed rooms, including seven suites and four guest homes. The award-winning Old Tavern Restaurant features locally inspired American cuisine; open Friday-Sunday evenings. Pub menu at Phelps Barn Pub is served nightly. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with TravelClick, Expedia, TripOnline SA, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Ebookers and Agoda so you can book your Grafton Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Grafton Hotel Grafton
Old Tavern Grafton
Old Tavern Hotel Grafton
Grafton Inn Vermont

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing