We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Wonderful stay!” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Grafton Inn

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Grafton Inn
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Grafton
Certificate of Excellence
Trumbull, CT
Level Contributor
17 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“Wonderful stay!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 18 September 2013

Beautiful clean rooms, great food and a wonderful staff. It was nice having the choice of two restaurants and the coffee shop next to the cheese shop. We would highly recommend staying at the Inn and will definitely return.

Room Tip: We stayed across the street from the main in and the room was lovely as were the common area rooms.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank ggdgct
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

310 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    240
    48
    16
    3
    3
See reviews for
56
186
9
9
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (89)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Saxtons River, VT
Level Contributor
13 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 13 September 2013

We only live" down the road " but this was a perfect place to celebrate our anniversary evening with excellent dinner, quiet room and romantic ambience. Room 15, has bucolic view of the village and beautiful oval deep tub. The included breakfast was the perfect ending to the stay..I chose the poached eggs florentine over English muffin....coffee was served with warm homemade blueberry scones. Now we have the occasion to recommend to others, often we don't get a chance to experience local hotels or BBs.

  • Stayed September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Diverdebbi
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Virginia
Level Contributor
18 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 11 September 2013

The staff of the hotel for a friend's wedding weekend were incredibly accommodating and friendly. The food was never a disappointment and the drinks were spot on. The community of Grafton was so crisp and peaceful. Sunday morning, we found ourselves standing in front of the hotel on the edge of the street with no passing cars enjoying the cool breeze overlooking the beautiful front porch of the Inn. Having the windows open all day and night in August was incredible. Only one issue of the stay was the noise the shower head created. However, understanding the historic age of the Inn, alongside the immaculate conditions and cleanliness, it was easy to overcome. Thanks for making the weekend a success!

  • Stayed August 2013, travelled with friends
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank alovorn
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Nkeeper, General Manager at Grafton Inn, responded to this review, 13 September 2013
Grafton is indeed a special place. We're very pleased that you took the time to tell everyone what a wonderful time you had here. We're equally glad that your friend's wedding weekend was a winner and hope that you'll find your way back to our inn in the near future!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Boston, Massachusetts
Level Contributor
7 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 29 August 2013

A couple of friends held thier wedding at the Grafton Inn this August. It was wonderful. The inn rooms were clean and comfortable, the grounds and property were beautiful. Most importantly the staff at the Inn was incredibly friendly and helpful. I had an excellent stay and if I ever found myself in the area for any reason I would check there first as a place to stay.

  • Stayed August 2013, travelled solo
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Sarah L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Nkeeper, Manager at Grafton Inn, responded to this review, 2 September 2013
Thank you for sharing your weekend visit with us. It was a true pleasure to accommodate you while you were in town for your friends' wedding.We are immensely proud of our team and it is encouraging to know that their efforts do not go unnoticed. Your warm remarks and beautiful review of or property will be shared with our staff.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bryn Mawr, PA
Level Contributor
21 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 14 August 2013

I felt like I was in a world within a world. The people were so friendly, the food was amazing, and at the end I didn't want to leave. People actually sat on the porch with their complimentary cup of coffee and enjoyed just sitting. What a novel concept on vacation! The breakfast, which is included in the room charge, was out of this world. Anywhere else it would have been 30.00 minimum. And of course, the cheese. Highly recommend this to anyone going to the southern Vermont area. Convenient to everything, but really no need to venture out it you don't want to. Even the live singer at the converted barn pub was excellent. I think I'm in love. Did I mention the mattress.... OMG, amazing.

Room Tip: They are all quiet. We stayed in the cottage across the street from the main Inn, and there was some...
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, travelled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank LambieJones
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Nkeeper, General Manager at Grafton Inn, responded to this review, 19 August 2013
We couldn't say it any better ourselves...."a fresh view of Vermont".....! Thank you for sharing your experience. We very much appreciate your review of our Inn.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Basking Ridge, New Jersey
Level Contributor
14 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 8 August 2013

This was our second time at The Grafton Inn and once again we experienced a wonderful time. Dining experience was exceptional! The hotel is lovely and charming. Good size bedroom and bath accommodations. A pretty "hamlet" in the hills of Vermont. Looking forward to returning one day.

  • Stayed July 2013, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Lisa M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Williamsburg, Virginia
Level Contributor
147 reviews
119 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 77 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 22 July 2013

If you follow my reviews you will know that I'm not one to enjoy older hotels. This one isn't any different. Granted, they do a good job of making you feel comfortable, it was just something about this place... I couldn't sleep. There isn't a TV, the only entertainment is a radio, one that you could hook your ipod up to. They do have wifi, which did allow me to stream some video content from google hangouts, which was a plus.

I was in room 14, which had 3 windows looking out onto the town. The decoration in the room was nice.

The iron worked great for me, they dont have a large sized ironing board, so you will have to work with the tiny one.

They had a power strip available in the closet so I could plug in all of my devices which I love!

The people here in Grafton are excellent, down to earth, nice people.

There is a beautiful pond across the street that people can go swimming in.

There aren't any other hotels in the area, so you dont have any other choice but to stay here. Its not a bad choice, it just may not be for everyone.

  • Stayed July 2013, travelled on business
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank BSmith0731
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Grafton
23.4 mi away
The Reluctant Panther Inn & Restaurant
21.4 mi away
Manchester View
Manchester View
#3 of 15 in Manchester
4.5 of 5 bubbles 551 reviews
14.8 mi away
The Pointe at Castle Hill Resort
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
23.3 mi away
Kimpton Taconic Hotel
Kimpton Taconic Hotel
#1 of 15 in Manchester
5.0 of 5 bubbles 248 reviews
10.8 mi away
Holiday Inn Express Springfield
23.4 mi away
The Equinox Golf Resort & Spa
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Grafton Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Grafton Inn

Property: Grafton Inn
Address: 92 Main St, Grafton, VT 05146 (Formerly The Old Tavern at Grafton)
Phone Number:
Region: United States > Vermont > Grafton
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Grafton
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Grafton Inn 3.5*
Number of rooms: 45
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Since 1801, this historic inn has been providing visitors with the finest comforts and amenities in a quintessential Vermont setting. The inn features 44 individually appointed rooms, including seven suites and four guest homes. The award-winning Old Tavern Restaurant features locally inspired American cuisine; open nightly for dinner. Pub menu at Phelps Barn Pub. Members of Distinctive Inns of New Englands. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Odigeo, Expedia, Hotel.de, Hotels.com, Priceline and Agoda so you can book your Grafton Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Grafton Hotel Grafton
Old Tavern Grafton
Old Tavern Hotel Grafton
Grafton Inn Vermont

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing