We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Our midweek of quiet & relaxation”
Review of The Kimball House

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Hardwick
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
The Kimball House
Ranked #1 of 1 Hardwick B&B and Inns
Newbury Old Town, Massachusetts, United States
Level Contributor
44 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
“Our midweek of quiet & relaxation”
Reviewed 15 August 2014

We went to Vermont to get World Class Beer, buy some interesting Vermont Cheese, and have a lot of time of peace and beauty. Mission Accomplished by staying at the Kimball House in Hardwick, Vermont's North East Kingdom.
Our friend booked two rooms at the Kimball House and the three of us headed north for another adventure. Our first stop was Perennial Pleasures Nursery and Tea House in East Hardwick. We spend a lovely early afternoon wandering the display gardens, and relaxing drinking tea with our delicious lunch. This garden is pure magic. We loved our return visit to Buffalo Mountain Food Coop & Cafe in Hardwick. The 70s are still alive in this coop. We headed up a big hill and at the top of it was the Kimball House. The house is beautifully restored. The wrap around deck with views was our first stop of pleasure. Our rooms were beautifully appointed and the cool mountain breezy made for a wonderful summer sleeping weather. In the morning, we met our host Sue in the kitchen preparing our breakfast. Sue was born to be a host, and inn keeper. We fell in love with her and her food. Too many bed & breakfast use fragrance to enhance the experience. Since I am highly allergic to fragrance, I was delighted to find that Sue was very careful to avoid all that nonsense. Sue also recommended a long hike in a nearby Nature Conservatory to our delight. We then drove to the main purpose of our trip, the World famous Hill Farmstead Brewery in Greensboro Bend.
The long wait in line was worth every second. We tasted the current brews and picked up a growler of Everett Beer and headed home. A wonder time was had by all in the North East Kingdom.

  • Stayed July 2014, travelled with friends
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Ringo167
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

24 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    23
    1
    0
    0
    0
See reviews for
5
11
Solo
0
1
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
  • Location
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (6)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Any
English first
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 20 July 2014 via mobile

Sue and Todd are the best of hosts. Breakfast is from farm to table and enough that you will eat lunch late.
Sue will, over tea, will give you some history as well as the best
areas to visit.
We have stayed at many B& Bs; Kimball House is by far the best!
The rooms are spacious, the entire house is from ages gone bye.
Kimball House is located in Hardwick VT, at town steeped in history. The Main Street of Hardwick is walking distance from Kimball House. You can enjoy a great meal, stop at the local grocer for wine and cheese or visit Buffalo Mountain Coop for local food.
Kimball House is an excellent home base, whether staying in the area or passing through.

John and Millie

Stayed July 2014
Helpful?
2 Thank John H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Nelson, NH
Level Contributor
6 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
Reviewed 28 May 2014

We stayed one night, traveling with friends. Our rooms very kitty-korner to each other and easy to pop between. Clean and comfortable with warm and friendly hosts. Chocolates in the room and a yummy breakfast.

  • Stayed April 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank travelerinnh
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Manchester NH
Level Contributor
17 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
Reviewed 26 February 2014

The Kimball House is a great B&B in Hardwick. The house is a beautifully restored Victorian. Susan is a gracious host. The beds are very comfortable and Susan serves a very nice breakfast. We've stayed here several times now and have never been disappointed.

Room Tip: There are two rooms with Queen beds. Both are lovely. The 3rd room has two single beds. They all...
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Susan W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Fredericton, Canada
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 7 August 2013

I have just returned from a 6 day stay at Kimball House. It is a wonderful B&B and I highly recommend it. The owners, Sue and Tod are very gracious hosts and the breakfasts were delicious and filling. The B&B was very clean, rooms were very comfortable and there was a terrific charm to the whole experience. We very much enjoyed sitting out on there deck watching the sun rise and sun sets. Doesn't get much better than this!

Room Tip: There were 3 of us and we filled the B&B. All rooms were great.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank tbeardmo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
7 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed 6 October 2012

Sue could not have been more welcoming or a better chef! She has every detail covered - from bathrobes to in-room chocolates to self-serve coffee & fruit - and she has transformed this historic 120-yr-old Queen Anne style home into a great B&B. Sue asked in advance if we had any food preferences, and she was more than obliging in recalling and honoring ours during our stay. Her pancakes were out of this world! Our room was spacious and included a lovely electric fireplace, sweeping views of the valley and town below, and a very clean and comfortable queen bed. I highly recommend this spot to all and will remember this for my next trip to Stowe.

  • Stayed October 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank Emily C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Boston, Massachusetts
Level Contributor
15 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
Reviewed 23 February 2012

My boyfriend and I have stayed at the Kimball House 3 times now and have never had anything but a wonderful experience. The house sits on top of a hill, which means wonderful views over Hardwick from the porch, the living area and from 2 of the 3 bedrooms. Sue's hospitality makes you feel right at home, and her carefully prepared breakfasts are not to be missed. Really what sets this place apart, however, is the incredible decor. From Victorian-era wallpaper, to gorgeous period furniture, to the most spectacular bathtub I have ever seen, the Kimball House feels like a true escape from everyday life.

  • Stayed February 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
6 Thank Elizabeth O
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Hardwick
18.1 mi away
Comfort Inn & Suites Near Burke Mountain
20.8 mi away
Stowe Mountain Lodge
14.0 mi away
Fitch Hill Inn
Fitch Hill Inn
#1 of 2 in Hyde Park
160 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
7.4 mi away
Highland Lodge
Highland Lodge
#1 of 2 in Greensboro
41 reviews
12.6 mi away
Rodgers Country Inn & Cabins
Rodgers Country Inn & Cabins
#2 of 3 in West Glover
17 reviews
14.1 mi away
Governor's House in Hyde Park
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Kimball House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Kimball House

Property: The Kimball House
Address: 173 Glenside Ave, Hardwick, VT 05843-9677
Region: United States > Vermont > Northeast Kingdom > Hardwick
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 B&Bs / Inns in Hardwick
Number of rooms: 3

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing