We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“The Gold Standard”

We can't find prices for this hotel
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this hotel, but we can search other options in Highgate Springs
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Tyler Place Family Resort
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 7 August 2014

We just spent our 4th summer at Tyler Place. It just keeps getting better! This is the gold standard of all family camps. A place where families come to make memories that last a lifetime. Our journey from San Francisco to the Canadian border in Northern Vermont takes some effort, but it is oh so worth it! My 12 and 16 year old anxiously await Tyler Place week each year. And why wouldn't they? From the moment they arrive they are on their bikes, down at the lake and enjoying time with old friends. As parents we take canoe trips, attend baking class, play in tennis tournaments and enjoy 3 amazing meals each day with other friends we've met over the years. We imagine that when our kids are fully grown their summers at Tyler Place will be some of the fondest memories of their childhood. Tyler Place is really special!!

Stayed: July 2014, travelled with family
1  Thank Bradley S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (177)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

63 - 69 of 177 reviews

Reviewed 5 August 2014

This was our first year at Tyler Place. We really did not know what to expect but I knew that we wanted an all-inclusive family vacation that would be fun for ALL of us. This turned out to be better than expected. We are from Texas and desperately wanted a little break from the heat. The weather was lovely and it even rained one day but Tyler Place immediately replaced outdoor activities with great indoor options. The staff is amazing and our kids felt loved and at home right away. The food was great and we had 3, yes 3, meals away from our children every single day. Just think about the possibilities! The price was comparable to a Disney World trip but without the hangover of exhaustion that comes with Disney. You can be as social as you want to be. Think of it as kind of a modern day Dirty Dancinglike resort. We loved it and intend on going back next year. We made many new friends and felt like we exposed our children to new experiences that they do not get to have in the big city. Fresh air and lovely Lake Champlain views.

Room Tip: All cottages have their own charm
See more room tips
  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
1  Thank Leslie L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 3 August 2014

This was our 5th year in a row attending Tyler Place and WOW, they just keeping nailing the perfect family vacation year after year. The staff makes this place great; they treat our children like gold and the kids love them for it. I can't quite figure it out, but the resort creates an atmosphere where all these educated guests just don't take themselves too seriously and THAT makes for a fun vacation. Prepare for belly laughs and good friendships.

The food is delicious and always full of healthy options. The bar stocks excellent beer and wine at reasonable prices (read: they want you to drink and have a good time without feeling like you're being ripped off!). Speaking of prices, you will find this vacation at the high end for domestic family travel and it is worth every dime. Every. single. one.

On the way home, my children asked if they could live at Tyler Place. Mission accomplished.

Room Tip: Trust the reservations department. They will help you secure a spot that will strike the right bala...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank frukio
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 2 August 2014

Picture 74 families. All have children. All are well educated and well travelled. 54 are returning guests. 15 percent are named David or Deborah. Everyone likes each other. Some guests come from Europe. A lot are doctors and lawyers. One was a television personality. It is the only resort in the US that has staff that cares for children not potty trained. Cocktail hours are full of laughter. Wine is very reasonably priced. We have been there twice and plan on returning. It is expensive but worth every penny!

Room Tip: Tyler North is the show. Old fashion but a great view. Also one of the most expensive at a few...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: August 2014, travelled with family
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
2  Thank Chuck N
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 28 July 2014

We just spent our second vacation at TP and can't say enough good things. We have three kids ages 12, 9, and 6 and TP does a great job crafting age-appropriate activities for all ages, especially for the pre-teen -- which is a tricky age.

We spent the week in the same accommodation as last year, which was perfect for our family. Staff works really hard to match you up with an accommodation that fits your family. If you are looking for fancy digs, this is not the place for you -- furniture is not new or plush but does the job.

Housekeeping was excellent, plenty of towels for all and they made beds, washed dishes in the sink, vacuumed, etc. We only saw the housekeeping staff once during our week, they came in like angels when we were at meals or activities.

The food was excellent! Lots of great local, fresh foods. I think my favorite has to be the maple balsamic vinaigrette -- so good. Plenty of choices for all types of eaters.

The staff is amazing. TP provides a great service in their "sick sitters." Upon arrival the first day, our son had a fever and could not attend the opening night group gathering. TP arranged for a sitter to come to our accommodation and stay with our son so the rest of us could go to dinner. And because our son was sick and would otherwise have been with his age group, the sitter is paid by TP, not us. The group counselors were terrific -- our 6 year old son asked if one of his could attend his birthday party (in Atlanta in November)! The dock guys got all of our kids up on waterskis and their patience was incredible. The adult activity coordinators are really fun and so energetic. Everyone is really "on" all the time in a really genuine way.

This is a TRUE VACATION for everyone. We loved reconnecting with families from last year and meeting lots of terrific new people also. Cannot wait to come back! Thanks Tyler Family!

  • Stayed: July 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Service
2  Thank Molly M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 28 July 2014

Tyler Place is truly a place like no other! Their formula of pure adult time while the kids are with their groups coupled with excellent family time just can't be replicated. The staff is absolutely AMAZING - from the kids counselors to the wait staff, from the boat dock guys to the bartenders - they are fun yet professional and truly kind. My kids couldn't wait to go to group every day and loved the kids they met from all around the country. There are endless activities to do as an adult or you can opt to do whatever low-key thing you'd like. The food is absolutely delicious, the lake is fantastic, and the fellow guests were amazing! I absolutely loved everything about it and am counting down the weeks until we return next year!

  • Stayed: July 2014, travelled with family
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank Yvette D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 8 July 2014

There is not much I can add to the many positive reviews found here on Tripadvisor regarding Tyler Place. As a parent of an only child, I can say that Tyler Place is a fantastic place - my son spends the entire day playing with a large group of kids his age, mostly outdoors running around, biking, and swimming in the lake. He sleeps like a log every night and wakes up early, ready to jump on his bike to have breakfast with his friends. It's the sort of day I can remember having when I was a kid, except much better, much more fun! I find Tyler Place to be an excellent value for the price. I have never found any other place so uniquely arranged: there's no need to get in your car, the adult meals and desserts are excellent (and my son reports so are the kids' meals), there is ample time to relax, to spend time with your spouse, to get together with other parents, to play with your kids. All of the logistical problems of vacationing with children are solved by the Tylers and their friendly staff- and I am reminded of this as I write this the week after our vacation; although we are still "on vacation" up in Canada, I have to drive everywhere, pack and unpack as we move from hotel to hotel, answer the question "where are we eating" three times a day, and try to entertain my son in the absence of any other children for him to play with. My only regret is that I didn't learn about Tyler Place sooner! I can recommend Tyler Place as an excellent choice for a memorable summer vacation for all members of your family.

Room Tip: We stayed in one of the cabins (the Tylers call them "camps") that dot the grounds. All of...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled with family
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
3  Thank Jim S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Highgate Springs
17.1 mi away
Hotel St. Bernard
Hotel St. Bernard
#1 of 1 in Saint-Bernard-de-Lacolle
93 reviews
11.7 mi away
Hampton Inn St. Albans
Hampton Inn St. Albans
#1 of 5 in Saint Albans
70 reviews
12.9 mi away
La Quinta Inn & Suites St. Albans
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
7.4 mi away
Auberge du Lac Champlain
Auberge du Lac Champlain
#1 of 1 in Venise-en-Quebec
62 reviews
7.3 mi away
La Cache du Lac Champlain
La Cache du Lac Champlain
#1 of 3 in Venise-en-Quebec
7 reviews
6.8 mi away
Gite la Maison du Jardinier
Gite la Maison du Jardinier
#2 of 3 in Venise-en-Quebec
1 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Tyler Place Family Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Tyler Place Family Resort

Address: 175 Tyler Place, Highgate Springs, VT 05460
Phone Number:
Region: United States > Vermont > Highgate Springs
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Restaurant Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Highgate Springs
Number of rooms: 70
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
9 age-staggered kids programs for Infants to Teens. A cozy cottage or family suite with separate parent's bedroom. Awesome, enthusiastic, counselors you'll want to take home with you. Exceptionally good, wholesome meals - three times a day - plus snacks. Evening meals without the kids - a chance to recharge your marriage. An amazing variety of land and water sports with no waiting lines. Lots of fresh air, green grass, blue water, bonfires and nights full of stars. ... more   less 
Also Known As:
Tyler Place Family Hotel Highgate Springs
Hotel Tyler Place Family
Tyler Place Family Resort Highgate Springs, Vermont

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing