We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great place to stay in Northeast Kingdom”
Review of The Kimball House

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Hardwick
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
The Kimball House
Ranked #1 of 1 Hardwick B&B and Inns
Manchester NH
Level 3 Contributor
17 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
“Great place to stay in Northeast Kingdom”
Reviewed 26 February 2014

The Kimball House is a great B&B in Hardwick. The house is a beautifully restored Victorian. Susan is a gracious host. The beds are very comfortable and Susan serves a very nice breakfast. We've stayed here several times now and have never been disappointed.

Room Tip: There are two rooms with Queen beds. Both are lovely. The 3rd room has two single beds. They all...
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Susan W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

25 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    24
    1
    0
    0
    0
See reviews for
6
11
Solo
0
1
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
  • Location
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (6)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Any
English first
Fredericton, Canada
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 7 August 2013

I have just returned from a 6 day stay at Kimball House. It is a wonderful B&B and I highly recommend it. The owners, Sue and Tod are very gracious hosts and the breakfasts were delicious and filling. The B&B was very clean, rooms were very comfortable and there was a terrific charm to the whole experience. We very much enjoyed sitting out on there deck watching the sun rise and sun sets. Doesn't get much better than this!

Room Tip: There were 3 of us and we filled the B&B. All rooms were great.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank tbeardmo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level 3 Contributor
7 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed 6 October 2012

Sue could not have been more welcoming or a better chef! She has every detail covered - from bathrobes to in-room chocolates to self-serve coffee & fruit - and she has transformed this historic 120-yr-old Queen Anne style home into a great B&B. Sue asked in advance if we had any food preferences, and she was more than obliging in recalling and honoring ours during our stay. Her pancakes were out of this world! Our room was spacious and included a lovely electric fireplace, sweeping views of the valley and town below, and a very clean and comfortable queen bed. I highly recommend this spot to all and will remember this for my next trip to Stowe.

  • Stayed October 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank Emily C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Boston, Massachusetts
Level 3 Contributor
15 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
Reviewed 23 February 2012

My boyfriend and I have stayed at the Kimball House 3 times now and have never had anything but a wonderful experience. The house sits on top of a hill, which means wonderful views over Hardwick from the porch, the living area and from 2 of the 3 bedrooms. Sue's hospitality makes you feel right at home, and her carefully prepared breakfasts are not to be missed. Really what sets this place apart, however, is the incredible decor. From Victorian-era wallpaper, to gorgeous period furniture, to the most spectacular bathtub I have ever seen, the Kimball House feels like a true escape from everyday life.

  • Stayed February 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
6 Thank Elizabeth O
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Montreal
Level 2 Contributor
8 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
Reviewed 17 October 2011

Kimball House is a wonderfully B&B with authentic period decor and an overwhleming abundance of details, warmth and a generous home-cooked breakfast. Sue is very welcoming and fun and the house is terrifically comfortable and the area perfect: perched on a hill it is still just walking distance from the village with good restaurants.

Room Tip: For friend travellers or those with children, there is a room with two single beds.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2011, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
5 Thank poppygal
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Santa Barbara
Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed 4 July 2011

I've been to a lot of B&B's in my time and this one was the best! Sue takes such pride in running the house. When you're there you can totally tell that the decor has been meticulously tweaked for years so everything has now found a perfect spot. The property itself is wonderfully maintained and you are on the top of this hill that seems to just look out over all of VT. The upstairs bathroom...oh my goodness, just wonderful. Every detail is remembered and the breakfast... ahh the breakfast!!

  • Stayed July 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank snowbigdeal
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
chippenham
Level 3 Contributor
14 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
Reviewed 9 May 2011

Kimball House is quirky, warmly welcoming and has the best breakfasts in New England. Sue really cares about her visitors: we had fresh fruit salads, the best poached eggs I've ever tasted, home made preserves and proper tea in a proper tea-pot. Sue's food tastes like real food. You'll also get fantastic views through lace curtained windows and masses of local information to help you make the most of your stay. And if the weather in spring turns to snow-as it did for us you can have hot cider and an electric blanket! A real Victorian bathroom comes with a range of organic bath essences and if you prefer modern there's a shower room as well.

  • Stayed April 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
7 Thank buddugChippenham
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Hardwick
18.1 mi away
Comfort Inn & Suites Near Burke Mountain
7.4 mi away
Highland Lodge
Highland Lodge
#1 of 2 in Greensboro
43 reviews
16.2 mi away
Green Mountain Inn
Green Mountain Inn
#1 of 24 in Stowe
1,803 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
12.6 mi away
Rodgers Country Inn & Cabins
Rodgers Country Inn & Cabins
#2 of 3 in West Glover
17 reviews
14.1 mi away
Governor's House in Hyde Park
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Kimball House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Kimball House

Property: The Kimball House
Address: 173 Glenside Ave, Hardwick, VT 05843-9677
Region: United States > Vermont > Northeast Kingdom > Hardwick
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 B&Bs / Inns in Hardwick
Number of rooms: 3

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing