We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great Fall Foliage Lodging”
Review of Grafton Inn

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Grafton Inn
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Grafton
Certificate of Excellence
Level Contributor
73 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
“Great Fall Foliage Lodging”
Reviewed 6 October 2013

We recently visited the Grafton Inn after an absence of quite a few years. We were lucky to get a mid-week reservation because of a cancellation. Don, the new innkeeper, made us feel right at home. We stayed in the Cricketeers building which is really an upstairs suite. In addition to a bedroom with bedding as described in the review by jillinlexington, there was a large bathroom with Jacuzzi and a comfortable sitting room. The first night we ate in the main dining room (excellent food and service) and the next night in Phelps Barn. Truly a great place to stay for a fall foliage tour.

Cora and Mike A.

Room Tip: Ask for the Cricketeers if available.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank mike_cora
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

318 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    247
    49
    16
    3
    3
See reviews for
57
192
9
9
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (94)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Newburyport, Massachusetts
Level Contributor
9 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
Reviewed 5 October 2013

This wonderful inn has heavenly down pillows and the softest bedding on their canopied beds ... these are true, old fashioned, classic New England-style rooms, complete with braided rag rugs and wide pine floors. A true slice of paradise. Make sure you go the Phelps Barn for a drink or a snack during your stay. Breakfast is included and is DELICIOUS.

Room Tip: Ask for a room in the main tavern if they have it. The building is antique -- less roomy but more ro...
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Gillian O
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Pittsburgh
Level Contributor
21 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed 30 September 2013

We first tried the Inn because of a Groupon offer, but have since returned twice. We have been fortunate enough to have traveled extensively in Europe, South America and China, so we've experienced many types of accommodations, and The Grafton Inn is a lovely venue. The rooms are spacious and decorated with antiques appropriate to the Inn's age. The staff is warm, helpful and accommodating. The breakfast, which is included in the room rate, is prepared to your order, and not a buffet. Both the breakfast and the dinner meals have always been delicious, gourmet offerings, and the service friendly and professional. Also, every part of the Inn, inside and out is scrupulously clean. While Grafton itself is tiny, quaint, quiet, and offers little to do, it's a convenient location for visiting Woodstock, Quechee, Bellows Falls, Manchester, and other Vermont towns. The bottom line is, if you're looking for a quiet, old world-feeling, gracious place to stay, with a warm, helpful and welcoming staff, the Grafton Inn is an inspiring choice.

Room Tip: Both the main Inn and the Homestead buildings are quiet for sleeping. In both cases, try to book a...
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Sherrobert
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Queensbury, New York, United States
Level Contributor
12 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 23 September 2013

My wife and I came to the Grafton Inn to celebrate a wedding of an old college buddy of mine. I can see why they chose this place, it is so peaceful and perfect; it is a little slice of heaven. The inn has a neat set up where you may stay in the main building, or one of the other buildings across the street. All of the rooms were superb from what we saw. Very friendly staff. Delicious food.

A word to those travelling from big cities: this place is very QUIET and PEACEFUL. This may sound scary at first, but trust me it is OK!

Room Tip: All the rooms are unique. 36 has two full size beds so it might be better for those travelling with...
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank birddog165
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Madison, Wisconsin
Level Contributor
20 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 22 September 2013

We had the good fortune to stay at the Grafton Inn for a family wedding. All of the properties that are part of the hotel take you back in time to a quaint New England town a hundred+ years ago. The staff at the Inn are top notch as was all of the food we had during our stay (pumpkin pancakes for breakfast - fresh scones each day are only a few of the highlights). While the properties are historic and built back in the 1700 and 1800s the gorgeous four poster beds had the most amazing mattresses that you just sank into and made for a great night's sleep. Spotty cell service made sure we slowed down and enjoyed everything the Inn and the town had to offer - the Inn has bicycles you can take out which were a great touch. The wedding itself was held in this meadow across the street and the babbling brook that ran along was something out of a movie. What a gem of a place tucked away in Vermont. Thank you to everyone at the Inn who made our stay - and the wedding - perfect.

  • Stayed September 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Sara B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Trumbull, CT
Level Contributor
17 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed 18 September 2013

Beautiful clean rooms, great food and a wonderful staff. It was nice having the choice of two restaurants and the coffee shop next to the cheese shop. We would highly recommend staying at the Inn and will definitely return.

Room Tip: We stayed across the street from the main in and the room was lovely as were the common area rooms.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank ggdgct
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Saxtons River, VT
Level Contributor
20 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed 13 September 2013

We only live" down the road " but this was a perfect place to celebrate our anniversary evening with excellent dinner, quiet room and romantic ambience. Room 15, has bucolic view of the village and beautiful oval deep tub. The included breakfast was the perfect ending to the stay..I chose the poached eggs florentine over English muffin....coffee was served with warm homemade blueberry scones. Now we have the occasion to recommend to others, often we don't get a chance to experience local hotels or BBs.

  • Stayed September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Diverdebbi
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Grafton
23.4 mi away
The Reluctant Panther Inn & Restaurant
14.8 mi away
The Pointe at Castle Hill Resort
21.4 mi away
Manchester View
Manchester View
#2 of 16 in Manchester
4.5 of 5 bubbles 566 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
23.3 mi away
Kimpton Taconic Hotel
Kimpton Taconic Hotel
#1 of 16 in Manchester
5.0 of 5 bubbles 278 reviews
14.7 mi away
Castle Hill Resort And Spa
6.4 mi away
Inn Victoria
Inn Victoria
#1 of 9 in Chester
5.0 of 5 bubbles 469 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Grafton Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Grafton Inn

Property: Grafton Inn
Address: 92 Main St, Grafton, VT 05146 (Formerly The Old Tavern at Grafton)
Phone Number:
Region: United States > Vermont > Grafton
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Grafton
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Grafton Inn 3.5*
Number of rooms: 45
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Since 1801, this historic inn has been providing visitors with the finest comforts and amenities in a quintessential Vermont setting. The inn features 44 individually appointed rooms, including seven suites and four guest homes. The award-winning Old Tavern Restaurant features locally inspired American cuisine; open nightly for dinner. Pub menu at Phelps Barn Pub. Members of Distinctive Inns of New Englands. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Odigeo, Priceline, Traveltool, S.L.U., Agoda and Hotel.de so you can book your Grafton Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Grafton Hotel Grafton
Old Tavern Grafton
Old Tavern Hotel Grafton
Grafton Inn Vermont

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing