We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“This is what I think of when I think Vermont”
Review of Grafton Inn

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Grafton Inn
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Grafton
Certificate of Excellence
New York
Level Contributor
104 reviews
76 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 171 helpful votes
“This is what I think of when I think Vermont”
Reviewed 18 January 2014

This is the kind of place where you come to just unwind. Very quaint and relaxing spot. The Inn is rustic and comfortable and makes it feel like you went back in time. The tavern is the perfect place to grab a local beer and enjoy the fireplace.

Our room was across the street in the Homestead cottage. The room was large and had a queen size post style bed. The heat made some strange noises throughout the night but it's too be expected when staying in old inns like this. The wifi was free and connected straight away. There was plenty of parking outside.

The breakfast choices are really good as was the breakfast itself which was included in the price. I had the eggs florentine and they were superb. The staff is really friendly and our waitress told us to get passes for Grafton Ponds outdoor center. The passes meant we could snowshoe for free which we did. We also took the horse drawn sleigh ride for $38 (for both of us) which was really fun. We had lunch at the place behind the Inn and it was great, recommend any of their soups. The local cheese that the attached store sells is really impressive.

You can't go wrong here, staying in a quaint, old inn and plenty of fun activity are all around. Sue checked us in and there is no doubt we will come back.

Room Tip: Room 38 across from the main Inn is an end room and has a nice view of the pool and woods
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Gimper90
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

320 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    249
    49
    16
    3
    3
See reviews for
57
194
9
9
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (94)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Pittsfield,MA
Level Contributor
6 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviewed 18 January 2014

A romantic November birthday weekend. A short country drive off I-91 brings you into this quaint old town of Grafton. The Inn and Tavern is front and center. Great rooms in the main building with excellent dining room and sunny breakfast room. Warm fireplace in living room near registration. We lucked out with a king room on second floor of building across the street with sitting room, large bedroom with reading chairs, and large bath with jacuzzi---it is the only room in that building (first floor is small conference room). Separate tavern for nitely entertainment. Walk around town to original post office, general store, cemetary and church, wood-worker, glass-blower, and down the road to outdoor recreation center with hiking trails and winter sports. This place has it all for a real Vermont experience. (and at a fair price!)

  • Stayed November 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank danddPittsfieldMA
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Boston, Massachusetts
Level Contributor
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 14 January 2014

We did A LOT of research before booking a weekend getaway. I am happy to say we chose wisely. The town is picturesque and the inn itself -- perfect. We were welcomed warmly when we arrived Friday night. We had dinner in front of a roaring fire in the Phelps Barn. We were thrilled to discover our room was in the Windham Cottage across the street from the main inn was more than we could have asked for. The lights were on and soft classical music welcomed us to the room. We stayed in suite #31 -- wonderful! Perfect for sleeping in one room and reading in the sittign room. Extra large bathroom with a heavenly jacuzzi tub and separate shower. Saturday was a rainy, stormy day that put a damper on our skiing plans but various fireplaces were ablaze throughout the property and after a delicious full breakfast (try the eggs Florentine!) we curled up with good books, borrowed board games and took long luxurious baths. The front desk was very helpful in directing us to great shopping and restaurant in the area but we couldn't bear to leave the inn. We attended the cheddar cheese and cider social that afternoon before having dinner in the dining room. The dinner -- full four courses! -- was delicious! The next morning we had another wonderful breakfast and a stop at the Grafton Cheese before we left for some skiing at nearby Okemo, although we did toy with staying an extra night. So sad to go! The front desk, dining room, Phelps barn, cleaning and breakfast staff could not have been more friendly or knowledgeable. It was my birthday weekend and they all truly helped to make it extra special. We cannot wait to return. As I declared, "It's my new favorite place!"

  • Stayed January 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Clare F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bucks County, Pennsylvania
Level Contributor
129 reviews
24 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 34 helpful votes
Reviewed 10 January 2014 via mobile

We first visited 2 years ago and decided to elope here! We loved everything! Best service! Attention to detail! Beautiful antique house! Catered to dietary restrictions
Serene! Loved hiking around area! Gorgeous historic inn!
Plan to see the Specters in the Barn!
Can't wait for another road trip to Vermont!!! Gracious inn keepers
Vermont cheese in room!

  • Stayed December 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Bluemango4me
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Springfield, Virginia
Level Contributor
26 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
Reviewed 7 January 2014

We have had the pleasure of staying at this gem at least once a year for the past 15 or so years. It has been and continues to set the highest marks for excellent fine and casual dining, service, and amenities. From the moment innkeeper Stephen welcomed us to the inn we felt like we home. When winter storm Hercules snowed us in past our planned departure day, Stephen made sure we could stay an extra night, and we didn't even have to change rooms. The full bar in Phelps barn is a nice new touch, as is completely complimentary cross country skiing at nearby Grafton Ponds. For years trail fees were comped, but ski rentals were not. Now everything is. Dining in the main dining room draws people from miles away because the menu is so imaginative, and ever changing. The preparations are exquisite, and the service is sequenced to the diner's preference, whether it's linger long or need to eat and run. The on site fitness center and yoga studio are perfect for staying toned while away from home, The town is quintessential Vermont, and the Inn is its jewel.

  • Stayed January 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank NewLatitudes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Riverdale, New York
Level Contributor
30 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed 4 January 2014

This is the third New Year's that my partner and I have spent at the Grafton Inn. When we first arrived, things were not quite the same as in previous years. The Inn was not quite up to the same standards. We spoke with Don, the new innkeeper, and he was incredibly responsive and addressed our concerns almost immediately. The substandard buffet breakfast served the first two mornings became the regular sit-down, delicious meal that we were used to. The new cider and cheese get together in the afternoons made for a great way to meet and mingle with the other Inn guests. The housekeeping staff was also responsive. The Inn's restaurant staff was a bit overwhelmed on New Year's Eve, but the food was very good. The service and the food were impeccable two days later. The band at the Phelps Barn was wonderful on New Year's Eve, and the bar is a nice addition in the barn. The Inn should also go back to placing the welcoming cheese in the room (it is a great advertisement for the store across the street). All in all, our holiday turned out to be the great experience we are accustomed to, after a bit of a rocky start. We will defintely return later this year.

Stayed January 2014, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank Kevin2736
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Nkeeper, General Manager at Grafton Inn, responded to this review, 6 January 2014
Thank you Kevin for your kind review. We very much appreciate your candor and for recognizing our effort and ability to remedy a "rocky start" to your holiday vacation. We are all so glad that you enjoyed your stay with us and look forward to welcoming you and your partner here at the Grafton Inn again soon!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Maine
Level Contributor
19 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed 23 December 2013

We stayed one night at Grafton with little notice and under very difficult circumstances. The staff, upon booking and during our short stay, could not have been kinder or more thoroughly professional in helping us with a one-night stop on our way to a funeral in the familiar north of the state. We knew little of southern Vermont but badly needed diversion in our long trip, and settled on Grafton from having seen it on the internet. When that approach got jammed up a bit, we called directly, and the front desk staffer bent over backwards to accommodate us on an already-booked Friday night in September, despite a large, lively wedding about to take place. The painstaking care the staff took in our case made a great difference at a most difficult time, so we'd recommend this inn and its staff at any time, under any circumstances, in any season. Well, maybe except Mud Season, but to each his own...

Room Tip: Call and talk to staff.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank MNM010
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Nkeeper, General Manager at Grafton Inn, responded to this review, 26 December 2013
Thanks so much for taking the time to let us know about your experience here at the Grafton Inn. Our staff certainly takes pride in making sure that each and every guest here at the inn leaves with a positive impression and a desire to return again. We hope to see you here again soon !
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Grafton
23.4 mi away
The Reluctant Panther Inn & Restaurant
14.8 mi away
The Pointe at Castle Hill Resort
21.4 mi away
Manchester View
Manchester View
#2 of 16 in Manchester
4.5 of 5 bubbles 567 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
23.3 mi away
Kimpton Taconic Hotel
Kimpton Taconic Hotel
#1 of 16 in Manchester
5.0 of 5 bubbles 284 reviews
14.7 mi away
Castle Hill Resort And Spa
6.4 mi away
Inn Victoria
Inn Victoria
#1 of 9 in Chester
5.0 of 5 bubbles 469 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Grafton Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Grafton Inn

Property: Grafton Inn
Address: 92 Main St, Grafton, VT 05146 (Formerly The Old Tavern at Grafton)
Phone Number:
Region: United States > Vermont > Grafton
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Grafton
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Grafton Inn 3.5*
Number of rooms: 45
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Since 1801, this historic inn has been providing visitors with the finest comforts and amenities in a quintessential Vermont setting. The inn features 44 individually appointed rooms, including seven suites and four guest homes. The award-winning Old Tavern Restaurant features locally inspired American cuisine; open nightly for dinner. Pub menu at Phelps Barn Pub. Members of Distinctive Inns of New Englands. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Odigeo, Agoda, Priceline and Hotel.de so you can book your Grafton Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Grafton Hotel Grafton
Old Tavern Grafton
Old Tavern Hotel Grafton
Grafton Inn Vermont

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing