We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“I scream, you scream we all scream for ice cream!!!”

Route 4 Country Store
Ranked #18 of 53 Restaurants in Hartford
Price range: US$5 - US$12
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Dining options: Dinner, Breakfast, Lunch, Outdoor Seating, Takeout
Description: Route 4 Country Store Deli & Bar-B-Que offers Fabulous Food, served Fresh, Fast and Friendly! Our large BBQ Smoker is out front on Route 4, just after you exit at I-89. We have a Boars Head(tm) Deli menu, Bar-B-Que, Ice Cream, Beer/Wine and basic groceries. A main feature here is Vermont Chocolatiers, with some chocolate tempered inside the store and handmade fresh! We are EZ to get to ..Just off Vermont I-89 Exit #1 going North or South. Also close to the I-91 N or S interchange with I-89. Call us from the road to have anything ready for you and your group.
Lauderhill, Florida
Level Contributor
88 reviews
61 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 52 helpful votes
“I scream, you scream we all scream for ice cream!!!”
Reviewed 5 May 2013 via mobile

If the aroma from the BBQ doesn't get you into this place, their ice cream will!!! So many choices and each flavor is delectable!! The servings are extremely generous so be careful in ordering a large...your eyes will pop out (as will your stomach)!! My favorite flavor...chocolate moose tracks!! Tons of chunky chocolate that will satisfy any chocolate lover's palette!! If you are just stopping by to pick up their mighty fine BBQ, be sure to grab a cone for the ride home...you won't regret it!!

  • Visited May 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank cliffy_lynn
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

68 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    43
    14
    6
    4
    1
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Medford, Massachusetts
1 review
“Great Find”
Reviewed 1 March 2013

Went here with couple of friends while driving up to Middlebury. Ribs were right off the smoker, delicious pulled pork sandwich, great people running the place. Delicious and cheap. Definitely recommend.

  • Visited February 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank halm09
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Cheshire, Connecticut
Level Contributor
46 reviews
35 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
“Best Brisket I Ever Tasted”
Reviewed 23 February 2013

my wife and I went to Simon Pearce and arrived too late for lunch. We were disappointed and hungry. We would up at the Route 4 Country Store and did not know what to expect. We had their smoked brisket. It was great. We also had their lobster bisque.

The owners were very friendly and engaging.

This is the best roadside store I've been too.

We will be back.

  • Visited February 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Paul33740
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
New York City, New York
Level Contributor
6 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
“Friendly, Excellent service”
Reviewed 16 January 2013

You must try their pulled pork. The setting and environment is amazing, these guys are really excellent people and produce some excellent food. If you happen to be passing by, be sure to stop in and try something.

  • Visited January 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank seangle
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Boston, Massachusetts
Level Contributor
30 reviews
14 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
“Look out Texas, Vermont's got bbq!”
Reviewed 14 January 2013

We went here because we saw they have Boars Head products and thought we'd get sandwiches. We noticed the sign for pulled pork as we pulled in but Margie asked if we'd like to sample of their braised beef bbq. It was fabulous so we ordered sandwiches and they were great! The owners, Margie and Tony are very nice people and tho seating is limited on the inside, they have a nice front porch. Nothing fancy, very down home, but a great spot. Also chocolates, muffins, groceries. beer, wine, gift items, maple syrup, ETC. Great spot!!

  • Visited January 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank like2travelnhike
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Route 4 Country Store also viewed

White River Junction, Hartford
 
White River Junction, Hartford
White River Junction, Hartford
 

Been to Route 4 Country Store? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing