We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Well groomed, excellent trail variety”

Grafton Ponds Outdoor Center
Ranked #2 of 12 things to do in Grafton
More attraction details
Attraction details
Owner description: Grafton Ponds Outdoor Center is a multi-season recreation center located in historic Grafton Village, Vermont. In the winter, we offer 15k of Nordic skiing (with snowmaking), 15k of snowshoeing and a 600-foot tubing run. Full base lodge with lessons & rentals. In the summer, we offer mountain biking, hiking, canoe excursions, swimming, and a great summer kids camp program (ages 5-16 yrs). Great special events, like our weekly wine & cheese snowshoe (winter) and hiking (summer) tours!
Hartsdale, NY
Level Contributor
133 reviews
43 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 63 helpful votes
“Well groomed, excellent trail variety”
Reviewed 19 February 2014

Trails are well groomed with clear grooves and flat areas. Variety of trail levels, with plenty of "blue" options. (If other sites are dry, they always have something open because they will make their own snow, if ncessary.) I'd like them to improve directional signs on trails, so you don't have to take out the trail map so often. People who work in the main house are always helpful. Food is no longer "self serve," which I preferred. But you can still bring your own, as most do. My husband and I took a cross-country lesson this time, which was definitely helpful to each of us, even though it was his first time in ten years and I have been at it every year.

Visited February 2014
Helpful?
1 Thank joanp
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

35 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    23
    7
    4
    1
    0
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Antalya, Turkey
Level Contributor
20 reviews
7 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
“Tubing”
Reviewed 31 January 2014

The tubing hill was short and fast, but very thrilling. The path back to the top was icy and steep, and I found it a little hard to climb. We would have spent more time there if the path had been cleared a bit more. It was fun to watch the skiers making laps.

Visited January 2014
Helpful?
Thank anna d
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Easthampton, Massachusetts
2 reviews
“Winter fun”
Reviewed 3 January 2014

Due to the warm weather and rain preceding our trip, there wasn't enough snow on the trails for xcountry skiing. We were, however, able to ski around the front fields. It was snowing when we were there and even with the limited skiing area, there was enough space and views for everyone to enjoy the day!

Visited December 2013
Helpful?
Thank Easthampt0n
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Naha, Japan
Level Contributor
41 reviews
23 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
“Beautiful place, very friendly staff!”
Reviewed 18 April 2013 via mobile

We visited Grafton ponds to X country ski with our kids in Early December. Unfortunately, when we went, there was almost no natural snow base, so the trails were not open. However they do make snow here, and they had a wide track open out front for skiers. We had traveled far, it was our first time X-country skiing as a family... The man there must have taken pity on us and he gave us our rentals for free! We skied here with our two kids, 3 and 5 years old, and yes, they had very tiny boots and skis to accommodate both of our children. Although we were limited to the track out front, the scenery was beautiful and that level area turned out to be the perfect area for our kids to learn and practice on. We hope to go again some day!

Visited December 2012
Helpful?
Thank fam4trvl
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Mystic, Connecticut
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“good trails!”
Reviewed 24 December 2012

In the summer, made for a great place to run and hike. Extremely close to the Grafton Inn and picturesque scenery.

Visited July 2012
Helpful?
Thank Shawn M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Grafton Ponds Outdoor Center also viewed

 

Been to Grafton Ponds Outdoor Center? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing