We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Great Escape!” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Grafton Inn

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Grafton Inn
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Grafton
Certificate of Excellence
Falmouth
Level Contributor
10 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“Great Escape!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 18 February 2014

Loved the Inn. We made last minute reservations during holiday weekend. The manager was very accommodating and found us a room. We were travelling with our dog and it was a good room near the door and the woods for walking.Everyone was friendly toward the dog, plenty of space for his crate.Cleaning staff was so friendly and nice to our dog, thankyou for making us feel welcome with our 4 legged friend. Rooms were very quiet, lots of families with small children and we didn't hear anyone. No TV in rooms, but we watched the olympics in the common room of our cottage across the street from the main inn. Beds and linens were so comfortable .Room was cozy and warm, shower was hot with highend products provided. VERY clean.
Breakfast was delicious with unusual choices. Dinner at the barn was perfect after a busy day, casual , great $5 beer and live music by the fire, not to mention the best bread pudding for dessert. Waitress was so friendly.
Crosscountry skiing and snowshoes included at Grafton Pond ski area! What a deal!
Even though this was last minute it couldn't have been better. I returned home so relaxed and refreshed.
Thanks to all the staff.

  • Stayed February 2014, travelled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Michele T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

310 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    240
    48
    16
    3
    3
See reviews for
56
186
9
9
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (89)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Bethalto, Illinois
Level Contributor
4 reviews
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 14 February 2014

I read many reviews before we made our first reservation last fall, and saw all were great!! The reviews were spot on!! From the start, large spacious rooms, beautiful hardwood floors, rocking chairs, fireplace and comfy furniture - oh, and CLEAN!! The kitchenette has a stock fridge, with sodas and water, and shocker!! complimentary - no $9 bottles of water here!!! All the "little" things that can really make or break a stay, are all perfect here, from the robes, high-end hair care products, essential oils, umbrellas and board games! Wonderful view of river as you are on the upper floor. I'm sure there is more I'm missing, but trust me...This is an awesome place to stay!! Will be heading up there again next weekend, and can't wait!!!

  • Stayed October 2013, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Angel R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 10 February 2014

This was our third trip to the Grafton Inn. We have always gone in the winter.
We find it warm and friendly.
Everyone is so knowledgeable and helpful.
The inn is immaculate. The food is wonderful and it is very relaxing.

We will definitely make another trip visit. Loved it!

  • Stayed January 2014
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Lasell
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Salem, N.Y.
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 9 February 2014

We can't say enough about this wonderful place - the beautiful and comfortable rooms, the food, the staff, the quiet and beautiful surroundings, we feel like we are seeing family, it is comfortable, beautiful relaxing. We have been a dozen times, we have never had a problem or complaint. The Inn has special offers, a high quality restaurant and cozy tavern, they have the nicest staff most if whom have been there for years. without being asked, they remember our favorite room , the food we like, our favorite table. This is a cherished part of our lives. I love staying where Daniel Webster and some wonderful writers stayed, we love the giant old bathtubs and afternoon tea. Jon and Maria.

Room Tip: Ask for the suites with bathtubs. All rooms are quiet and beautiful
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2014, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Jon K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Nkeeper, Manager at Grafton Inn, responded to this review, 10 February 2014
Thank you Jon and Maria for sharing you love for the Grafton Inn... our staff ...and for all that our wonderful Vermont village has to offer travelers. We look forward to your next visit.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
upstate ny
Level Contributor
37 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 2 February 2014

We have stayed at the Inn twice and rented two of the individual houses several times. The Inn is charming with two small but lovely antique-appointed common spaces: not stuffy. The food is good - breakfast is our favorite.
Adjacent is Phelps Tavern for lighter fare and good, local country music. A shop, on the grounds sells the famous Grafton cheese and wine, and offers a cafe. The Inn also has a game room. Down the road are excellent cross-country skiing and snow -shoeing, and downhill skiing is close by. Our group loves to cycle and the area offers excellent opportunity as well as other outdoor pursuits.

Our favorite house to rent is the White Gate Inn, large enough to accommodate 8 - 10 people. Beautiful, large, and comfortable living and dining room as well as a full, adequate kitchen. Each of the four bedroom has its own bathroom.

Most charming is picturesque Grafton: a historic preservation owns much of the town and many of its buildings. It a great area to walk around: old cemetery, blacksmith shop, furniture maker, stunning art gallery, and a quilt shop with a very knowledgeable owner. Lots of talented, welcoming and friendly people choose to love here. Do not miss the Jud Hartmann Gallery of Native American bronzes. He is incredibly knowledgeable about Northeastern US Native American history and culture.

We now return twice a year, fall and winter to enjoy the seasons.

Room Tip: The individual homes are great for families.
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2014, travelled with friends
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Dsn624
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Beverly, MA
Level Contributor
26 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 25 January 2014

My husband and I took advantage of the Grafton Inn's midweek special: three nights at $150 per night with breakfast. There's one thing you can say about the Inn: no one does R & R better. The minute you walk in the door you get a feeling of peace and timelessness. Those who are searching for activity and adventure should probably look elsewhere. The town of Grafton is not exactly "hot and happening," nor is the Inn. However, if you're looking to escape the frenzied crowds and fast-paced agenda, this is the place to decompress. Don't judge it too quickly; it takes a couple of days to unwind. By the third day we were feeling pretty mellow. I'd never slept so well. There's a lot to be said for a good night's sleep--not to mention napping--and The Grafton Inn excels at both. A friendly, helpful staff, a talented chef and feather beds are just a few of the Inn's charms. The Grafton Inn will win you over.

Room Tip: The "Red Room" on the second floor has two canopied beds. One of them is very high and cou...
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2013, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Sharon C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Boston, Massachusetts
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 24 January 2014

My husband and I highly recommend the Grafton Inn for a wintry weekend away. This was our first time to Vermont, and we picked a gem of a place to go. The Grafton Inn was beautiful, comfortable, cozy, and quiet. The staff were very friendly, but allowed for privacy too. The breakfast menu offered many great options, and the Phelps Barn was a wonderful atmosphere to have low-key, filling dinners with VT beer and live music. The highlight for me was that the trail pass and cross country skis at their affiliated Grafton Ponds were included in the lodging rental. I was able to XC ski for the first time (both days!) at no extra charge. We've traveled quite a bit around New England, and you're not going to find a deal/experience quite like this. We can't wait to go back in the spring/summer to hike and fish. Thank you, Grafton Inn!

  • Stayed January 2014, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank B E
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Grafton
23.4 mi away
The Reluctant Panther Inn & Restaurant
14.8 mi away
The Pointe at Castle Hill Resort
21.4 mi away
Manchester View
Manchester View
#2 of 15 in Manchester
4.5 of 5 bubbles 551 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
23.3 mi away
Kimpton Taconic Hotel
Kimpton Taconic Hotel
#1 of 15 in Manchester
5.0 of 5 bubbles 250 reviews
10.8 mi away
Holiday Inn Express Springfield
23.4 mi away
The Equinox Golf Resort & Spa
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Grafton Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Grafton Inn

Property: Grafton Inn
Address: 92 Main St, Grafton, VT 05146 (Formerly The Old Tavern at Grafton)
Phone Number:
Region: United States > Vermont > Grafton
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Grafton
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Grafton Inn 3.5*
Number of rooms: 45
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Since 1801, this historic inn has been providing visitors with the finest comforts and amenities in a quintessential Vermont setting. The inn features 44 individually appointed rooms, including seven suites and four guest homes. The award-winning Old Tavern Restaurant features locally inspired American cuisine; open nightly for dinner. Pub menu at Phelps Barn Pub. Members of Distinctive Inns of New Englands. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Odigeo, Hotels.com, Priceline, Hotel.de and Agoda so you can book your Grafton Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Grafton Hotel Grafton
Old Tavern Grafton
Old Tavern Hotel Grafton
Grafton Inn Vermont

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing